We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Motel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Dewey Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Springfield, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
144 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Great Motel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2012

If you decide to visit Dewey Beach, DE...I strongly recommend The Bay Resort. It is a great motel, the staff is friendly and more than helpful. The room was immaculate and most rooms have a small kitchenette, there is also coffee available in the office all day long. I stayed on the poolside, which was fine but I'm sorry I didn't spend the few extra dollars to be on the bay side which appeared to be much more quieter. The motel is off the main road and much quieter at night. This is a hidden treasure in Dewey Beach as you have to look a little bit to find it...you won't see it from the main road driving through Dewey Beach but its well worth the easy search to find it.

Room Tip: If you are looking for a view, go bay side and pay the extra $$...however if you have children pools...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FunPlacesToCheckOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    124
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
214
187
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sumter, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2012

Driving up to The Bay Resort, I was kind of skeptical.. but this was an awesome place to stay. Beautiful view of the bay, large swimming pool with plenty of seating. Outdoor seating area and dock to step out on. Kitchenette for people on a budget. clean rooms!

just across the street from the beach and plenty of places to eat within walking distance.. I will definitively be back!

Room Tip: room 201 had a great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lauren R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

The Bay Resort was excellent!! Very clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly. We has a third floor bay view that was beautiful. It is walking distance to everything!! Very comfortable beds too!!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank scgomola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, Netherlands
Level Contributor
40 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights and loved it. Our efficiency was on the 3rd floor with a bay view - superb! The staff are very friendly and the efficiency (we had 2 x queen beds) was a good size. The building itself is not an architectural wonder but once you are in your room you can enjoy the superb bay view.
The only minor point is that the balcony is bit small and you cannot switch the balcony light off at night. There is ample parking and the location is excellent - just a short walk to the beach. I have one major complaint (at myself) - stay longer next time!

Room Tip: the bay view is superb so I would choose a room on the bay side (3rd floor)
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ZARDelft_Netherlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, PA
Level Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

This was my family's first trip to The Bay Resort, as well as to Dewey Beach. We really loved this place. The people at the front desk were fantastic to deal with, the room was very clean, the view of the bay was beautiful, and the pool was the perfect temperature every time! I would definitely stay here again, and will recommend it to friends and family. We hope to visit Dewey Beach again soon - we just loved it!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beachy13143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maygon
Level Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is what I would like to be able to say is an average beach motel. Unfortunately so many have gotten so dirty and disgusting. The furniture is the average out dated, run down beach furniture. However it was all very clean! The front desk staff was out-of-their-way nice! It was pretty waking up every morning and looking right out to the bay. I would be curious to see a few other places in Dewey for a fair comparison but,saying that, i would also feel comfortable recommending The Bay Resort to anyone looking for a place in Dewey. We liked the town so much that next time we MAY rent a house and stay longer.

Room Tip: We were on the bay side first floor, in my opinion the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maygon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, Delaware
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We just stayed at the Bay Resort for 2 days, a last minute trip decision. If you have been to Dewey, you know it's a party town. I was worried about renting a hotel room, but once we checked in we were thrilled. It was very clean and nice. Cleanliness is the most important factor for us. I am a bit of a clean freak and we take our own blankets when we stay somewhere. The Bay Resort did not disappoint. For the rate we paid, it was quite a deal. I will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cld1450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dewey Beach
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 12 in Dewey Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#2 of 12 in Dewey Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Avenue Inn & Spa
Avenue Inn & Spa
#2 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,834 reviews
1.7 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 750 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Resort

Property: The Bay Resort
Address: 126 Bellevue St, Dewey Beach, DE 19971-3202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Dewey Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dewey Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Dewey Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Bay Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Hotel Dewey Beach
Bay Resort Dewey Beach
Bay Hotel Dewey Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing