We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Fancy, but it Worked.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bellbuoy Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bellbuoy Motel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Dewey Beach
baltimore, md
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Not Fancy, but it Worked.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2009

I wanted to go to the Running of the Bull. I deceded that 2 weeks prior to the event. I didn't leave myself with a lot of choices. But I found the Bellbuoy Motel. The owner was pleasant on the phone during reservations. When we got there, we checked in before noon, since the room was already prepared. On Sunday, when we left, after we checked out they let us continue to park our car in their lot, and shower up in their shower, after spending the day at the beach. It was a nice, friendly, pleasant stay, a block from the ocean.
Was the room a 5*? Absolutely not. Was the room worth what I paid? Probably not. But it was clean, the air conditioner, fridge, shower, toilet, tv & drapes worked. And really? That's all I need at the beach.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suesuecarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    12
    3
    1
    8
See reviews for
14
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, VA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2008

My husband and I stayed at this motel many times. In fact, my husband stayed there many years before the current owners took over. The owners knew us by name. We booked our room with them and they never asked for a deposit - never did before. If they wanted a deposit, we would have given them our credit card at time we booked our reservation. We arrived on a Friday in July and when the owner saw us he said that he did not have a room for us. We thought he was joking! He said that we never sent in the deposit. Here we were on a Friday night in July, traveled over three hours and had no place to stay. Ok, I could understand a mix up BUT after all the years we stayed there and the dollars spent, the least he could have done was try to find us another room or suggest something. He basically turned his back on us and that was that! We were so upset the way we were treated. Luckily we were able to find somewhere else but we never went back and never will. If you want a nice place that is basically right on the beach go to Adams Ocean - so much better.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — No pool, old rooms, the owners
  • Stayed July 2005, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank VADoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dewey Beach hotels

new jersey
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2007

I had booked six weeks in advance, but became very nervous after reading a recent derrogatory review. However, I was relieved to find a very helpful, friendly staff and a clean well maintained room. Would I return? You bet I would! I feel as if I've found a home away from home near my favorite vacation spot.

  • Liked — friendly people/ pet friendly
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank sandyNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2007

This was the worst hotel experience I have ever had! There were ants all over the bathroom and sinks as well as one roach in the bathtub. The air conditioning did not work right either. The staff gave us a can of Raid as a solution to the bug problem and never fixed the AC. The one staff member was rude to us and was very nosey. That staff member watches all the guests every move and is always lurking around. Very creepy! This hotel exhibits horrible customer service!!!!!

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — customer service
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sunseeker1320
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2005

I was at the Bellbuoy from June 26-28th. I have stayed there many times and I highly recommend it! The location is great-the beach is at the end of the street. The motel is quiet, clean, and they have a microwave and fridge.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Amcdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2005

We have stayed at the Bellbuoy several times over the last few years.... It's a terrific, family oriented place within walking distance of all there is to do in Dewey!

Stayed May 2003
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dewey Beach
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 13 in Dewey Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
0.1 mi away
Gold Leaf Hotel
Gold Leaf Hotel
#5 of 13 in Dewey Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 343 reviews
0.2 mi away
Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Henlopen Hotel
Henlopen Hotel
#18 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 261 reviews
2.0 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#17 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach House Dewey
Beach House Dewey
#4 of 13 in Dewey Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellbuoy Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellbuoy Motel

Property: Bellbuoy Motel
Address: 21 Van Dyke St, Dewey Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Dewey Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Dewey Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bellbuoy Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellbuoy Hotel Dewey Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing