We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ignore the weak reviews...”
Review of Ed's Chicken & Crabs - CLOSED

Ed's Chicken & Crabs
Restaurant details
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
98 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Ignore the weak reviews...”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

I am not related to Ed nor am I invested in his establishment. We have been going to Ed's for the last 8-years and have always enjoyed Ed's. His grilled chicken dinner is excellent. It is a marinated half chicken, perfectly cooked, and served with an ear of corn. The steamed shrimp is outstanding. We also like the fried clams, onion rings and sandwiches. The reviews I have read to do not reflect my experience. Ed's is a great beach experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GastronautWDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    20
    16
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
62 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Get Your Crab On!”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were hesitant because of the mixed reviews but tried it anyway and I'm glad we did. My husband had a crab cake sandwich and I had the snow crab legs and we shared the mac and cheese. This was my favorite meal I had all week in Dewey Beach. Prices were reasonable and the staff was helpful. We did sit outside which meant we had to deal with a lot of flies but it wasn't too terrible. The food was delicious and we can't wait to go back next time we are in the area!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rehoboth Beach, Delaware
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AVOID AT ALL COSTS”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Wife ordered on dozen "jumbo" crabs. When she went to pick them up, the guy asked a helper to retrieve them from the back. The helper responded, "Where would you like me to find jumbo crabs right now??". The man helping her claimed to actually have them and sent the kid on two separate missions to find them. At this point, visibly irritated, he set off on a mission to retrieve them himself. A helper came back with a box and rang her card for $80 for a dozen jumbo crabs. She then looked in the box at what were not much larger than legal crabs. Told she would have to wait to ask the owner about what must have been a mistake she was avoided by him until she finally left feeling bullied. I tried calling and was told there was nothing I could do but return them. The owner was in the background yelling, "Just hang up, I'll tell you what happened". Pic for reference. http://imgur.com/Gaq9NNx

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ChickenEdsSucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Only the crabs!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Rule #1 If anyone in your party does not like crabs do not go to Ed's.

Rule #2 If you think your kids will get turf food (chicken and beef) while you eat crabs do not go to Ed's.

Rule #3 While fried and seasoned shrimp were ok, see Rule #1.

We ordered a burger for one child in our party that was not edible. It was cooked dry and tasteless. Went to staff for a little help and was told "we only cook them well done." Well done is an understatement.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike11250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rude owner makes for bad experience”
Reviewed June 16, 2013

What a rude, un-appreciative man can do is ruin your experience. NEVER AGAIN. Crabs were WAY small and over priced. SKIP IT.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Krlls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ed's Chicken & Crabs also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing