We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Restaurant! Great People! Great Food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mama Maria's Italian Restaurant

Mama Maria's Italian Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 43 Restaurants in Dewey Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Chincoteague Island, Virginia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Restaurant! Great People! Great Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

You know a restaurant is good, when the place is packed ALL the time. I also visited on Memorial Day weekend like the guy below me, and I agree with what he says about the atmosphere. It was loud, and there were a lot of college aged people there who were rowdy. Unfortunately, in Dewey Beach, that was EVERY restaurant we visited that weekend. Dewey is a place were kids go to party, but that doesn't take away from the AMAZING food Mama Maria's has. The fried calamari was absolutely amazing and my gnocchi was served perfectly. The wait staff is great and always friendly and helpful. Even with as busy as it was, the staff made us feel like family. If you want pizza, or hearty dinners this is an excellent place to visit. It's a must stop destination for your vacation.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RestingOnCloud9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    26
    21
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ann Arbor, Michigan
Level Contributor
227 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“Still very good food, but the clientele has declined”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

I know it is tough to be in the restaurant business these days and tougher still to be a full service restaurant in an area dominated by young people interested mostly in partying. But the changes at Mama Maria's (loud rock music and customers, a cheap bar with no control of alcohol consumption) is turning this "best Italian restaurant in DE" in a dive where drunk kids are rowdy, puke in bathrooms and pee on the floor. It sure takes away from the good to excellent food. This is not a one time observation, by the way. It has been recent experience on several occasions. No wonder Mama Maria doesn't smile much anymore. I think we'll do take out in the future.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bloodman33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PA
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Pizza EVER!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013

If you've never had MaMa Maria's pizza, you don't know what you're missing!! Don't be fooled by that other place. This is a great place to take the family out or just hang with friends. The owner works the crowd and makes you feel at home. You can't go to Dewey without stopping here. We can't wait for our yearly vacation! Thanks MaMa!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Italian Food in Delaware”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

The BEST Italian food - local owned - friendly atmosphere - great value - will accommodate your needs and wishes. Had the Chicken Franchaise - Hubby Loves the Salmon, so delicious! The dishes are "generous and tasty'. Love the atmosphere and the service was warming and welcoming, absolutely No complaints!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bridgette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Outstanding!!! Been coming here for years. We are from NJ and always make a point to stop.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

Food is very good. Staff is friendly. Atmosphere is fun. Nice family restaurant. Their pasta dishes with their home made sauce are just incredible. We have never had a bad meal here. Best Italian restaurant in Dewey Beach! Great to stop in for lunch or dinner after you have been sitting on the beach.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LLTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mama Maria's Italian Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Mama Maria's Italian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing