We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Princess Tia Hotel
Nearby Hotels
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Kerkis Bay Hotel(Marathokampos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sofia Hotel(Marathokampos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Sirena Residence & Spa(Marathokampos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mary(Marathokampos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Votsalakia Hotel(Marathokampos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Kampos Village Resort(Marathokampos)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (81)
Filter reviews
81 results
Traveler rating
69
8
1
3
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
69
8
1
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscachet travelnothing is too much troubleprincess tiapeaceful holidaybeautiful islandbeach towelsworth hiring a carlovely mariakept spotlessly cleanlaid backlovely poolbread manbig worldbalosstellatavernashire
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 81 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We have just returned from a wonderful peaceful week staying at Princess Tia in Balos, booked through Cachet Travel. Balos has a very long pebbly beach and clear turquoise sea. Princess Tia is located in the middle with just the little access road between it and the beach. The rooms are spotlessly clean and all have a sea view. Tia is very welcoming and friendly and makes regular trips to the local supermarket in her car for her guests. The baker called in his little van every day, beeping his horn at the civilised time of 10.15 or so in the morning for us to buy our regular fix of pies and bread. Tia was able to arrange car hire and taxi trips for us, but mostly we just wanted to stay where we were. We will definitely be back. Thank you Tia!

Room Tip: any room is good
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank saphireblue2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2013

My wife and I have just returned from a week's stay at the Princess Tia Apartments at Balos Beach, Samos. We could not have wished for a better holiday. The apartment was perfect, in a wonderful setting, just a stone's throw from the beach. The swimming pool was delightful, as were the bar and surrounds. Tia and her staff could not have been more friendly, helpful and eager to ensure that our holiday was perfect - which indeed it was. The holiday was organised through Cachet Travel whose rep on the island was also very helpful. We came here on the recommendation of a friend who had stayed earlier in the year; the recommendation turned out to be extremely well made. We would similarly recommend Princess Tia to anyone looking for a relaxing and peaceful stay on this wonderful island.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrtonycooper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Everything was good about the Princess Tia.When we were given a side room (no 10) by Cachet Travel I was concerned that I wouldent have a clear sea view (my one reason for a holiday !)I need not have worried all the rooms have sea view and the balconies are cleverly designed at angles to provide this.The room was clean and bright and the beds comfortable.
Balos is quiet just Tavernas but this is as we wanted it.When we did venture further we were always happy to return to Balos straight onto the beach into the sea back to the Hotel and out to eat.
You will feel safe here ideal for lone travelers (or ladies on their own).Tia the warm friendly owner laughed when my husband locked up the bicycle he had hired! She looks after her guests and really seems to enjoy it all.
Samos is a beautiful Island we are missing it already. .

Room Tip: All the rooms are good but we always choose upstairs ones for a bit more privacy.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 30carole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

Have travelled around the Greek islands on and off for over 30 years and this place rates among the best accommodation. We were looking for a chilled holiday without the usual commercial trappings. At Princess Tia in Balos we found it!! The rooms are clean and bright and all have a sea view and also include beach towels a real rarity - bed linen and towels were changed 3 times in the two weeks. The beds and pillows are the best we have ever experienced in Greece ( and that comes from someone with a history of back trouble). Rooms have ceiling fans and aircon. The aircon is 5 Euros a day but worth every penny for a good nights sleep.The pool is very clean with free sun loungers and the beach is literally across the road which is very quiet as it is a dead end. There are sun loungers on the beach however these will cost 6 Euros a day - even for the hotels guests which is a strange anomaly - normally guests would be free in our experience. However the beach beds are a good investment as the beach consists of large pebbles - but on the plus side it is extremely quiet, never crowded, and the water is crystal clear (take a mask and snorkel). Tia is a GREAT host and nothing is too much trouble - if she can help she will move heaven and earth too solve your problem and is a wealth of knowledge. The same goes for Efi who runs the bar. Both of these girls have great people skills and create a very welcoming place. Balos is quiet - if you are looking for normal Greek resorts - this is not it!! It is like stepping back into Greece 25 years ago. The locals are extrermely friendly (as are the Greeks on the rest of the island) always greeting you with a smile.
There are 4 tavernas 1 taverna/bar and 1 bar. The main taverna which most tourists visit seems to be Stellas - this has good food and a very welcoming environment although it was a little too geared to the tourist with very personal marketing. However this seems to work as many people seemed to eat there every other or every night!! - this is a real shame as the other tavernas are all good. There are two particularly Greek tavernas where menu's do not exist. The one immediately before Stellas is great! - run by a traditional family who will expect you to go into the kitchen to show you what is available which is normally fantastic rustic greek food which is very reasonable in price - I urge you to try this place (its called Pension Balos) walking back towards Tia's from here you will find Mimi's on the corner this again is a more tourist target - but very good with no pressure - try their swordfish and calamari - fantastic!. The next one along is run by Mike and his wife and again this is very traditional (no menu) and they will tell you what they have and cook it all fresh - try the shrimps and sardines. The sad thing about this place is that it is not very busy which people told us put them off - DO NOT BE PUT OFF - the food is good and Mike is great company - we ate there 4 times and never had a bad meal. The next one along is a small bar which gets busy with locals although the girl running it is very nice her bar skills are limited. The final taverna/bar is at the very end of the road (turn left out of Tia's) This is a great relaxed bar/taverna that does limited food mainly aimed at daytime beach business. However if you buy a drink the sunbeds are free!! This place is very chilled and plays great jazz/chill music and they make mean cocktails that are very reasonably priced - so a good place to start the evening again it is never over busy - but Balos isn't!!
Make sure you hire a car to see some of the other parts of the island - Pythagorian, Limonias, Psili Amos and Kokarres are worth a visit and go up to the mountain villages of Manolates and Drakei where the road ends (this is an interesting drive with sheer drops - not for the nervous).
Balos is a great place to chill and many many people have been returning there every year. You will also meet a lot of friendly Austrian and Dutch people who seem to love this place. Tia gets many return visitors and it is easy to see why as she is a great host - however we rarely go back to the same place as it is a big world out there - however I think we would make an exception for this place if we really wanted to escape commercialism. If you like this sort of atmosphere - Balos is definitely for you - but don't go if you need 5 star luxury and 5 star restaurants and clubs. Because Balos and Tia's does exactly what it says on the tin!!
GREAT PLACE!!

Room Tip: Try rooms 11 and 14 upsatairs they are on the side at the back so are quieter (if thats possible!!) and still have great sea views. Try to get an upstairs apartment for an even better view.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anaplas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

when we just arive in samos we were encouraged because of that reviews. The hotel is too basic ever for its money, it was disastrous choice at all and we would definitely not stay in this "hotel" again!
The only advantage is that Tia was very friendly and you could trust her for directions or for any other sugestion.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kate j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews