We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic getaway!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Atlantic View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Dewey Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bear Creek Village, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
“Fantastic getaway!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2012

This was our second year staying at the Atlantic View in Dewey. Clean, comfortable, welcoming, convenient, peaceful, serene, and amazing view from the 4th floor sundeck! Nice breakfast, evening wine, and late night snack of cookies was much appreciated. Many renovations since last year. It's nice to know that the owners are putting money back into the place in order to make our stay pleasant. See you next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    242
    105
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
117
167
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (165)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Just returned from a long weekend to celebrate our anniversary and my bd. Great comments on Tripadvisor sent us here, instead of the Bellmoor Inn in Rehoboth, where we've stayed before over weekends. We love Dewey, but it has always been difficult to find a decent hotel for the weekend. But no longer as the Atlantic View proved to be all we had hoped for . . . clean rooms and a quiet atmosphere. Plus you cannot beat the location - out the front door to the ocean.
One small suggestion, please add some hooks in the bathroom for towels. Thanks and we'll be back in the Spring for another long weekend. Also have to mention the best crabcake sandwich I have ever had can be found at Woody's. We've been coming to Dewey for 30 years and have probably eaten at every restaurant from Rehoboth to Fenwick. Yet, I have never tasted a better crabcake. Woody's is located on Route 1, next to the Dewey Post Office, around the corner from the Salad Factory (which my kids absolutely love too).

Room Tip: We stayed on the sundeck because all of the ocean front rooms were sold out, but we really liked the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Our_Turn103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

We always stay at the Atlantic View but this trip was outstanding. We always feel welcome, the unit is clean and provides a wonderful view of the ocean with easy access. The upgraded breakfast and evening cookies were a nice surprise. The attention to a quiet atmosphere is especially relaxing. We open the screen door and are lulled to sleep by the waves. Complementary beach chairs is also a plus. The staff is inviting and very accommodating. Already reserved our next visit.

Room Tip: While there is no fitness center...climbing the stairs gets your heart rate up and walking on the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg PA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2012

The entire exterior of the hotel was painted since the last time I was here, and it looks wonderful. The room was comfortable, quiet, clean. Convenient drives to Rehoboth, Bethany, Fenwick or even Ocean City make this a great location to be close but not in the hustle and bustle of those mentioned, however the restaurants and shopping are all within easy reach. I like the Atlantic View because it offers all the amenities necessary for a restful stay, and it's right on the beach. The only minor complaint I have is that they charge 25 cents for ice. Really? I've never heard of such a thing, but that's minor. I've stayed here before, and I'll come back again.

Room Tip: Even the west facing rooms are nice for watching the sunsets, and if you want the beach view you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank USTravelLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

My family stayed at the Atlantic view this past weekend (long weekend). This is the 3rd time that we have stayed at this motel. I believe the first time was in 2007. Each time we have been there, the property and our experience has improved. Like some reviewers have mentioned, the rooms and bathrooms can be a little small, but they are comfortable, nonetheless. The staff does a good job at keeping the place clean, which isn't always easy being a motel right on the beach. The staff has always been friendly and helpful. The location is great, especially if you are traveling with children. Not having to cross a busy highway or walk several blocks to reach the beach is fantastic.

The only criticism, and this is small'ish, was that my wife found something on the floor next to the bed frame that someone from a previous party apparently dropped on the floor. It wasn't anything gross or disgusting, but should have been found when the room was cleaned. In any event, I reported to the manager and she took care of the issue. What blew me away, was how quickly she handled the issue. Since the hotel was being cleaned when I reported the issue, the cleaning staff was in the process of cleaning the rooms. By the time that I got up to the third floor where our room was, the manager was on the walky-talky talking to the cleaning staff about the issue. She was extremely prompt at handling the issue and polite with her staff. Kudos on handling the issue so promptly and professionally!

I would definitely recommend this property to most people looking to stay in the Dewey and Rehoboth Beach area. I look forward to going back to the Atlantic View in the future.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Atlantic View Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
We appreciate the fact that you took the time to review the Atlantic and we are thankful. We are thankful for your kind words and for choosing to stay with us again during your visit to the beach. I apologize for the item that was found but I am happy to read that Shirley was prompt in rectifying the problem. We want to be ahead of the game but when we fail we want to be sure to make it right as quickly as possible. We will always be working to improve and make every stay better than the last.
Alex Moore
President & COO
Atlantic View/ Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardmore, Pennsylvania
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

This was a last minute trip planned for the beach which turned out to be wonderful.The hotel has a more intimate feeling then the larger hotel chains.Our past trips have been all to the New Jersey beaches.The hotels in the jersey shore are more expensive especially the hotels with beach front rooms.No beach tags required and the beaches are cleaner and the surf more fun.The staff at the hotel was very pleasant.The free breakfast was an extended continental breakfast that was tasty.The wine available after 5pm to 7pm and coffee all day and cookies at night were all nice touches. We will definitely return for a beach vacation again.This was an excellent deal for the money.The Jersey shore takes second place to the Delaware beaches.Lynn C

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms in this hotel are the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Atlantic View Hotel, responded to this review, September 3, 2012
Thank you Lynn for the great review and for choosing to stay with us at the Atlantic View. We love showing the Jersey Shore regulars what awesome beaches and hospitality we offer in Delaware. We love it more when you come back again and again so we will look forward to your next visit. Thanks again.
Alex Moore
President & COO
Avenue Inn/ Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sagamore Hills, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

This was a terrific hotel right on the beach. Very well run, lots of nice touches. My husband loved the late afternoon wine, my son loved the night-time cookies, I loved the coffee available all day, and we all loved the great breakfasts. Nice little pool, free beach chairs to use, great deck on the fourth floor looking out over the beach. Terrific location. Only one negative I noticed in four days: sometimes the water temperature was erratic, but just a little.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Atlantic View Hotel, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
It is really neat to read that we offered something special for everyone in your family. I greatly appreciate you staying with us at the Atlantic View and for you taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Atlantic View/ Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dewey Beach
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 13 in Dewey Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
1.4 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#16 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gold Leaf Hotel
Gold Leaf Hotel
#5 of 13 in Dewey Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,584 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach House Dewey
Beach House Dewey
#4 of 13 in Dewey Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic View Hotel

Property: Atlantic View Hotel
Address: 2 Clayton St, Dewey Beach, DE 19971-2307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Dewey Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dewey Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dewey Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Dewey Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only oceanfront hotel in Dewey Beach Delaware. Since 1978 the Atlantic View has been offering generations of visitors its special blend of friendliness and cleanliness. Enjoy watching the dolphins from your private balcony or take just a few steps to get your feet in the sand and stroll our beautiful beach. We offer couples and families memorable visits to our resort town during all seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Atlantic View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic View Hotel Dewey Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing