We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Dirty Dirty! ~”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Wilmington North
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Claymont
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dirty Dirty Dirty! ~”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

This hotel is one of the most nasty places I have stayed. For this to be a Crown Plaza is a shock the hotel would be this dirty. The carpets in the room were NASTY all the way from the door to the window. The bedspreads on BOTH beds have stains all on them. Ordered room service after a five hour drive in and the food arrived ICE COLD!! I will never stay at the place again! Could not even check out early as the hotel will charge fee's if you leave early!! They should pay you to stay here!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JBear211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Dear JBear211,

Thank you for staying with us. Our hotel is very proud of its level of service, cleanliness and quality of its product and for this reason your comments are very troubling and will certainly be looked into. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    59
    55
    21
    19
See reviews for
59
35
10
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

I have been to this hotel a few times with my husband both when it was a Holiday Inn and during the transition. He stays here each time he is in Deleware. They gave done a really nice job with the updating. The lobby is beautiful.. Love the fire feature!! The bar area is nice, but yuck take down the curtains!! Its so modern do some bamboo blinds or something!! Heavy curtains are like wall paper in hotels , nasty. Didnt "fit"with the theme!! Bar tender was sweet ! We ate at Harrys so we didnt eat dinner there. Rooms are nice andcommon areas are done well! Internet at business center was really slow.... I had breakfast ,as my husband was at a meeting and the food was basic but filling. I did go down to the pool area and the pool looks like they tried to paint it but maybe filled it up before paint dry?? Peeling, well I am sure they will fix this before filling next year, waste of water to drain it. All in all I think they have done a nice job with the remodel and I like the modern updates!! Bale the curtains though!! See you again!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sandytoes4ever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
mjbot,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. We understand that during travel reliable internet service is extremely important. Our sincere apologies for your inconvenience. We are currently upgrading our service and I'm confident that our upgrades will drastically improve our internet service.

Sincerely,

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
US
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This is a nice, reasonably-priced facility with easy access to the airport and Philadelphia. We stayed in a hotel in the historic district of Philadelphia a few days earlier and found that it was less expensive, safer, and easier to stay at the Crowne Plaza and make the half-hour drive into the city each day. The hotel is immaculate, with huge rooms, excellent service, and free parking. There are lots of chain restaurants close by, but we found the best-ever Philly cheesesteaks and strombolli by driving 10 minutes to the Claymont Steak Shop. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
nunda,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an excellent review!! We are so glad that you found the hotel and staff excellent!! We strive everyday to give the best customer service possible. Hope to see you on your next visit to the area.

Respectfully,

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here with my daughter for a lacrosse tournament and was pleasantly surprised at how nice the hotel was for a very reasonable price. Rooms look like they have been recently updated and my daughter said hers was "the most comfortable bed ever." The lobby area is comfortable and modern with several sitting areas - we ordered takeout pizza and ate it on a sofa in the lobby - very comfortable. My daughter loved the fully-stocked ice cream freezer behind the front desk (you grab your ice cream and then pay at the front desk).

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank thewagners98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Wagner98,

Thank you for your kind review! You are correct we have just recently renovated. We are so proud of our newly renovated hotel and we hope you come back soon. Enjoy the ice cream!!

Sincerely,

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

Stayed overnight at this hotel and when we missed our flight home. We were upgraded to a suite and it was a very nice room. I think it's a good hotel for business travelers. Clean and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Portia123Hawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeffrey F, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Portia123hawaii,

Thank you! We greatly appreciate your kind review and we are pleased that your stay with us went well. We look forward to seeing you in the future!

Jeff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2012

This newly renovated hotel really hits the mark! The Oriental decor throughout the building was a welcome change from ordinary hotel furnishings. It was very inviting and relaxing. As it happened, we were there for the Grand ReOpening and were treated to the greatest party we've encountered in a long time! Let us know when you're having the next party!!

The staff was extremely friendly and accommodating. The breakfast buffet was always hot and plentiful. In the evening the Lounge was an enjoyable place for a nightcap. Jonathan was a great bartender! The pool was very relaxing in spite of the extreme heat.

There's so much to see and do in the Brandywine Valley where this hotel is located. We will definitely stay here again to further explore the valley.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank riverspirit61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mecrules, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your kind remarks about our hotel. We are glad that you enjoyed your visit to the Brandywine/Wilmington area. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed our fabulous "grand opening" as we celebrated our $8M renovation.

It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us the next time you are in the Wilmington area!

Mary Elizabeth Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This newly renovated hotel is located just south of Philadelphia in northern Delaware. Good restaurants nearby and a great staff make it the place to stay if your in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ulboy11713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mecrules, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Wilmington North, responded to this review, July 24, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you staying with us and taking the time to share your feedback. We are pleased that you had a nice, comfortable stay with us. Please come back to see us again soon!

Warm Regards,

Mary Elizabeth Collins
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Claymont
4.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Wilmington
7.0 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Downtown Wilmington - Legal District
5.1 mi away
Homewood Suites by Hilton Wilmington - Brandywine Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 mi away
Sheraton Suites Wilmington Downtown Hotel
6.8 mi away
Hotel du Pont
Hotel du Pont
#2 of 13 in Wilmington
102 reviews
6.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Concordville Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Wilmington North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Wilmington North

Property: Crowne Plaza Wilmington North
Address: 630 Naamans Rd, Claymont, DE 19703-2310 (Formerly Holiday Inn Select Wilmington - Brandywine)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Claymont
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Claymont
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Crowne Plaza Wilmington North 3.5*
Number of rooms: 189
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting spacious rooms with deluxe bedding and free Wi-Fi, plus full-service amenities including a restaurant and lounge, the Crowne Plaza Wilmington North provides guests with the complete package. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Reservation Counter, Hotels.com, IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Crowne Plaza Wilmington North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Select Wilmington - Brandywine Hotel Claymont
Holiday Inn Claymont
Claymont Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing