We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bit 90's but great value”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Dewey Beach
Glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Bit 90's but great value”
Reviewed November 23, 2008

This hotel was the recommended hotel for a wedding in Delaware but I must admit that having read the reviews on this website I was a bit wary about arriving. Added onto that it was difficult to get in contact with this hotel from this side of the Atlantic when e-mails bounced back and phone lines were difficult.

However, when I arrived I could not fault the hotel at all. The hotel is situated right on the beach access and the parking spots allocated by the hotel are worth their weight in gold in high season.

The accommodation is either a murphy bed or a sofa bed. The whole apartment was immaculately clean and the only concern was the mint green and pink decor that seems to have timewarped from the early 90's and a person whinge of mine, not being able to watch TV in bed. However not really anything to complain about.

Breakfast really should be taken at Sharkey's diner at the intersection of Reede Street with Route 1. Its fab and coffee comes free.

The hotel has a laundry room which is exceptionally good value and most helpfully for those of us who came a long distance provided beach chairs and umbrella's.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again if I was looking for a beach holiday in the US!

  • Liked — The location,
  • Disliked — The location on a Friday night in high season, Bit noisy
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FaeGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    39
    24
    17
    12
See reviews for
40
52
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Beach Go-er from Washington
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 13, 2008

I like Dewey Beach because it has NO hi-rises (unlike Ocean City) and, being just two blocks wide, has the Ocean on one side, and Rehoboth Bay on the other. When I need Rehoboth, it is just a short walk up the Beach or a 5 minute bike ride away. We had a bonfire on the beach Friday night (permit cost: $20). One nice thing about the off-season is that BEER IS permitted on the Beach! ....I stayed in the Surf Club Hotel BEACH HOUSE - which is about 100 feet from the Beach. The place has 3 BR, 4 TVs, 2 decks, an Outdoor Grill, full kitchen, and a washer-dryer. The MBR has one of those Craftmatic-type beds (where the feet or head of the bead can be raised). Other than the yahoo who put off a couple of fireworks (a few blocks away) it was quiet. Being closing weekend for both Ruddertowne and Nalu (the Hawaiian place), I walked over there (2 blocks away) for eats. It was Nalu's closing party, and the women were dressed to kill. The $2 beers (even Heineken and Guiness) were very much appreciated. L-S-M-J performed at the closing party over at Ruddertown. Tho we didn't stay in one of the (efficiency) Hotel rooms, I know that the Beds have been upgraded in the last year and now flat screen TVs are in most rooms.

  • Liked — Convenience - being to see + hear the Ocean
  • Disliked — The fireworks put off (a couple blocks away) on Friday night
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Hiker-Biker-Kayaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2008

As long as you know what to expect, this is a great place to stay.
This is a relaxed, comfortable, down to earth, and very convenient place to stay when visiting Dewey Beach. The "Little Store" is only a few steps away.
Great if you have kids as the room is equipped with small kitchenette, fridge, and utensils.
Hotel is with in steps from the beach, nice pool, nice outdoor shower and bathroom facilities. Staff is friendly and curteous.
Had a great time, as usual! Thank you Jay and Kathy!!

  • Liked — Convience
  • Disliked — The Stairs
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Chandler11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Kensington
1 review
Reviewed September 21, 2007

The hotel has nice rooms and a wonderful view of the beach. It is an efficience so you save tons of money on food. Downstairs they have a small pool, a hot tub and bikes available for guests. The place is definetly NOT for the handicapped. There is no elevator and just a thin set of steps leading to the walk way to enter the room. It has a small tub and no hand rails. I enjoyed my stay but it was really hard lugging everything up & down the stairs. The heat lamp in the bathroom didn't work but the kitchen is stocked with everything you need for cooking. Overall it was a good place to stay for the price we paid.

  • Liked — The beautiful view of the beach
  • Disliked — No elevator and/or handicapped rooms
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TIGERLADY13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dewey Beach hotels

Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2007

We usually stay at the Sand Palace but were looking to upgrade. I had some concern after reading some of the reviews but it was a good location and worked out wonderful. The oceanview was great and most importantly in the motel type accomodations of Dewey - it was absolutely spotless. Yes the furniture was a bit out dated and the bed pulled out of the wall, but I can live with this -- it was no problem for a clean, comfortable room with a beautiful view.

We'll stay here again!

  • Liked — Views and Cleanliness
  • Disliked — Some upgrades are needed
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank santogjm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, VA
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2006

Decent beach hotel rooms -- more like efficiency apartments -- except for real problems with beds. Here are your options: 1) A not-quite-twin-size Murphy bed that might be passable for two people who are under about 5'8" and very thin; and 2)A queen pullout couch that is even more uncomfortable than usual for these, because people sleep on it all of the time and the mattress is worn out.

No balconies, but my room (and I think, all rooms) had a sunroom area that can be closed off from the rest of the room via sliding glass doors and had lots of open-able windows and a ceiling fan. I think this is actually better than a balcony in many ways! I liked this a lot.

Kichenette is reasonably equipped. No oven, but dual-burner stovetop, microwave, small fridge. Would serve a couple of people fine for a few days; four-person families might be a little challenged, but it's not impossible by any stretch.

There are three classes of rooms: Oceanfront, large ocean view and small ocean view. The LOV -- which is what I stayed in -- is significantly larger than the others and the view from my room was actually quite good -- you could see all the way down the beach. I'd recommend it over the others.

Staff was nice; pool is tiny -- but hey, that big watery thing next to the building is an 'ocean'; no issues with maid service; free popcorn and coffee in the lobby. Prices are excellent for a beach hotel. The room really opens up when you put the Murphy bed away (which you can do easily). Would work great for single people or those who can sleep on anything.

  • Liked — Location, cleanliness and staff
  • Disliked — Bed situation is really bad
  • Tips/Secrets — Bring an air mattress if you're going to use the sleeper sofa
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frobozz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2006

Dewey Beach, DE is a party town on the weekends all summer long. We stayed at the Surf Club for 4 nights in August over a weekend. On Saturday night the partying was so loud through most of the hotel that we could not sleep. Hotel security could not handle the situation and the police had to be called in the middle of the night. I recommend that those with families only stay here during the week. The ocean front hotel is nice and so is the beach. They have a limited supply of beach chairs and umbrellas for use. You may want to bring your own because they run out quickly. There are also a few bikes to take out but none of them were kid size. They have limited on site parking and an overflow lot down the street. The hotel has 3 floors but only a luggage elevator. The rooms are efficiency units with small kitchens and refrigerator. There is a double size murphy bed and an uncomfortable pullout queen size sofa bed. The hotel has a small outdoor pool, hot tub and onsite laundary and ice machine. We would have enjoyed our stay if it wasn't over a weekend.

Stayed August 2006
Helpful?
4 Thank GoPSU2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dewey Beach
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 13 in Dewey Beach
974 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gold Leaf Hotel
Gold Leaf Hotel
#5 of 13 in Dewey Beach
354 reviews
1.8 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#17 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#2 of 13 in Dewey Beach
436 reviews
3.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Rehoboth Beach
0.9 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#21 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House

Property: Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
Address: 1 Read Ave, Dewey Beach, DE 19971-2311 (Formerly The Surf Club)
Location: United States > Delaware > Dewey Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Dewey Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surf Club is an Ocean Front hotel with 48 kitchenette efficiencies. A few steps away from the hotel is our 3-bedroom beach house. Each hotel unit accommodates (4) four guests. We have the best of both worlds: the Town of Dewey is located between the Atlantic Ocean and Rehoboth Bay. Both the hotel and beach house are open all year. We look forward to having you as our guest, so come and visit us in this beautful part of Delaware ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf Club Hotel Dewey Beach
Surf Hotel Dewey Beach
The Surf Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing