We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and view!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in Dewey Beach
Reviewed May 20, 2013

We usually get to the surf club a few times a year. We go because we love Dewey Beach, the location is perfect and the view is great! The rooms are clean but in need of a little updating. We usually stay in one of ocean front rooms, but they were renovating (the front facade i think) when we were there a few monthes ago. Not a problem though because the side rooms have great views also. The higher the floor, the better. There's a Murphy bed, which is what we sleep in. I was surprised how very comfortable it is. There's also a sizable pull out sofa bed which we haven't slept in before. The room is equipped with a cook top, utensils and small refrigerator, all of which are nice to have access to in case we feel like chilling in the room and not running out for a meal. In summer and winter, we love to sip coctails in the "sunroom", and enjoy the sights and sounds. My only real complaint about the room is there isnt a balcony but at least the windows open. One of the reviews complained about the staff. They are always most welcoming and are also part of the reason we are so fond of the place. There is no elevator, but there is a dumb waiter for your luggage. I gave the pool a rating of 4 but honestly we've never spend time there because we'd rather be on the beach. There is also a hot tub which we used once a couple years ago. We will use it again, just haven't yet. There aren't many oceanfront hotels in Dewey, and I think this place is pretty well priced. We will continue to go to the Surf Club until the day we buy a place (if ever)!

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have a view but on the side, there is the street so the higher the floor you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nsj1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (146)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

100 - 106 of 146 reviews

Reviewed April 24, 2013

Ok,
This was our first trip to Dewey Beach, Delaware for a relaxing vacation. Unfortunately, relaxing was one thing this vacation was not. Right now the Surf Club is under going some MAJOR renovations (which will probably look great when it is done) but right now it is noisy and the workers knock on the door or try to walk into the rooms?

Staff was very nice, friendly, helpful. Room had a GREAT view of the ocean.
HOWEVER, their are a few things that people need to know before they go.

1. There is NO elevator. They do have a dumb waiter that is used to bring the luggage up to the appropriate floor.

2. Our room, had a pull down bed (from the wall) and a sleeper sofa. No real bed in the room at all.

3. Currently under going some MAJOR renovations, manager said should be done by Memorial Day, place should look nice once they are done.

We just felt that we should have been made aware of the on-going construction when we booked the place, because if we had known, we probably would have gone someplace else and perhaps gone to the Surf Club some other time and enjoyed ourselves more.

Our trip was supposed to last Friday to Friday but we cut it short because of all the noise and the fact that workmen kept either walking into our room, or, knocking on the door all the time?

I do want to stress the fact that the front desk people were VERY nice and understanding when we went down to complain.
Just the wrong place and the wrong time, right now.

Very disappointed !

Room Tip: They do have coin operated laundry available as well as a hot tub. They also have free wireless int...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wposch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chckhmmr, General Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

We do apoligize for the painting contractor trying to enter your room. We did give them a list of rooms that had guests and your room was on that list. Even so, this should not happen. Also I believe they booked with a 3rd party vendor and did not call the hotel directly, as we tell any potential guests that we are under construction, and that we have no elevator. We will contact this guests asap and try to make this right.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

I have been a loyal customer for the last 18 summers at the surf club in Dewey beach. In the last few years I have been continually disappointed in the Surf Club and it's management staff. The rooms have not been updated in the entire time, but although it wasn't the cleanest place i have stayed, or the most comfortable with the 20 year old mattresses, and couches, we stayed going there because of it's location. This past summer was the final straw. The staff was argumentative and provoked the people i was staying with, other 40 somethings. The staff harassed them for "talking" outside, and literally would stand outside the doors to see if they could here them through the flimsy doors. We are a group of 20 adults , all staying as separate couples, 2-4 per room, with families , in the rooms we have paid for, and if we can't go to the beach and relax and have to worry about being harassed by the unreasonable staff of a mediocre hotel, then I would rather give our money to a much more accommodating hotel.... The Best Western down the road was a great location, cleaner, nicer staff, and better value. Don't waste your time or money!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bookgirl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chckhmmr, Manager at Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2012

We have made an effort at The Surf Club to keep it family friendly. With that being said we now have night security to make sure noise is kept to a minimum between 11 at night till 8AM. Also the balconies must be kept clear due to fire code regulations and are for regress and egress only. The entire property is now non-smoking and beer bong and drinking games are not permitted as parents with children do not want that type of enviroment around their kids. In past years people would gather and party on the balconies and disturb other guest without concern. We understand change is hard but we felt we had to put these rules in to effect and enforce them for the greater good of all guest, not a select few. We are no longer a so called party hotel and will continually strive to make it more family friendly. With Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed here for an annual girls' weekend in Dewey Beach. The location of this property could not have been better, as far as proximity to all of the popular restaurants and bars! Being right on the beach with an ocean view was the icing on the cake! Check-in was quick and Jay at the front desk was friendly and helpful. The rate was very reasonable and every room was taken. Constructive feedback would definitely include the property is dated and should be renovated. The bathroom was very small and did not have sufficient lighting. Towels were thin and the bed was a not-so-comfy Murphy bed. That said, THE ROOM WAS VERY CLEAN. The pros definitely outweigh the cons in this instance. I will stay here again next year!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimbeegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My wife, (beachlover898) reported on our vacation last year, at the Surf Club Hotel in Dewey Beach, De. This year, we spent some time, again in August at the Surf club. We had another terrific vacation.

The main thing about the Surf Club Hotel is their family oriented attitude. There is an attentive staff that makes you feel comfortable. This is just an enjoyable place to vacation at and look forward to going back again.

The Surf Club Hotel is unique (it is a Kitchenette Efficiency) and different from other beach front hotels in that they have a "Florida/Sun Room" in each unit. This room use to be an exposed balcony. Now, it is a floor to ceiling glass enclosed, air conditioned, and ocean viewing room, giving you that "Million Dollar View of the Beach", that is spectacular. Not to worry, there are windows that can be opened for fresh ocean air and to hear the sound of the surf against the shore.

This is a cozy, clean and comfortable pool for a nice change from being on the beach. Here is a good place to meet and talk with others that are vacationing or just to read. It is also a good place for kids to meet and play with other kids.

The Surf Club Hotel has another uncommon offering for the guests. The hotel provides to the guests, free use of freshly cleaned beach towels, each day, while staying at the hote. What a treat!! -- not to worry about what to do with your wet and sandy beach towels after use. Just drop them off at the front office, and pick up another fresh towel when you need it.

I would go back again. And We Plan to, beachlover898's LOVER

Room Tip: We prefer the Ocean front rooms as they have a better view of the ocean. We also like the 3rd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachlover898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

You may be able to find more exquisite accommodations, but not for the money.

Rooms are clean and well equipped. Right on the beach, with great ocean front and ocean views, and you are seconds from your spot on the sand. Walking distance everywhere. Ruddertowne. Grottos. Starboard. Jimmie's.

This is a clean place to stay. The rooms are immaculate.

Well decorated rooms. Full kitchen. Stereo in the room.

Walls and ceilings are a little thin, so you can hear loud talkers and hard footsteps.

We love the Surf Club!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelfaninpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

I recently stayed at the Surf Club on a warm sunny day in November. I found the property to offer an amazing OceanFront Experience! The Ocean. The Ocean and sounds of the waves crahing onto the shores were so close The beach from Rehobeth thru Dewey is mainly un-developed with million dollar beach homes. This property is located at the end of Read Street at the Ocean so no traffic noise.... just the peaceful sounds of the Ocean lapping the beach. The beach access is adjacent to the property. The propery has a lovely heated pool (seasonly) , laundry, sauna, and large hot tub! The condos was unique studio- efficiency type condo. One large room with a kitchenette had microwave, two burner stove, refrigerator and sink and everything you need to cook and entertain! adjacent to the kitchen was built in draws for storage, and book shelf library. Flat screen TV cable/ HBO service and DVD player. there was a large L shapped comfortable sofa (sleeper) and a full sized comfortable Murphy Bed in the wall for a space saving design. The class sliding doors opened into a tiled sunroom with 4 seater glass table, and built in day bed for reading and a wall of windows offer amazing views ,breezes, and sounds of the ocean. Each unit offers an independant controlled HVAC unit. The bathroom was very clean and well appointed and had a window which was nice for added natural light! There is no elevator, so if you can't do stairs stay on level one, there is a dump waiter for luggage though. The Management was friendly and very welcoming. The best units are the units endin in 1 , 8, and 9 and there are several different sizes there are side units offering amazing Ocean views these are referred to as Small Ocean View, and Large Ocean View. Pick the large ocean view best units on this side are 9's, 10's, 11's, 12,'s and 13's on floor 1,2, or 3, the higher you go the better view and more quiet. The large unit we stayed was 310 and it was great! there was just two of us, even though the condo could accomodate another couple it would get cramped fast, especially in the small units.
This is an amazing off seaon best bet. You are close to everthing! Parking is free everywhere and off season there are no crowds and everything is often. A great romantic place to stay! Very affordable, comfortable, but not glitzy with granite, marble etc. A beautiful alternative to a traditional hotel or Motel at the beach and priced for less.... hard to believe! Did I mention Free WiFi too

Room Tip: Best rooms are Ocean front units ending in 1,8,9 and Ocean view Large units rooms numbers ending in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FullMoonVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dewey Beach
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 13 in Dewey Beach
1,048 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gold Leaf Hotel
Gold Leaf Hotel
#5 of 13 in Dewey Beach
359 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#2 of 13 in Dewey Beach
486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#20 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
622 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites
Quality Inn & Suites
#21 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
177 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House

Address: 1 Read Ave, Dewey Beach, DE 19971-2311 (Formerly The Surf Club)
Location: United States > Delaware > Dewey Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dewey Beach
Price Range: $83 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surf Club is an Ocean Front hotel with 48 kitchenette efficiencies. A few steps away from the hotel is our 3-bedroom beach house. Each hotel unit accommodates (4) four guests. We have the best of both worlds: the Town of Dewey is located between the Atlantic Ocean and Rehoboth Bay. Both the hotel and beach house are open all year. We look forward to having you as our guest, so come and visit us in this beautful part of Delaware ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Surf Club Hotel Dewey Beach
Surf Hotel Dewey Beach
The Surf Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing