We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“so so buffet”
Review of Rusty Rudder

Rusty Rudder
Ranked #12 of 44 Restaurants in Dewey Beach
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“so so buffet”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We went to this restaurant on the recommendation of our daughter. We all got the seafood buffet except for 1 person who is a vegetarian. She ordered a simple side salad and cheese quesadilla. We all went to the buffet, meanwhile she is waiting for her food. And waiting. And waiting. Finally, after 30 minutes, I asked where her food was. Still it took another 10 minutes, plus me having to ask several more times, before she got her food. Needless to say, I was not impressed. The buffet was average although the crab legs were good. I think I will look for another seafood restaurant the next time we are Rehoboth Beach.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim92956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    105
    67
    44
    61
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food and lovely bay view”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

They have indoor and outdoor seating, bars in both areas. Seating was quick (weekday for lunch). Little pricey for the meals, but enjoyed the deck dining in the rear and watching volleyball in their lot. Probably a nice night spot for the young college crowd.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathee123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Only Seafood buffet in Rehobeth and with a friendly staff”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Very delicious snow crab legs and excellent service from Amber! Nice selection of seafood also when it was time for dessert the machine wasn't dispensing chocolate or the vanilla chocolate mix - within a moment a mustached man came to the rescue and got it so at least the chocolate was working and I could mix them myself - Very nice staff :)

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beccaspanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha S, Manager at Rusty Rudder, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review the Rusty Rudder. We're so glad you enjoyed the all you can eat land & sea buffet and especially the snow crab legs-- one of our most popular items! Thanks for letting us know about the great service you received and for providing specifics and names. We are proud of our employees and love to hear good things about them. We appreciate your business and will do everything we can to continue to earn it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dirty”
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Seated at a dirty table. Trash, old food under the table
$10 to park reimbursed with food purchase. We bought 2 drinks and left. Never again..

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha S, Manager at Rusty Rudder, responded to this review, August 17, 2013
We're sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your experience at the Rusty Rudder. From your review it sounds like you had only drinks and not food, it also sounds like you sat outside on our deck and not in the dining room. We serve tens of thousands of customers every summer, both inside and outside on our deck, and strive to keep our restaurant clean despite the high volume. Every table is cleaned between customers--the top and underneath. We are surprised to hear that you found items under your table and we apologize. With regard to the parking, we do charge $10 up front and then apply a $10 credit to your bill (food or drink). Dewey Beach is a resort community with limited parking, we are one of only a handful businesses with a parking lot. This system ensures that our parking lot is available for our customers at no charge. We would like the opportunity to earn your business in the future and hope that you will give us another chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millsboro, Delaware
2 reviews
“Seafood Buffet”
Reviewed June 7, 2013

I had dinner last Saturday evening. We had the seafood buffet which was awesome!...The Tilapia in lobster sauce was to die for! We are big seafood fans, there was plenty of food and choices also....we were stuffed! I will go there again! The service was awesome too :), the price was excellent compared to other places we have been to, I highly recommend Rusty Rudder's!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank majiblonde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martha S, Manager at Rusty Rudder, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Rusty Rudder. We're proud of our all you can eat land and sea buffet and it really makes us happy to hear how much you enjoyed it. Our chef was particularly pleased to see your comments about the tilapia in lobster sauce. While we are primarily a vacation destination, it is gratifying to hear from local folks like you, who know the area well and chose to frequent our restaurant. We appreciate your business and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rusty Rudder also viewed

 

Been to Rusty Rudder? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing