We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good clean family fun” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bay Resort
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Dewey Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Maygon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good clean family fun”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is what I would like to be able to say is an average beach motel. Unfortunately so many have gotten so dirty and disgusting. The furniture is the average out dated, run down beach furniture. However it was all very clean! The front desk staff was out-of-their-way nice! It was pretty waking up every morning and looking right out to the bay. I would be curious to see a few other places in Dewey for a fair comparison but,saying that, i would also feel comfortable recommending The Bay Resort to anyone looking for a place in Dewey. We liked the town so much that next time we MAY rent a house and stay longer.

Room Tip: We were on the bay side first floor, in my opinion the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maygon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    339
    118
    18
    2
    2
See reviews for
203
167
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hockessin, Delaware
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

We just stayed at the Bay Resort for 2 days, a last minute trip decision. If you have been to Dewey, you know it's a party town. I was worried about renting a hotel room, but once we checked in we were thrilled. It was very clean and nice. Cleanliness is the most important factor for us. I am a bit of a clean freak and we take our own blankets when we stay somewhere. The Bay Resort did not disappoint. For the rate we paid, it was quite a deal. I will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cld1450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

Stayed Sunday through Friday in a second floor room with a view of the bay. The sunsets were great. We sat on the balcony quite a bit. Since it was just me and my husband the room was a good size. I think the bathroom would be a little small for more than two people. The location was good, within walking distance of everything there is to see in Dewey. The beach is just two blocks away, not far at all. The best review I can give is to say I would stay there again without a doubt.

Room Tip: Families with kids might like the pool side rooms best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank atdgtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lehigh Valley
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

We just got back from 4 days and 3 nights at the Bay Resort in Dewey Beach. We had a great time, the room was clean, the little kitchenette was well equipped, and the staff was fantastic! We like the option of making our own meals, so we stopped at a farm stand on the way down to load up on fresh fruits and veggies and found a great seafood market, we were eating gourmet all the way. The beach was a walk away and we kayaked out the back of the motel. This is a family friendly place, I hear it can get rowdy at times but when we were there it was very peaceful. We will be back!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JeanBikes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

We love this property for our visit to Dewey. I wish they had some sort of suite for more room but overall this property is clean and convenient. Our second year there and we plan to visit in the fall with a few couples!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hockessin, delaware
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

We have been staying @ this motel for years.
Once again it was a great stay.
Rooms were fresh & very clean. The staff was helpful & friendly.
We had a pool view, but the bays view is also nice.
It is in walking to the ocean. We would do the pool first...then walk to the beach & return to relax at the pool again.

Great trip
And they have Wi-Fi!

Room Tip: Check out is @ 10, but they will let you stay & use the pool & facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank buzz_wendy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomsburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This was my families first vacation with our two young children, and I am so glad I picked this hotel. Very clean, staff was super friendly and helpful. The outside of the hotel was very well kept and clean, and the view of the bay was beautiful. Only a few minute walk to the beach and places to eat, and between 5-10 minute drive to grocery stores/outlets. We will be back!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caitlin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dewey Beach
0.3 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 12 in Dewey Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 631 reviews
0.3 mi away
Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
1.7 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 1,329 reviews
4.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#7 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 525 reviews
10.9 mi away
Bethany Beach Ocean Suites Residence Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bay Resort

Property: The Bay Resort
Address: 126 Bellevue St, Dewey Beach, DE 19971-3202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Dewey Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Dewey Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dewey Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Bay Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your The Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bay Hotel Dewey Beach
Bay Resort Dewey Beach
Bay Hotel Dewey Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing