We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cute motel in a great location, very tolerant staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Atlantic View Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Atlantic View Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Dewey Beach
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Cute motel in a great location, very tolerant staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2011

The Atlantic View Motel is right in the middle of the action of Dewey Beach, about 1.5 blocks from the Starboard bar/restaurant. It has a small, clean pool and beach access, in fact it is right on the beach, so the location can't be beat. It has to be the cleanest place I've stayed at in Dewey, so this was an added bonus. The bathroom is VERY small but they discuss that on their website. Next time I will pay more for the rooms on the other side as the balcony was very cute, but I didn't spend any time out there as it overlooked the parking lot, vs. the ocean on the other side. The breakfast was amazing, much more than a continental breakfast. The night staff was very tolerant of people that had maybe drank one too many, not restricting them in areas, such as the pool area. Overall this was a lovely hotel (not easy to say that something in Dewey is "lovely") and I would stay here again on a trip to this area.

Room Tip: the ocean side rooms had an amazing view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Atlantic View Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
So glad to hear how much you enjoyed the stay with us at the Atlantic View. I am grateful to you for your choosing to stay with us and for your time in placing the review. I am sure others reading your review will decide the Atlantic View is a wonderful choice for and oceanfron hotel in Delaware.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    103
    18
    4
    1
See reviews for
113
153
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Littlestown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

This is the second time we were blessed to stay at Atlantic View .. last year was our first time at Dewey Beach (ever!) and our drive each way is about 3.5 hours. We have twin toddlers who can be a bit challenging as both are dx with PDDNOS ..we were hesitant to take them anywhere as they can be a handful! But we went out on a whim and it was just wonderful! Stayed on the bottom floor oceanfront so we could maneuver with strollers and little legs to get to the beach easiest and do not want to disturb anyone with those little feet in the room. The walls must be three feet thick concrete due to the sound control (thank goodness!) and though it is typical to hear a bit of thumping around in the room upstairs from us -- we cannot complain because we aren't perfect :-) The staff is amazing and remembered us from last year (is that a good thing or bad? haha) - housekeeper was SO nice and the continental breakfast is just wonderful (wish it would be available as early as 8am for us early risers)- if there is room in the lot they let us check in and park a little early (thank you so much for this god-send with twin toddlers to entertain!) the ONLY issue we had our most recent visit (May 2011) is that we wish that the rooms would be inspected between guests checking in-out. There was a handful of problems with broken screen door locks and broken tub stoppers and no freezer in our little fridge as we had anticipated from our previous visit. Once we would "discover" these issues staff would be very quick to have fixed but still an inconvenience and disappointing -also the hotel/condos next door kept burning bonfires with trash that had nails sticking out of it right in front of the hotel beach front; alot of trash. I wrote a letter of concern and left it with the staff when we checked out with our tip for housekeeping (again awesome service) and am a bit miffed that it was never acknowledged . Nevertheless -- we are about to make another reservation and give Atlantic View another chance and hope for a better experience this time - all in all -- really a nice QUIET place for adults and families who appreciate a nice quiet hotel that does not tolerate parties and ruckus. NAMASTE!

Room Tip: Bottom Floor Ocean View always quiet but no view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TWINS2STARZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Atlantic View Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Thank you for the review and for sharing your experience with potential guests looking to stay with us. I apologize for the problems you found and for my lack of response to your comments left at the desk. I am staring at a stack of comment cards that I need to review and your noting that I did not respond is a good reminder for me to be more punctual in my responses. We will work harder to be sure that we always meet and exceed your expectations in the future.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starr MD
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

Visited Memorial Day weekend 2011 and stayed on 3rd floor this time to get a private balcony for the family. A couple of anecdotes which explain our stay:

We arrived at 11 (check-in at 1p) and were given a parking permit so we could hit the beach for a bit before check-in. This was greatly appreciated as we didn't have to try and stall and find something to do.

The pool closes at "dark" and of course the kids wanted to know EXACTLY how long that allowed them to swim :) The desk staff said they could swim while they were there even though it was getting darker out, which made the kids very happy.

The "continental" breakfast included french toast and quiche which was far better than the typical orange slice and toast setup you see at some other places.

One of our kids left their prized blankets under a bed, we called in and they are fedexing "little blanky" to us currently.

Finally, when the college crowd arrived at 2am and proceeded to hold what sounded like an impromptu rugby match on the sundeck just above our room, a simple mention to the front desk was met with sympathetic ears and they immediately went up to take photos of the state of the area and address.

Overall we had a great stay, and of course the location is great.

We look forward to staying again next year.

Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank pitpawten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Atlantic View Hotel, responded to this review, June 20, 2011
Family traditions are a big part of the Atlantic Views business! We have the grandchildren of our original customers coming back to stay with us with their children now. We have built our business on repeat guests and we are sincerely grateful to them for their continued business. We want to make a first time guests stay the first of many to come and we work hard to make a good impression everytime. Thank you for your review and for choosing to stay with us, it is sincerely appreciated.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Burlington, VT
Level Contributor
165 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

Two nights of respite at the beach, Cinco de Mayo in full swing two days later, and perfect weather. Pinch me! We arrived late, but our key was taped to the door. We checked in the next morning, no sweat. We will be back, for sure.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SHB05403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

We stayed on the third floor oceanfront. It was amazing falling asleep to the sound of the waves. The rooms looked remodeled. The breakfast at the hotel looked good but we walked to the sunrise restaurant, which was excellent. We plan to come back next year.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tulipchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Atlantic View Hotel, responded to this review, May 6, 2011
Thank you for sharing your experience while staying with us at the Atlantic View. Your kind words are the reward for which we work hard to achieve. I am grateful to you for taking the time to write the review and I sincerely appreciate your business. I hope to have you as our guest again in the near future.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casa Grande, Arizona
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2011

Stayed here during "Greyhounds Reach the Beach" weekend in October. No dogs allowed, which was fine with me because I came in from Arizona sans hounds. My room was not on the ocean side, but since the motel is small and literally on the beach, the few steps I had to take to see the ocean was fine. Simple, but very clean room, cable t.v, key rather than key-card. I loved the "continental" breakfast that was included. For me, a big WOW!!! Yes, there was the usual cereal, toast, juice, fruit, etc, but also delicious homemade extras: quiche, apple coffee cake, apple bread pudding. Front desk staff was efficient, but not particularly friendly.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lawootten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Atlantic View Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Thank you for staying with us at the Atlantic View. Your business and the review are sincerely appreciated. Our goal is to offer a hotel experience that will be relaxing, enjoyable, and memorable every time. It is great to hear that we delivered as you and I both expect. I hope to have you as our guest again in the near future.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2010

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Atlantic View for the weekend and as a young couple we really enjoyed our stay. We had a room on the 3rd floor, and although the room was a bit small, it was very clean and the view was amazing. The staff was very friendly and helpful when we needed assistance. The only downside was that online the website boasts rennovated rooms with flat panel TVs but our room had an old, boxy television but it didn't effect our stay. We will absolutely come back to stay at the Atlantic View again.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sajauntb25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SEABOARDHOTELS, Owner at Atlantic View Hotel, responded to this review, April 13, 2011
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Atlantic View. We are grateful to you for your business and we sincerely appreciate you taking the time to review us. Your experience is what we strive to deliver for all of our guests as we work hard to offer a hotel stay that is unique in its friendliness of staff and the charm of the property. We hope to have you as our guest again soon. I apologize for the oversight on the tv, all televisions have now been replaced.
Cheers,
Alex Moore
President
Seaboard Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dewey Beach
0.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 13 in Dewey Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
0.3 mi away
Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
1.4 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#17 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Gold Leaf Hotel
Gold Leaf Hotel
#5 of 13 in Dewey Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 595 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,542 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic View Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic View Hotel

Property: Atlantic View Hotel
Address: 2 Clayton St, Dewey Beach, DE 19971-2307
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Dewey Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Dewey Beach
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Dewey Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Dewey Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Atlantic View Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The only oceanfront hotel in Dewey Beach Delaware. Since 1978 the Atlantic View has been offering generations of visitors its special blend of friendliness and cleanliness. Enjoy watching the dolphins from your private balcony or take just a few steps to get your feet in the sand and stroll our beautiful beach. We offer couples and families memorable visits to our resort town during all seasons. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Kognitiv US Corp, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Atlantic View Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic View Hotel Dewey Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing