We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superior Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Wilmington North

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Crowne Plaza Wilmington North
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Claymont
Pittsboro, NC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Superior Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

I made a short stay here for a business conference recently. The staff here was superb: courteous shuttle driver from/to PHL, an unexpected upgrade after about a 10-minute wait for my room (I arrived about 1 PM, ahead of normal check-in) and a waitress (Mary) who seemingly doubled as a concierge with local knowledge of the area.
My room was quiet, clean and offered a great value......I'd stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dwssjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
dwssjs,

Thank you for your kind review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay. I have passed on your kind words to Mary in the restaurant. Hope to see you the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    55
    54
    14
    17
See reviews for
51
33
10
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
105 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed here 1 night on a trip that we recently had taken to the east coast. Our room was clean, quiet and the bed was comfortable. The staff was friendly and courteous However, one minor downside is it is in the middle of a business area and not close to any restaurants. The closest major restaurants are about 4 miles away (with many traffic lights to get through). While certainly drivable, it would have been nice if there was a restaurant that was with in walking distance, especially after an 8+ hour drive. But with that said, it was still an OK stay and I would possibly consider going there again if I was driving through the area.

Room Tip: As always, I always choose a high floor as they tend to be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrwamw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
mrwamw,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We do strive to give every guest the very best experience we can offer. Next time your in town, try our hotel restaurant "Embers". Most of our guests have given it rave reviews. We hope to see you soon.

Respectfully,

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Great clean room. Was already cool when I arrived. Staff had turned on air and a lamp ahead of my arrival, and it was pleasant. The room was clean and beds comfortable. Flat screen tv was easy to use with the newer lodge net controls, similar to any cable box or satellite menu. Desk chair was pretty comfortable as well, I wound up using that for close to two hours! In all another great stay.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Eric B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Eric B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you on your next visit to the Wilmington area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrysville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

We went to Longwood Gardens (Brandywine Valley) and then to visit friends in Claymont, DE (15 minutes or so, depending on traffic). We weren't travelling on I-95 but the entrance/exit is right next to the hotel. Modern and Clean -- actually, everything looks new. Our king bed was very comfortable and the shower was glorious (massaging shower-head w/great water pressure). We did not eat at the restaurant because we had other plans, but it looked nice.

Room Tip: Our 6th floor room was very quiet; we definitely weren't facing I-95.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jeannemoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review, May 17, 2013
jeannemoss,

Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the Crowne Plaza Wilmington North and longwood Gardens. we hope to see you on your next visit to the area.

Respectfully,

Jeffrey F., GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

This was by far the best hotel I've stayed at over the past year. Yes, the lobby looks great, but more importantly, the staff in the lobby provided great service - friendly and proactively helpful. Room was clean and comfortable and I actually had hot water in the morning - no small achievement! Many many hotels are unable to do that consistently. I ordered dinner from room service; it was delivered promptly and was quite good. The room service server deserves special recognition - she was friendly, warm and anticipated my needs. I didn't have to ask for anything (sugar for tea, salad dressing). Didn't catch her name unfortunately.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Susan M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed our renovations and the customer service we offer. We hope to see you on your next trip to the area.

Respectfully,

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We booked 4 rooms at the Crowne Plaza for a family gathering. The staff was very helpful - especially Joe & Shadae at the front desk. The rooms are beautifully appointed, spotlessly clean, and comfortable. Their on-site restaurant serves delicious food and the "Maryland style" crab soup is the best I have ever eaten!! It is worth the trip just to have a bowl of this delicious soup!
The full buffet breakfast was also outstanding - with eggs "cooked-to-order" at your request. There is also a complete "business" center, workout room, ballroom 7 meeting rooms, and an outdoor pool - nothing has been overlooked!
If you're looking for a place to stay - near Wilmington, close to I-95, and near the Delaware Vally attractions & Philadelphia, don't overlook this "gem". It will, we're sure, exceed your expectations!!

Room Tip: There is one suite on each floor with floors 6 & 7 designated as the "Executive Floors"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhodants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Rhodants,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We appreciate all of your wonderful feedback.
Joe and Shardaes performance will be recognized at the next employee meeting.

Hope to see you soon

Respectfully,

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Love the renovations, front desk staff attentive, will certainly visit again! Perfect location for a trip to Philadelphia or Downtown Wilmington, convenient access to 95 and local shopping. My room was clean and comfortable,

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Melissa A,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad you enjoyed our newly renovated hotel. We look forward to seeing you during your next visit to the area.

Respectfully,

Jeffrey F.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claymont
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
7.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
4.9 mi away
Inn at Wilmington
Inn at Wilmington
#6 of 12 in Wilmington
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.0 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
6.8 mi away
Hotel du Pont
Hotel du Pont
#4 of 12 in Wilmington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 430 reviews
6.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Philadelphia Airport South at Widener University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Wilmington North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Wilmington North

Property: Crowne Plaza Wilmington North
Address: 630 Naamans Rd, Claymont, DE 19703 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select Wilmington - Brandywine)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Claymont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Claymont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Wilmington North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting spacious rooms with deluxe bedding and free Wi-Fi, plus full-service amenities including a restaurant and lounge, the Crowne Plaza Wilmington North provides guests with the complete package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Crowne Plaza Wilmington North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Wilmington - Brandywine Hotel Claymont
Holiday Inn Claymont
Claymont Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing