We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“fun atmosphere, great with kids” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nalu Hawaiian Surf Bar & Grille

Nalu Hawaiian Surf Bar & Grille
Ranked #3 of 43 Restaurants in Dewey Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, Hawaiian, American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
53 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“fun atmosphere, great with kids”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Great place to bring kids. Our table was next to the open window which gave it the beachy touch. We had the cheese quesadilla appetizer which was yummy even though I didn't fully read the menu and it came with peppers on it. I had the chicken teriyaki entrée with the mac and cheese and whipped potato sides which was delicious. My husband had a hamburger topped with crab dip and it was huge! He said it was good as well. The server and hostess were both very friendly and attentive. Definitely would go back next time we are in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sharon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    96
    34
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Great vibe and food/drinks!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Came in around 10pm on a Friday night with 13 girls and had a great table within 20 minutes! There was a live band who was pretty good. Food was delish (Crab cake sandwich!) and service was great. Would recommend!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank abstravel49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
126 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Love the Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Not cheap, but good. Drinks are tasty, as is the food. Service was fine. Décor works; recall surf films.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank PeterNMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Delaware
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing chef Jason! Half price nachos. Gluten free options. The end.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We have eaten here before. It's not fussy but the food is great. It's a fun place to go with kids. They have some great happy hour specials including the half priced nachos. These will easily feed three people. I live the Ahi Poke - raw tuna, mango, avacado and more with gluten free lotus chips. If you have never tried lotus chips they are delicious. They are made of a root, sliced thin and fried. They taste like a potatoe chip.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PattiDisneyPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, VA
Level Contributor
126 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Great Lunch Special”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013

We ate lunch at Nalu on Wednesday with the half price sandwich special. My fish sandwich with their fries was very good. My wife needed a salad with some accommodation to her food sensitivities. The waitress sent out the chef who listened and promised to prepare her salad as she needed. He even returned to check on an ingredient. The salad was fine, and we both enjoyed the meal. That night the chef saw us in town and asked how the meal was--he recognized us and bothered to check. We almost ate there again, but decided to give another restaurant a try. They also have a nice selection of beer on tap, including Longboard Lager.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ibyke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nalu Hawaiian Surf Bar & Grille also viewed

 

Been to Nalu Hawaiian Surf Bar & Grille? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing