We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run do not walk from this Hole!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Atlantic Oceanside Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dewey Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantic Oceanside Motel
Save
You added Atlantic Oceanside Motel to your Saves list
1700 Highway 1, Corner of McKinley & Hwy One, Dewey Beach, DE 19971   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Dewey Beach
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Run do not walk from this Hole!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Went down there over the weekend for a baseball tournament with the kids, had the unfortunate luck of booking into this hotel, now i know Dewey is a party town but if you are renting rooms at 225 a night please have hot water to shower in and a bed one would want to put there head down for the night. The smell of some sort of pesticide sprayed each day into the room would kill an elephant. I wondered what exactly they where trying to keep down here. there where fights on the balcony of the hotel nightly and everyone was very nervous and had really no option to leave as there where no hotels at such short notice. One of the parents spent 450$ to sleep in his car, he could not take the sneezing and the overall dirt of the place, so if you are not 21 and wasted runk from dusk till dawn this hotel should be avoided at all costs, you will regret it. Oh and there is a club across the street that places live music into the open air till the small hours of the morning every night so forget it if you are a light sleeper. there is no fitness center here either. Just a complete waste of time and money if you stay here.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JohnnyirelandNyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic M, Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Motel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Dear valued guest, We are very disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay. Dewey Beach is a very active summer town and we cannot always predict the behavior of guests. We do have security guards on duty at night and rules for behavior posted in the rooms for guests. We are very sorry if you were disturbed by other guests' behavior during your stay. As for the pesticide, we do have a regular pesticide treatment schedule, we are very sorry if the smell negatively affected your stay with us. We do hope that you give Dewey Beach another try, we have just been rated one of the cleanest beaches! Thank you for your time, the Management Team at the Atlantic Oceanside Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    38
    25
    8
    10
See reviews for
46
38
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Altoona, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I return year after year and have never had any complaints. The staff is helpful, the place is clean and for the location it is a steal! I always have tons of questions and the staff is always quick to email back or call. The place is so clean that while there 2 weeks ago I tipped a cooler over and spilled a few cups of water on the carpet. I grabbed the first thing I saw which was a white beach towel. After stepping on it to get the water up I picked up the towel and expected it to be dirty. When looked at it you could not even tell where it picked up the water, it was so clean. Very impressive! It looks like they also painted the rooms and replaced the tv's in the rooms recently as well. The pool is clean and a comfortable temperature. I love sitting on the deck at night and people watching. The beach is just around the corner, probably a 5 minute walk and you do not have to cross the busy road.

Just an FYI, I believe they allow dogs in the off season. I have severe allergies and have NEVER had an issue. No smells, stains or fur at all.

The only negatives that I can think of is no elevator, the only ice machine that we could get to work was on the first floor, and during busy times the parking lot is a little tight. None of these things would ever keep me from coming back.

I love this place and have been coming here since I was little. I will be back next year!! Can not wait!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank PAGAL84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic M, Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Motel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive review! We appreciate you as a customer taking the time to write a review. We hope to see you again soon at the beach! The Management Team at the Atlantic Oceanside Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My husband and myself along with our two kids booked this hotel last minute for 4th of July. We got it for such a inexpensive rate we weren't sure what to expect. We saw the photos online but because we have paid three times the price in OC in the past I thought for sure it was going to be awful. It was awesome for the price. The room was clean the pool was nice and the staff was sufficient . I liked the upper deck and it was walking distance to the beach. I would highly recommend this Motel to friends. There were of course people who partied but it wasn't out of hand or crazy especially for a holiday. The location was perfect. I'm going to go back for a get away with the hubby!

Room Tip: 1st floor rooms are next to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Trippleog1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic M, Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Motel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for responding to your stay and taking the time to write a positive review! We value you as a customer and hope you will return to the beach soon! The Management Team at the Atlantic Oceanside Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

We booked our trip here 3 days in advance and were able to find a room for just under $100 during 4th of July week. That in itself is amazing. The staff was friendly and really accommodating. We arrived and were let into our room at 11 am (note check in is not until 3 PM). We didn't expect to be given our room so early but thought we'd check and it worked out. Even if the room wasn't ready they were going to let us park there all day and call our cell when the room did become available.

We parked there until 3 PM on check out day (check out is at 11 am) and had one last great day on the beach. The only complaint I have is that the beds are a little thin and could use updating. We could feel the coils on our backs, but it wasn't terrible, just a little noticeable. There was a lot of party noise outside but not much of it made it into our room. We turned the A/C fan on high and fell right to sleep.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BR1SK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic M, Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Motel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you for taking your time to write a positive review! We appreciate you as a valued customer and hope to see you again soon! The Management team at the Atlantic Oceanside Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed here for 3 years now. It's a little pricey for what you get, but its also a beach town in season. For a place to sleep and shower...well its great. The pool is okay, and the rooms are small. The best part is the location. Its exactly where you want to stay. Staff barely speaks English and a night guard enforces quiet. The rooms arent too clean (I found a roach). It reminds me of my college dorm!!!!

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic M, Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Motel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you very much for your positive review! We hope to see you again for your next beach visit!
The management team at the Atlantic Oceanside Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinsburg, West Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2012

We just got back from Dewey Beach.We really enjoyed our stay at the motel.The rooms were very clean. The pool was well kept and the staff was extremely friendly. We also enjoyed the short walk to the beach. We will definately be returning!!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank parker1220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic M, Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Motel, responded to this review, August 2, 2012
Thank you so much for your positive review! We appreciate good customers like you and hope to see you again soon! The management team at the Atlantic Oceanside Motel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
95 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Great value, great location, very clean room, helpful staff and they allow dogs until June 15th. It doesn't get any better than that! Will definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MarylandJules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic M, Manager at Atlantic Oceanside Motel, responded to this review, June 11, 2012
Dear MarylandJules, Thank you for your positive review of your stay with us! We are thrilled that you enjoyed yourself in Dewey Beach this June and look forward to providing accommodations for you again! The Atlantic Oceanside Motel Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dewey Beach
0.1 mi away
Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
0.2 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#2 of 12 in Dewey Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 523 reviews
3.2 mi away
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehoboth Beach
AmericInn Lodge & Suites Rehobot...
#15 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf
BEST WESTERN Gold Leaf
#17 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
1.8 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 28 in Rehoboth Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 673 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beach House Dewey
Beach House Dewey
#4 of 12 in Dewey Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oceanside Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oceanside Motel

Property: Atlantic Oceanside Motel
Address: 1700 Highway 1, Corner of McKinley & Hwy One, Dewey Beach, DE 19971
Location: United States > Delaware > Dewey Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Dewey Beach
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small beach motel located in the heart of Dewey Beach, Delaware. Walk 1 block to Delaware's award winning beaches. Park your car when you check in, you will not need it! Walking distance to bay water sports, beaches, restaurants, shopping, nightlife, trolley, Rehoboth boardwalk and more! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel Dewey Beach
Atlantic Oceanside Dewey Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing