We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach House Dewey(Dewey Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gold Leaf Hotel(Dewey Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Dewey(Dewey Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bellbuoy Motel(Dewey Beach)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bay Resort(Dewey Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Atlantic View Hotel(Dewey Beach)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Marina Suites(Dewey Beach)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (157)
Filter reviews
157 results
Traveler rating
57
46
25
17
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
57
46
25
17
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdumb waiterhot tuboff seasonday bedfull size fridgeocean viewstove topgranite countertopsfully stocked with platesdirect ocean frontglass tablevery comfortable king size bedtile floorsmany yearseasy walking distanceother guestsstayed here for one night
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
113 - 118 of 157 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2012

I stayed here for an annual girls' weekend in Dewey Beach. The location of this property could not have been better, as far as proximity to all of the popular restaurants and bars! Being right on the beach with an ocean view was the icing on the cake! Check-in was quick and Jay at the front desk was friendly and helpful. The rate was very reasonable and every room was taken. Constructive feedback would definitely include the property is dated and should be renovated. The bathroom was very small and did not have sufficient lighting. Towels were thin and the bed was a not-so-comfy Murphy bed. That said, THE ROOM WAS VERY CLEAN. The pros definitely outweigh the cons in this instance. I will stay here again next year!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kimbeegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

My wife, (beachlover898) reported on our vacation last year, at the Surf Club Hotel in Dewey Beach, De. This year, we spent some time, again in August at the Surf club. We had another terrific vacation.

The main thing about the Surf Club Hotel is their family oriented attitude. There is an attentive staff that makes you feel comfortable. This is just an enjoyable place to vacation at and look forward to going back again.

The Surf Club Hotel is unique (it is a Kitchenette Efficiency) and different from other beach front hotels in that they have a "Florida/Sun Room" in each unit. This room use to be an exposed balcony. Now, it is a floor to ceiling glass enclosed, air conditioned, and ocean viewing room, giving you that "Million Dollar View of the Beach", that is spectacular. Not to worry, there are windows that can be opened for fresh ocean air and to hear the sound of the surf against the shore.

This is a cozy, clean and comfortable pool for a nice change from being on the beach. Here is a good place to meet and talk with others that are vacationing or just to read. It is also a good place for kids to meet and play with other kids.

The Surf Club Hotel has another uncommon offering for the guests. The hotel provides to the guests, free use of freshly cleaned beach towels, each day, while staying at the hote. What a treat!! -- not to worry about what to do with your wet and sandy beach towels after use. Just drop them off at the front office, and pick up another fresh towel when you need it.

I would go back again. And We Plan to, beachlover898's LOVER

Room Tip: We prefer the Ocean front rooms as they have a better view of the ocean. We also like the 3rd floor at the end, north view as you do not hear anything except the sounds of the surf
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachlover898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

You may be able to find more exquisite accommodations, but not for the money.

Rooms are clean and well equipped. Right on the beach, with great ocean front and ocean views, and you are seconds from your spot on the sand. Walking distance everywhere. Ruddertowne. Grottos. Starboard. Jimmie's.

This is a clean place to stay. The rooms are immaculate.

Well decorated rooms. Full kitchen. Stereo in the room.

Walls and ceilings are a little thin, so you can hear loud talkers and hard footsteps.

We love the Surf Club!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank travelfaninpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2011

I recently stayed at the Surf Club on a warm sunny day in November. I found the property to offer an amazing OceanFront Experience! The Ocean. The Ocean and sounds of the waves crahing onto the shores were so close The beach from Rehobeth thru Dewey is mainly un-developed with million dollar beach homes. This property is located at the end of Read Street at the Ocean so no traffic noise.... just the peaceful sounds of the Ocean lapping the beach. The beach access is adjacent to the property. The propery has a lovely heated pool (seasonly) , laundry, sauna, and large hot tub! The condos was unique studio- efficiency type condo. One large room with a kitchenette had microwave, two burner stove, refrigerator and sink and everything you need to cook and entertain! adjacent to the kitchen was built in draws for storage, and book shelf library. Flat screen TV cable/ HBO service and DVD player. there was a large L shapped comfortable sofa (sleeper) and a full sized comfortable Murphy Bed in the wall for a space saving design. The class sliding doors opened into a tiled sunroom with 4 seater glass table, and built in day bed for reading and a wall of windows offer amazing views ,breezes, and sounds of the ocean. Each unit offers an independant controlled HVAC unit. The bathroom was very clean and well appointed and had a window which was nice for added natural light! There is no elevator, so if you can't do stairs stay on level one, there is a dump waiter for luggage though. The Management was friendly and very welcoming. The best units are the units endin in 1 , 8, and 9 and there are several different sizes there are side units offering amazing Ocean views these are referred to as Small Ocean View, and Large Ocean View. Pick the large ocean view best units on this side are 9's, 10's, 11's, 12,'s and 13's on floor 1,2, or 3, the higher you go the better view and more quiet. The large unit we stayed was 310 and it was great! there was just two of us, even though the condo could accomodate another couple it would get cramped fast, especially in the small units.
This is an amazing off seaon best bet. You are close to everthing! Parking is free everywhere and off season there are no crowds and everything is often. A great romantic place to stay! Very affordable, comfortable, but not glitzy with granite, marble etc. A beautiful alternative to a traditional hotel or Motel at the beach and priced for less.... hard to believe! Did I mention Free WiFi too

Room Tip: Best rooms are Ocean front units ending in 1,8,9 and Ocean view Large units rooms numbers ending in 9,10, 11,13, but all units have great views! 3rd level ends are quiet and offer great views up and down the beach. Small is very small
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank FullMoonVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Stayed during Greyhound and Sidewalk Sales week. Hotel was full, but everyone was quiet and slept quite well. The room was clean and the view of the sun coming up over the ocean is beautiful beyond words.
The only problem we encountered was parking. We had a hard time finding a space, but waitied until everyone else went for dinner and then could park.
We did have to pay at checkin, but that really didn't bother us to do so. I will return to The Surf Club again, as we had a very comfortable visit.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandy147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews