We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet & Clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Atlantic View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Dewey Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Just returned from a one night stay at the Atlantic View Motel in Dewey Beach, DE
Although the motel was very clean & quiet, the day staff could have been alittle more friendly. As we arrived, (a bit early), we were told explicitly that our room would not be ready until 3pm!, period!, then we were told they didn't have any beach chairs available yet, (good thing we took our own), it felt as if we were bothering them by asking them some questions. The room we stayed in looked as if it were upgraded recently, it was very clean and we didnt really hear much noise. It was an Ocean View room, very nice view from the deck up top...The continental breakfast was great, well presented and kept, but could have been served a little earlier.....went down at 715 and there wasen't even a pot of coffee around and lobby was locked up....that was a bit disappointing for us early risers....all in all, the location is the best, can't beat it, right on the Ocean which is very clean and well kept....great spot for a honeymoon couple looking for a quiet, relaxing time, just make sure your in shape to go up and down the stairs to and from your room as there is no elevator!

Room Tip: fourth floor sundeck room w/2 queen beds, great view!
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rachel387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Atlantic View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

Thank you for choosing the Atlantic View during your visit to Dewey Beach and thank you for the review. As all of our staff reads our reviews they will be aware of the necessity to always deliver the excellent service you expect and I demand. I apologize for the lack of attention you received. We will look into having coffee ready at an earlier hour as well. Thanks again, I sincerely appreciate your business and the review.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Atlantic View / Seaboard Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
There are newer reviews for Atlantic View Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

411 - 417 of 452 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2011

First let me say that my wife and I were by FAR the youngest guests staying at this hotel. I usually travel for business and this was a personal trip, but the hotel was one of the best that I've ever stayed. We had an ocean front room on the third floor. You can tell hotel is older, but the rooms were phenomenal! The bathroom was small but extremely clean. At night we fell asleep to the sound of the waves. I was surprised at the breakfast, it wasn't much but it was exactly what you needed to make sure that you were satisfied and ready to start your day. The beach is great and not overly filled with people like you find a bit further north in Rehoboth, but if you want that sort of thing it's only a quick 1.5 mile drive or bike ride.

My only gripe is that we're not smokers but the people in the room below us were. They smoked on their balcony all of the time and it subsequently destroyed our desire to use our balcony.

Room Tip: Get the ocean front room...it's worth it.
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KeepGoingPhilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Atlantic View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2011

Hey it is ok that you are so young, we like guests of all ages. Thank you for the nice review of the Atlantic View. It is great to read that you enjoyed the hotel so much. I am sure many potential guests will read your review and have the confidence to make the decision to stay with us so for that along with your choice to stay with us, I am grateful. I am sorry you experienced the issue with the guest below, we do not allow smoking on the balconies. Thanks again for staying with us and for taking the time to write a review.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Atlantic View / Seaboard Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2011

We wanted a reasonably priced beach trip, and this was it. The location was great! It is an older hotel, so the rooms are not very big, and the bathrooms are small, but that's to be expected. Next time we'll probably get a king room with a couch so there's more area for our toddler to run around when we are stuck inside (rain).

The staff was very friendly and knowledgeable about the area - also very tolerant of our toddler! We ate most of our meals in Rehoboth, but since we went mid-June, parking wasn't a problem most times. The hotel staff gave great directions and suggestions. The chocolate chip cookies @ 7:30 were AWESOME! And the all day coffee was a plus for me too. The continental breakfast was nice - quite a few items to choose from, including a french toast casserole and quiche each day (along with your normal fruit, yogurt, cereal, bread, etc).

Some of the lights in the first floor hallway didn't seem to work, and that made it dark there, but other than that, everything was good. We had a problem with our TV, which they tried to fix, but we never fully received all the channels we were supposed to, even when they swapped out the TV and called the cable company. This was ok b/c we weren't in the room too often, and we had brought a portable DVD player to hook up for entertainment anyway.

The housekeeping staff was super nice and our room was very clean - and anyone with a toddler knows how they can find the littlest things in the room! I've been to 4 star hotels that weren't vaccuumed as well (as evidenced by what my toddler found on the floor). The refrigerators in the rooms are a great thing - bigger than one of those small dorm ones. There was a microwave there too, but we didn't use it. The balcony was nice to sit out on and hang our wet clothes to dry. The pool is small, as stated in other reviews, but we loved it - and the conversation with other friendly guests!

All in all, we had a great trip. We can't wait to go back!

Room Tip: Ocean views are great, 1st and 4th floors have shared deck for all the oceanside rooms
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank luckymom33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Atlantic View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2011

While we also believe we have an excellent location and offer a great value, when it is coupled with the great service from our front desk staff and the clean accommodations provided by our housekeeping staff we know we offer the best choice in a hotel at the beach. Thank you for the kind words and for helping others make the decision to stay with us at the Atlantic View. Your business and time in placing the review is sincerely appreciated.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Atlantic View / Seaboard Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2011

This was our first time at the Atlantic View, after years of staying at the Bay Resort (and even getting married there on its dock almost 12 years ago). The hotel definitely has its charms - location (of course), appealing breakfast (more than you'd expect from a comparable hotel), and efficient staff. The pool, while small, kept our energetic 6 year old highly entertained.

The fridge didn't work when we arrived, and that was quickly taken care of, and concerns about the TV remote were also met with quick service. The property is older, and as such, you have to expect a very small bathroom (and vanity outside the bathroom) and a room that is tight for three people. However, you're not in the room that much at the beach - but even so, that's something to keep in mind. Pack accordingly! And if you're not a smoker, beware - there are locations close to the pool where guests were allowed to smoke.

The hotel is probably overpriced, but then again, aren't all beach properties? That said, it's clear the team at this hotel takes its job seriously.

Room Tip: Anything oceanfront - parking lot view is blah,
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jgoldsmith10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Atlantic View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2011

Thank you for choosing to move over to the ocean from the bay side of Dewey. While we are an older hotel, built in 1978, we are always improving our rooms and makng upgrades. We do not do every room in one year but we do a set number each off season so that we are always making the hotel fresh and more inviting. We feel we offer a great value for an oceanfront hotel and all that we offer. Thanks again for staying with us and for taking the time to review the hotel, it is greatly appreciated.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Atlantic View / Seaboard Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2011

I usually like to stay at higher-end hotels. But we decided to do a cheap beach trip. I recently stayed here with my mother and 5 year old daughter. The location is great, right on the beach. In the evenings, we walked the block to get the trolley into Rehobeth so we never moved our car. Its an older place, so don't expect spacious rooms. not alot of drawer space. If you know that going in, then you won't be upset. Beds were very comfy. I do want to mention that we stayed in Room 201 and it had a very strong musty smell. Since I am sensitive to that, I mentioned it to Shirley at the front desk on day 2. They placed an air purifyer in it while we were at the beach. It seemed to work for the day. However, by the middle of the night it was back. not sure if it was the carpet or not. (Our clothes even had that smell when we got home). Yuk! The next day, Shirley moved us into another room on the 2nd floor and it was a huge difference. Shirley and the cleaning staff were extremely helpful and friendly, which is always a plus. Overall, this place is great for the price. location, and staff.

Room Tip: Dont get 1st floor. No view of ocean.
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jplaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Atlantic View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2011

We are grateful for your review. We also believe we offer an excellent value in Dewey Beach. Our tremendous percentage of repeat guests that come back year after year is a testament to the product we deliver and the value we offer. We build our business on these guests and they good word they spread as well as the great reviews we receive from kind guests like you. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your thoughts about the Atlantic View.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President & COO
Atlantic View / Seaboard Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

The Atlantic View Motel is right in the middle of the action of Dewey Beach, about 1.5 blocks from the Starboard bar/restaurant. It has a small, clean pool and beach access, in fact it is right on the beach, so the location can't be beat. It has to be the cleanest place I've stayed at in Dewey, so this was an added bonus. The bathroom is VERY small but they discuss that on their website. Next time I will pay more for the rooms on the other side as the balcony was very cute, but I didn't spend any time out there as it overlooked the parking lot, vs. the ocean on the other side. The breakfast was amazing, much more than a continental breakfast. The night staff was very tolerant of people that had maybe drank one too many, not restricting them in areas, such as the pool area. Overall this was a lovely hotel (not easy to say that something in Dewey is "lovely") and I would stay here again on a trip to this area.

Room Tip: the ocean side rooms had an amazing view!
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Atlantic View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

So glad to hear how much you enjoyed the stay with us at the Atlantic View. I am grateful to you for your choosing to stay with us and for your time in placing the review. I am sure others reading your review will decide the Atlantic View is a wonderful choice for and oceanfron hotel in Delaware.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Seaboard Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

This is the second time we were blessed to stay at Atlantic View .. last year was our first time at Dewey Beach (ever!) and our drive each way is about 3.5 hours. We have twin toddlers who can be a bit challenging as both are dx with PDDNOS ..we were hesitant to take them anywhere as they can be a handful! But we went out on a whim and it was just wonderful! Stayed on the bottom floor oceanfront so we could maneuver with strollers and little legs to get to the beach easiest and do not want to disturb anyone with those little feet in the room. The walls must be three feet thick concrete due to the sound control (thank goodness!) and though it is typical to hear a bit of thumping around in the room upstairs from us -- we cannot complain because we aren't perfect :-) The staff is amazing and remembered us from last year (is that a good thing or bad? haha) - housekeeper was SO nice and the continental breakfast is just wonderful (wish it would be available as early as 8am for us early risers)- if there is room in the lot they let us check in and park a little early (thank you so much for this god-send with twin toddlers to entertain!) the ONLY issue we had our most recent visit (May 2011) is that we wish that the rooms would be inspected between guests checking in-out. There was a handful of problems with broken screen door locks and broken tub stoppers and no freezer in our little fridge as we had anticipated from our previous visit. Once we would "discover" these issues staff would be very quick to have fixed but still an inconvenience and disappointing -also the hotel/condos next door kept burning bonfires with trash that had nails sticking out of it right in front of the hotel beach front; alot of trash. I wrote a letter of concern and left it with the staff when we checked out with our tip for housekeeping (again awesome service) and am a bit miffed that it was never acknowledged . Nevertheless -- we are about to make another reservation and give Atlantic View another chance and hope for a better experience this time - all in all -- really a nice QUIET place for adults and families who appreciate a nice quiet hotel that does not tolerate parties and ruckus. NAMASTE!

Room Tip: Bottom Floor Ocean View always quiet but no view
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TWINS2STARZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Atlantic View Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2011

Thank you for the review and for sharing your experience with potential guests looking to stay with us. I apologize for the problems you found and for my lack of response to your comments left at the desk. I am staring at a stack of comment cards that I need to review and your noting that I did not respond is a good reminder for me to be more punctual in my responses. We will work harder to be sure that we always meet and exceed your expectations in the future.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Seaboard Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dewey Beach
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 13 in Dewey Beach
1,007 reviews
0.3 mi away
Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
1.4 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#20 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gold Leaf Hotel
Gold Leaf Hotel
#5 of 13 in Dewey Beach
356 reviews
1.3 mi away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#2 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
2,162 reviews
3.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic View Hotel

Address: 2 Clayton St, Dewey Beach, DE 19971-2307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Dewey Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dewey Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Dewey Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dewey Beach
Price Range: $68 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only oceanfront hotel in Dewey Beach Delaware. Since 1978 the Atlantic View has been offering generations of visitors its special blend of friendliness and cleanliness. Enjoy watching the dolphins from your private balcony or take just a few steps to get your feet in the sand and stroll our beautiful beach. We offer couples and families memorable visits to our resort town during all seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Kognitiv US Corp, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Atlantic View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic View Hotel Dewey Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing