We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Quaint, peaceful hotel for a relaxing vacation.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bellbuoy Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bellbuoy Motel
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Dewey Beach
New Castle, Delaware
1 review
“Quaint, peaceful hotel for a relaxing vacation.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

My husband and I stayed here in late September, and it was very enjoyable. It was a short walk to the beach, and the price was very reasonable for being so close to the water. The building is a little old, but the room was clean and comfortable. The staff was friendly and professional. There were pets, but they were unobtrusive and their owners cleaned up after them. I loved my stay here, and I am already making plans to come back next year!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mwise1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    12
    3
    1
    8
See reviews for
13
8
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Stayed here for a weekend. Quality of my room is very poor and beds are terribly uncomfortable. It's expensive for the lack of quality. Also very outdated. Feels very low class. Will never recommend to friends or family. Would advise everyone not to waste their money here. Hated my stay here. Would rather sleep with a bum on a bench than support the existence of this establishment.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelingtogreatplaces.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dewey Beach hotels

Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
196 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We were hesitant to book this smaller motel after reading a few of the negative views about smelly, not clean, and rude. Our room was very clean, no moldy smell, and everything worked from the a/c and shower to toilet, microwave and little fridge. If you want fancy with amenities like pool and hot tub, then go elsewhere. But if you want friendly, clean, smaller and quiet with the beach right at the end of the block then this is perfect. We will book the same room again here next year. They had plenty of towels, soap, shampoo, conditioner. They even gave us an extra hour till 12 since my husband wanted to enjoy the beach a little longer and the room was not booked yet. It was so nice to be able to come back to the room, use the bathroom for my husband, and relax in the room while my husband stayed on the beach longer. We stayed on the 2nd floor which has a spacious deck.
Some rooms take dogs, and even the dogs were friendly and quiet. There were no noisy parties. Dewey beach was rated one of two best beaches in Delaware. If you like a quiet, laidback and not crowded beach with a room so close to the beach this is it!

About five blocks away on Wednesday nights from about mid June through August they have night bonfires with bring your own hot dogs and s'more makings, and on Wednesday nights movies. We enjoyed getting to see dogs at the beach roughly before 9 and after 5 and the owners were good about cleaning up. Rehoboth is only five min. north for all the commercial places to enjoy, although Dewey does have about 1/2 mile of places to shop and eat.

Room Tip: 2nd floor has a has deck area and the laundry room is right there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank augweddedbells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

The hotel is close to the beach that was my best memory. I was very disappointed. My last stay was over 9 years ago. On entering the room you smell mold. There is nothing nautical in the dark room. I wore flip flops the whole time. "maid service" consists of emptying out the trash, removing used towels & replacing with new ones.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DDiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Love this motel!!! For those complainers - It's not a fancy resort, It's a place to sleep. This motel is very clean and the staff/owners (previous owners and new owners) are very helpful and so nice! I live in NJ and come to Dewey to enjoy this beautiful beach almost every year! NJ beaches can't compare to Dewey Beach! So many things to do and see and all within walking distance or jump on the Jolly Trolly and ride into Rehoboth. I highly recomend!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hailey1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

This is 100% the most disgusting hotel I've ever stayed at. They're lucky they're in Dewey Beach because otherwise no one would ever stay there. The rooms smell, everything leaks, I wouldn't walk on the carpets without shoes, and no one even cleans the room while you're there. The only thing this place is suitable for is a bunch of drunk college kids, but the owner acts like it's a family establishment and screams at visitors to leave and tries to enforce quiet hours and threatens to call the cops. I can't imagine any parents actually bring their children here. For how expensive it is, just spend the extra $50 and stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank missgord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenixville, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

My family and I stayed here September 16 weekend for my step daughter's wedding, it was a very nice place, very friendly people, clean and perfect location near the beach, best of all I got to bring my little girl-pug-Daisy Duke-she had a blast and so did we, we will stay here again on our next visit to Dewey Beach!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita M V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dewey Beach
0.2 mi away
Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
0.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 12 in Dewey Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 634 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf
BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf
#17 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 713 reviews
3.4 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#16 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 336 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach House Dewey
Beach House Dewey
#4 of 12 in Dewey Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bellbuoy Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bellbuoy Motel

Property: Bellbuoy Motel
Address: 21 Vandyke St, Dewey Beach, DE 19971-2510
Location: United States > Delaware > Dewey Beach
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 12 Hotels in Dewey Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Bellbuoy Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bellbuoy Hotel Dewey Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing