We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent jumping off point for all Dewey Beach activities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Atlantic Oceanside Dewey Beach Resort
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Dewey Beach
Wilmington, Delaware
Level 5 Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent jumping off point for all Dewey Beach activities”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Atlantic Oceanside Motel with some friends as a last trip to the beaches this year. In our opinion, when affordability, location (whether you are there for the beach or the nightlife), and quality are calculated in, the motel was a great choice and we would definitely go back.

The cost was very affordable, especially considering the location. There will be an additional cost (it was $10 per person, per night for us) if there are more than two staying in a room.

The location is right on Rt 1. in the heart of Dewey Beach. It is one block from the beach. It is also a very easy walk to all of the best known bars and restaurants in Dewey. Of course, it is a 2 minute walk to the closest Jolley Trolly stop that will take you into Rehoboth.

The motel itself is a typical open air walkway, older, beach hotel. However, it is well maintained by an attentive and friendly staff. There is a small pool area that is well maintained. There is also a large second floor balcony with tables and chairs overlooking the main drag through town. The rooms are slightly dated with a tube TV and a refrigerator in every room (two beds or one king are available). The bathroom is small, dated but functional. More importantly it was clean.

So overall, we were pleased with our stay. The 4 star rating is relative to the fact that it is a Dewey Beach hotel without the expectation of luxury. It was clean, convenient, and affordable with a nice staff. We plan on returning and recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    43
    30
    8
    13
See reviews for
52
44
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Staff was very friendly, Room was decent size, clean and had the basics.. 2 beds tv fridge and microwave... clean swimming pool and nice deck area... cleaning staff and office staff were very friendly. very short walk to the beach and close to everything...
only complaint is that the water pressure wasnt great in the shower,,, temperature kept fluctuating,,,,


tv was older box model but worked just fine,,,, some of the rooms had been updated with flat screens though... More channels to watch woudl be a great addition though

We plan to stay here when we come back next year!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mzsexi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
phoenixville, pa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 10, 2013

typical motel room one block from the beach. jolly trolly stop one block away. we stayed on the 3rd floor which was quieter than the bottom level. pool opened early in the morning and closed at 9pm. the only downfall was parking. the lot was almost always full and people parked badly and the TV's were really old and the picture was bad. other than that I would recommend this hotel for the price to be so close to the beach....

Room Tip: 3rd floor was great. it was a pain carrying all your baggage up the steps, but well worth it. less n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jibberjabber2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toledo, Ohio
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Location is great ...close to the beach and the shuttle to Rehoboth.. clean & neat.... nice pool ... great price...... friendly staff .... would have given 4 stars but TV was 18-20".. not up to par for today's standards if TV is important to you... Would stay again ...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cafmf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shippensburg, Pennsylvania, United States
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed July 31, 2013

My parents are currently staying here right now as I speak. And, I feel rightfully so to give a very great review of this fine establishment since my parents took my sister and I here throughout our teenage years. This is the best place to stay within the Dewey Beach and Rehoboth Beach Area. It is the most affordable and cost-effective. It is also the nicest and directly in front of the beach. Growing up at this resort, I can only say positive comments about this place. It is just a short drive from the Rehoboth Beach Boardwalk and Rehoboth Beach Tanger Shopping Outlets. Dewey Beach is the best beach to stay at throughout the 5 possible beaches (Rehoboth/Dewey/Bethany/Fenwick Island/Ocean City). And, Atlantic Oceanside is the best place to stay at Dewey Beach!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jake C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Philadelphia, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013

After arriving in Dewey and having a terrible experience at the local hotel we initially booked, we were left with last minute searching,the manager Karen was wonderful, she gave us a great rate, and was very understanding. The motel was very family friendly, clean, and the staff was very nice! We will stay again any time!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank harleydoodle22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermitage, Pennsylvania, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Me and my family stayed in room 310 and we were three stories up from the pool and the water was like 6 feet and they jumped some drunk college kid did a belly flop . It was very close to the beach . I loved it . Extremely Clean Ocean . Grotto Pizza was amazing to !!!

Room Tip: Choose 110 210 or room 310
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jewel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic M, Manager at The Atlantic Oceanside Dewey Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2013
Thank you for the positive review. While we do not allow balcony jumping at our motel, it has happened. And we all enjoy a good belly flop from time to time. Hope to see again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dewey Beach
0.1 mi away
Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 13 in Dewey Beach
927 reviews
0.2 mi away
Gold Leaf Hotel
Gold Leaf Hotel
#5 of 13 in Dewey Beach
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
846 reviews
0.3 mi away
Atlantic View Hotel
Atlantic View Hotel
#2 of 13 in Dewey Beach
419 reviews
1.7 mi away
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conference Center
Atlantic Sands Hotel & Conferenc...
#15 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Atlantic Oceanside Dewey Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Atlantic Oceanside Dewey Beach Resort

Property: The Atlantic Oceanside Dewey Beach Resort
Address: 1700 Coastal Hwy, Corner of McKinley & Coastal Highway, Dewey Beach, DE 19971-2333
Location: United States > Delaware > Dewey Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Dewey Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Atlantic Oceanside Dewey Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small beach motel located in the heart of Dewey Beach, Delaware. Walk half block to Delaware's award winning beaches. Park your car when you check in, you will not need it! Walking distance to bay water sports, beaches, restaurants, shopping, nightlife, trolley, Rehoboth boardwalk and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your The Atlantic Oceanside Dewey Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Dewey Beach
Atlantic Oceanside Dewey Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing