We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Awesome gem in the heart of Dewey” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Beach House Dewey

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beach House Dewey
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   1710 Coastal Highway, Dewey Beach, DE (Formerly Sand Palace Motel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Endless Summer Savings!
Ranked #4 of 12 Hotels in Dewey Beach
Short Hills, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awesome gem in the heart of Dewey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

As a former guest at the sands palace, I was pleasantly surprised when I arrived at the beach house. Not only were the remodeled rooms excellent, but the staff was even friendlier than I remembered. I cannot wait to spend another weekend in Dewey staying at the beach house!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ame6792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    123
    52
    27
    12
    4
See reviews for
64
62
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Breinigsville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We were looking for a hotel in close proximity to Delaware Seashore State Park, as we had friends staying there, but looking for something affordable and nice. I had read other reviews on Beach House Dewey mentioning the noise from the nearby clubs. The fact that it HAD clubs within walking distance, made it appealing for us. The room was very well maintained, nice décor, not over the top or extravagant, just a very nice hotel. When we arrived, apparently the prior guests had been smoking (it is a smoke free hotel), but room service was happy to do what they could to resolve it, and the nice folks at the front desk, location of the hotel, and overall accommodations made up for it. It was also in close proximity to Rehoboth, too, so it was a great place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I recently stayed at The Beach House hotel in Dewey for only one night. Our room was very cute with modern decor. Loved the flooring- waaaay better than carpet. The worst is nasty old carpet in a beach area hotel. We had a 3rd floor room. There's no elevator for those who have difficulty with stairs. We plan on returning next year.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Warna78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

The Beach House is the best place to stay in Dewey. The rooms are super clean and the people who run it are amazing! They are super accommodating and fun. They even have a pool that has its own light show at night. Highly highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vweidel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

Pictures look better than the real deal. It is a nice motel. If you are looking for a place to sleep while you visit the Dewey Beach/Rehoboth, this may be ok. We considered it "just average". Do not know what else to say ....... Will not let me post with less than 200 characters.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jadevirgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banner Elk NC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

We stayed here while in Dewey Beach for a family wedding. We enjoyed our stay, found the front desk folks more than made up for the elements missing in the room. Like no hair dryer, but they had them at the front desk, likewise an iron and ironing board. All we had to do was ask. The room had been recently updated with a retro feel. No carpeting but being in a beach town that makes sense to me. It was a perfect location to walk Dewey Beach and within close distance to several good restaurants. I would recommend it to to someone looking for something a bit out of the ordinary.

Room Tip: All the rooms wrap around the pool, so I would ask for a room on the second floor. To be a little b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SJW912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We recently attended a wedding in the Dewey Beach/Rehoboth area, and stayed at the Beach House Dewey.

When I booked our stay, I don't think I realized that the hotel was actually set up like a typical beach motel: Small "lobby" for checking in and out. No common space, except the pool area. Rooms faced an exterior hall. No elevator (that I could find). No food and beverage outlets.

Also, the hotel is in the midst of a remodel - the pool was being refurbished (rather loudly and messy if I may add) and the exterior spaces were all pretty rough looking. You can tell that its a work in progress.

The rooms were a pleasant surprise. Completely remodeled with big comfy beds, furnishings that belonged in a cool hotel in Miami or LA - that sort of thing. We slept soundly each night. Our rooms were cleaned properly - really no complaints!

As far as location, it can't be beat. Immediate beach access and easy parking. Walking distance to the local restaurants and shops.

So all in all, I think that the new owners of this hotel are on the right track. If the rest of the hotel starts to resemble the rooms, then I think my star rating would go up.

Also, if you're deciding between Rehoboth vs Dewey, pick Rehoboth. Rehoboth is very upscale, quiet, and beautiful. Dewey is like the roudy, drunk younger sister to Rehoboth.

Room Tip: Rooms by the stairwell are noisy, but the window faces the ocean. Rooms away from the stairs are qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Joey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dewey Beach
0.1 mi away
Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#2 of 12 in Dewey Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 530 reviews
1.8 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#14 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#6 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 490 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House Dewey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Dewey

Property: Beach House Dewey
Address: 1710 Coastal Highway, Dewey Beach, DE (Formerly Sand Palace Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Dewey Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Dewey Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dewey Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach House Dewey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership! Our newly renovated property is located oceanside and just steps away from the world famous Bottle and Cork music venue and bar. We offer free parking, Wi-Fi and every room is equipped with a small fridge and microwave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Beach House Dewey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Palace Hotel Dewey Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing