We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean, quiet and reasonably good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Wilmington North
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Claymont
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Rooms are nice, quiet and clean. Beds are comfortable. However, service and staff friendliness requires more work to make guests feel comfortable and at home. If going for a short business trip its a good hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank banerjee_p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Banerjee_p,

Thank you for your feedback. I'm so glad you found the hotel to be clean and comfortable. We are always working on improving our guest relationships. We hope that on your next visit to the area, you choose to stay with us. I sure you will see a marked improvement in our customer service.
Please feel free to contact me at any time to discuss any challenges you may have had during your stay.

Respectfully,

Jeff
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (216)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

165 - 171 of 216 reviews

Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stay here frequently and the rooms are very nice. The entire room was thoroughly cleaned before we checked in, even the air filters in the heating unit! The beds are comfortable and the front desk staff is very friendly and helpful. Our only complaint is the lack of service at breakfast in the dining room. The buffet is $13 unless you have a voucher so one would expect someone to offer coffee or a glass of water to go with your meal. We have always had to search out a server to ask for coffee or water and then wait and hope it arrives before we are finished eating. Mind you, every time we have been in the dining room it has not been busy but the three or more servers always take their time getting to you. There is rarely anyone to collect our voucher when we walk out so I wonder how many people walk out without paying? We were pleasantly surprised this morning by Mary who was immediately at our table and promptly brought us coffee and water. She checked back three or four times to be sure we had everything we needed and even told my husband when his toast popped up! The other servers would do well to watch and learn from her!

Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
Thank swak515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

swak515,

Thank you for your feedback. it is our policy to review all guest feedback and implement changes to improve on a weekly basis. We hope on your next visit to the area, you will stay with us and see measured improvement in the restaurant area.

Respectfully,

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

I made a short stay here for a business conference recently. The staff here was superb: courteous shuttle driver from/to PHL, an unexpected upgrade after about a 10-minute wait for my room (I arrived about 1 PM, ahead of normal check-in) and a waitress (Mary) who seemingly doubled as a concierge with local knowledge of the area.
My room was quiet, clean and offered a great value......I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dwssjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

dwssjs,

Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I have passed on your kind words to Mary in the restaurant. Hope to see you the next time you're in the area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here 1 night on a trip that we recently had taken to the east coast. Our room was clean, quiet and the bed was comfortable. The staff was friendly and courteous However, one minor downside is it is in the middle of a business area and not close to any restaurants. The closest major restaurants are about 4 miles away (with many traffic lights to get through). While certainly drivable, it would have been nice if there was a restaurant that was with in walking distance, especially after an 8+ hour drive. But with that said, it was still an OK stay and I would possibly consider going there again if I was driving through the area.

Room Tip: As always, I always choose a high floor as they tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrwamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

mrwamw,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We do strive to give every guest the very best experience we can offer. Next time your in town, try our hotel restaurant "Embers". Most of our guests have given it rave reviews. We hope to see you soon.

Respectfully,

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great clean room. Was already cool when I arrived. Staff had turned on air and a lamp ahead of my arrival, and it was pleasant. The room was clean and beds comfortable. Flat screen tv was easy to use with the newer lodge net controls, similar to any cable box or satellite menu. Desk chair was pretty comfortable as well, I wound up using that for close to two hours! In all another great stay.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2013

Eric B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you on your next visit to the Wilmington area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We went to Longwood Gardens (Brandywine Valley) and then to visit friends in Claymont, DE (15 minutes or so, depending on traffic). We weren't travelling on I-95 but the entrance/exit is right next to the hotel. Modern and Clean -- actually, everything looks new. Our king bed was very comfortable and the shower was glorious (massaging shower-head w/great water pressure). We did not eat at the restaurant because we had other plans, but it looked nice.

Room Tip: Our 6th floor room was very quiet; we definitely weren't facing I-95.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeannemoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this reviewResponded May 17, 2013

jeannemoss,

Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Wilmington North and longwood Gardens. we hope to see you on your next visit to the area.

Respectfully,

Jeffrey F., GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was by far the best hotel I've stayed at over the past year. Yes, the lobby looks great, but more importantly, the staff in the lobby provided great service - friendly and proactively helpful. Room was clean and comfortable and I actually had hot water in the morning - no small achievement! Many many hotels are unable to do that consistently. I ordered dinner from room service; it was delivered promptly and was quite good. The room service server deserves special recognition - she was friendly, warm and anticipated my needs. I didn't have to ask for anything (sugar for tea, salad dressing). Didn't catch her name unfortunately.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Susan M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed our renovations and the customer service we offer. We hope to see you on your next trip to the area.

Respectfully,

Jeff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claymont
5.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
5.1 mi away
SureStay Plus Hotel by Best Western Brandywine Valley
5.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Staybridge Suites Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
6.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chadds Ford
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Wilmington North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Wilmington North

Address: 630 Naamans Rd, Claymont, DE 19703-2310 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select Wilmington - Brandywine)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Claymont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Claymont
Price Range: $107 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Wilmington North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting spacious rooms with deluxe bedding and free Wi-Fi, plus full-service amenities including a restaurant and lounge, the Crowne Plaza Wilmington North provides guests with the complete package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Wilmington North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Wilmington - Brandywine Hotel Claymont
Holiday Inn Claymont
Claymont Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing