We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible experience..!”
Review of Port - Dewey Beach - CLOSED

Port - Dewey Beach
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Pennsville, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“terrible experience..!”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Myself and 4 girlfriends tried Port on a Saturday evening. We arrived at 5:15 only to find the doors locked. The sign read that it opened at 5pm. As we walked away someone came and opend the door and invited us in. We took a seat at the bar where our bartender Mitch was clearly annoyed that we interrupted him setting up. A friend suggested we try the Blackberry Martini. When we asked about it Mitch told us they were out of Blackberry even though it was advertised on a sign behind him. After we ordered drinks and appys he continued to go to the other end of the bar and gossip about us to the waitstaff who were sitting around eating shrimp scampi. Everytime one of us tried to engage Mitch in conversation he rudely brushed us off as if we were a bother. We ordered Crab Bruschetta which was very tasty and Pork Spring Rolls. They were very small and resembled pigs-in-a-blanket. When Mitch asked how everything was one of the girls told him the drinks and Bruschietta were delish but the Spring Rolls kind of tasted like hot dogs. Right away she told him not to take them off the check, we ate them and she just wanted to let him know. Well, Mitch said, and I quote "I call Bull$#&$". Then proceded to order HIS OWN plate of Spring Rolls to prove to us there were no hot dogs in them. Two of our group got up and walked out. I have waitress and managed a very popular restaurant in Wilmington and I can not believe the way we were treated by Mitch who is also the manager. He made no apologies and continued to talk about us as if we weren't there while I scrambled to pay the check and catch up with our group. This could have totally ruined our evening if not for the next stop we made where the place was full of happy, beach friendly people. The whole vibe was entirely different from the dark, somber Port. I give this place a year, maybe two before Mitch is back at Domino's

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank BexyJo69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DeweySquirrel, Manager at Port - Dewey Beach, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Accuracy of your comments are incorrect. It was referred to as Fried Bologna not Hot Dogs. Comments from intoxicated customers usually associated w. day drinking in Dewey Beach are always amusing. Yes we were out of Black Berries, so sorry for the inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    31
    8
    11
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Annandale, VA
Level Contributor
137 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Good Place to Eat”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

It was a Tuesday night, so there wasn't much of crowd. We had the fish special and found the meal to be quite good and reasonable. This is a definite keeper.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ibyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent Meal”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We tried this restaurant on a recommendation from a sweet couple leaving the restaurant. The meals and drinks were perfect. I had the Pad Thai with shrimp and chicken. It was scrumptious. My husband had the fish of the day with potatoes and broccoli. We cannot complete the freshness and taste enough. We were surprised we enjoyed it this much. We will be back. The waitstaff was attentive and gracious.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Millsboro, Delaware
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Worst experience ever and have dined all over the world”
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Our pad Thai was sub par missing key ingredients like peanuts and cilantro which the restaurant is known for apparently they do not know good pad Thai I had a gifft certificate that excluded the pad Thai special but according to our calculations we would pay full price for only one dish. When our bill came we question the bill.the wait person sent the manager to our table without us asking for the manager.He berated us in a hostile manner and told us to read the certificate before buying it next time. Our you serious is this anyway to treat customers? We are three local professionals. One of us owns her own business and were stunned by the way we were berratted by this owner.We did not even ask him to come to our table. That was no way to treat three nice ladies. Steer clear of this restaurant sub par food and an owner who needs to attend anger management classes. Or just get some class.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
7 Thank REDDEBNURSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice find in Dewey Beach”
Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

Our innkeeper in Rehoboth Beach recommended the Port restaurant three years ago, and we have been going each of those past years. It's a short and enjoyable trolley ride from Rehoboth and well worth the trip. I usually have the fish, but this year tried the Pad Thai, which both my wife and daughter also enjoyed. Absolutely delicious (we stayed with spice level 3, which is on the milder side). The range goes all the way to 10, for those who love the dish much spicier. Thai spring rolls for our appetizer and banana foster for dessert, made for a great meal. Service was great and our waiter actually opened the door for us upon our leaving. A really nice restaurant as an alternative from the crowded Rehoboth Beach scene.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KportCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Port - Dewey Beach also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing