We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Transformation”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Beach House Dewey

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Beach House Dewey
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Dewey Beach
Beltsville,Md
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Transformation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

Just finished a stay at the hotel and had an excellent experience. The renovations are complete and are extremely nice. Great that the manager, Mike, has been kept on board from the prior ownership and that was an excellent move. Mike is a pleasure to talk to and remembers guests from one stay to the next and a wealth of information regarding the area. Rooms are clean and have great new beds. I noticed a few mentions on other reviews about the noise from the near by clubs, basically that is Dewey Beach and what one should expect.

Room Tip: Dewey Beach is known for its night life so you will hear music from the bars and clubs, if it bother...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfb281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    66
    32
    14
    5
See reviews for
75
79
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

The hotel was clean and nicely redone. It was nice and close to the beach.
We also had no soap at the sink.
I don't know how the club across the street can get away with the noise levels they allow. Walking down the street a block away, you can hear the words to the songs, so imagine trying to sleep with the club across the street from you. I think this must hurt some of the hotels business and it's a shame that someone thinks it must be loud to be good.
We too ate at Ivy's and loved it, great place!
I am not sure if I would stay here again just because of the noise.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathyKatBird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Wasn't happy with our room 108 in back corner of hotel. No view or seating area outside, except pool. Room was nice & clean just a short trip from shore. Too expensive for what we got.when I tried checking out at 8:00 am the lobby wasn't even open, just had a number to call for emergency.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stray77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Hill, VA
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Stayed here three nights in July. The pros are that it is close to the ocean (1/2 block) and walking distance to a variety of restaurants and clubs. Another pro is that the price is reasonable ($215 for a weekend night in high season). The rooms are a nice size with a mini frig and microwave and free internet access. The best part of the room is the bed; (we had king size) with nice white linens, lots of white pillows and a beautiful white overlay. Debbie, one of the front desk people, was wonderful with check-in, and just generally a very nice, helpful person. She is a real asset to the Beach House.

The cons were: noisy due to the close proximity to dance clubs and coastal highway and the fact that many patrons are young high-school and college kids. We were next to a room that looked like there were 6 - 7 girls living there and then around 2 - 3 :00 am, boys would join them. We were able to sleep with sleeping pills and ear plugs.

One other con, and it is minor, is that the floor to our room was sticky, like beer or soda had been spilled on it and not cleaned. Also, as someone else mentioned, we had to go find our own bathroom soap.

On a side note, right at the entrance to the beach, you can rent an umbrella for $12 and a chair for $6. They will set it up for you and then at 5:00 pm will come take it down. Dogs are allowed on the beach after 5:00.

Another side note.... a new restaurant called "Ivy" is right across the beach on the bay side. We ate there twice. We sat outside both times and it was just lovely. We were almost the only people. It's a bit pricey, but well worth it. It becomes a dance club later on in the evening.

Room Tip: I would probably pay extra for the rooms on the top floor that have the living room area. It looks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nikki4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachHouseManagement, Manager at Beach House Dewey, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this response. I'm glad Debbie was helpful during your stay and its great to hear that you enjoyed our new beds. Seeing as we are a new hotel, we take your comments into great consideration and have begun working on a solution regarding the noise issue. Thank you again we look forward to seeing you next time you're in Dewey.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

I stayed here for a Bachelor Party this weekend. The rooms were very clean and in good condition. The hotel was in a very good location close to bars and restaurants and the beach. The staff was very friendly and helpful. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tcm921
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Planned an impromptu overnight stay in Dewey and booked this place. Was even better than I imagined! The staff were great, and even though checkout was at 3pm, I was able to obtain the parking pass, use the pool and the outdoor shower prior to getting my room keys. The location was phenomenal -- right in front of bottle & cork, half way between rusty rudder and starboard AND 1/2 a block away from the beach.

The rooms were very clean. Only MINOR "complaint" was when we ran out of toilet paper and tissues; we called the front desk they asked us to come get it from the front desk instead of bringing it to the room.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kdhokie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone Harbor, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

I typically stay at chain hotels but since there were none available in the area I choose Beach House Dewey for my stay. The staff was remarkably kind and friendly, gave me a warm welcome and made me feel like a special guest. The room was exactly as pictured and well decorated. The location seems to be the best in Dewey Beach with the beach and many restaurants within walking distance. In retrospect, I'm glad there wasn't a chain hotel available as the hospitatility I experienced at Beach House Dewey made me remember why smaller, intimate hotels can be a better choice!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank calamityjad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeachHouseManagement, Manager at Beach House Dewey, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thanks for taking the time to share your kind words about our hotel. We're glad you made your way to us when no chains were available! It was our entire team's pleasure to welcome you to the Beach House, and we are thrilled you had a great stay. We hope to see you back next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dewey Beach
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 13 in Dewey Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gold Leaf Hotel
Gold Leaf Hotel
#5 of 13 in Dewey Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#16 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#2 of 13 in Dewey Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 371 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beach House Dewey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beach House Dewey

Property: Beach House Dewey
Address: 1710 Coastal Hwy, Dewey Beach, DE 19971-2333 (Formerly Sand Palace Motel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Dewey Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Dewey Beach
#3 Family Hotel in Dewey Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Beach House Dewey 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Under new ownership! Our newly renovated property is located oceanside and just steps away from the world famous Bottle and Cork music venue and bar. We offer free parking, Wi-Fi and every room is equipped with a small fridge and microwave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Kognitiv US Corp, Orbitz, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Beach House Dewey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Palace Hotel Dewey Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing