We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Really fun! Especially with the time period characters!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Delaware State Park

Fort Delaware State Park
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Really fun! Especially with the time period characters!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

Well maintained and well run! A treasure of information and time period history.

Helpful?
Thank rchriste170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    33
    13
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Macungie, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
327 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Good and bad”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2012

Very education and interesting place to visit. Staff is friendly and willing to answer any questions. The bad is the walk from the ferry to the jitney that takes you to the fort is about .5 miles so if you need help walking this can be a problem. Also the website says there is food service on the island but when you buy your ticket you find out the isn't any on the island anymore and there is no place close to go buy something if your ferry is leaving in 15 minutes. Wouldn't go back

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Grayhare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great Civil War site - definitely worth the trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

My husband and I live in DE , and except for a school trip eons ago, had never visited this local gem. Soooo glad we made the trip! We have visited many Civil War sites, and this is definitely at the top of our list now! We went there on Memorial Day, and was not overcrowded. I would definitely suggest comfortable walking shoes. We did not have bug spray and the bugs weren't unbearable ,but a bit pesky, so bug spray would be a plus. The Fort has lots of rooms restored, and you are given pretty much free reign to walk around and check things out. The best part is that they have re-enactors in period attire, and in "character" that do a fantastic job of talking about the experiences of those that worked and were held prisoneer there, and will answer all questions. They have a working blacksmith shop and have nail-making demonstrations, as well as muskretry demonstrations in the courtyard, and lots of interactions between the "Sargent" and kids that he gets to "volunteer" to be put through the paces.
All in all they have done a great job with creating an interesting, educational and fun experience!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Karla A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delaware
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Historic treasure on the Delaware!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2012

An amazing historic treasure easily accessible from Pa, NJ, MD and of course, Delaware. Make sure to check out living history events! We've visited many many times over the years and it just keeps getting better. Bring bug repellant and wear comfortable walking shoes.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank roadtripper3739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Delaware
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Go in May. Avoid the crowds and mosquitoes.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012 via mobile

We went late in the afternoon on opening day. Loved the park, ferry, and history. Got our money's worth. Great for adults, just OK for children.

Helpful?
1 Thank Acmatthews1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Delaware State Park also viewed

 

Been to Fort Delaware State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing