We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Watermill Inn & Brewing Co
Nearby Hotels
$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Lamplighter(Windermere)
$117
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$166
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House(Windermere)
$452
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wild Boar(Windermere)
$198
$184
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant(Windermere)
$241
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$106
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hillthwaite(Windermere)
$159
$148
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$213
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Windermere Manor Hotel(Windermere)(Great Value!)
$97
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (440)
Filter reviews
440 results
Traveler rating
231
139
49
15
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
231
139
49
15
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubreal alegreat beerbrewed on sitemicro brewerydog biscuitssteak and ale piedog friendly pubdog lovershomemade chipsspecials boardselection of beersdog ownerslake districtlarge portionspuddinglovely food
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
327 - 332 of 440 reviews
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We visit the lakes once a year, and ever since finding this place 4 years ago we have made sure we return every time we are up that way.

Beer is excellent quality and reasonably priced. Staff are also very knowledgeable on the ales stocked.

This pub is dog friendly as well which is a bonus and always has the odd friendly pooch knocking about.

We have never eaten here but the food that comes out looks alrite and at reasonable prices for the Lake District anyway!

Definitely worth a look in if your into real ale..........

We will be back!!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank PrestonSmalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have just spent three nights at the watermill with our 2 year old Labrador. We stayed in room 1 which was exceptionally clean, nicely decorated and had one double bed and one pull out bed. The room would be fine for 2 adults and two kids. Breakfast was an excellent home cooked full english and great to fill up for a days walking. The evening meals were well cooked and presented - the rib eye steak in particular was lovely. Lots of locals seem to eat and drink there which is always a good sign. The only niggle if anything was the very soft mattress but after sampling the real ales brewed on site it really doesn't matter ! We won't hesitate to return to the watermill.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathryn683
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I booked a one night stay here as a suprise for my husband for his birthday. We arrived around 2.30pm and were shown to our room without delay. The room was very nice with a nice bathroom, tv and coffee/tea making facilities. We had lovely weather and went on a very long walk that afternoon before coming back for our tea. Food was lovely as was the choice of drinks. We even bought our friends one of the gift packs with 3 bottles of ale in. It was really nice to be able to take our dog in the bar and restaurant with us. You do get breakfast included in the room which it doesn't tell you any where online or on booking confirmation etc so even when eating it we were left wondering if we would be given a bill. They should really advertise this as it was a good bonus to start the day with a very nice full english breakfast. Also it doesn't state anywhere what check out time is so we left at 10.00am. My only concerns were that when i booked to check in on Monday online, i rang up to check they had received my booking as the website crashed when i pressed submit. The lady confirmed my booking details including the day but when my booking confirmation arrived via email it said check in on Tuesday. Luckily i spotted this a couple of days before and the staff were very helpful when i rang and explained the situation they changed the day but we had to have a different room. Just check your confirmation when booking online. The second thing is that we were given one key for our room which also opened a side door to the inn which guests could use if they needed to leave out of hours (for the dog as an example). Although i didn't test my theory i presumed this meant that all the room doors muct have the same lock if you can open your room door and the property side door with one key???
I would (and hopefully will) visit again but book a couple more nights next time!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katieeddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Went here on Sunday for a late lunch good menu and specials board lovely pint , nice surroundings good place to stop of going in or out of the lakes for a tasty snack or meal.
We are local to the lakes and I do like to help these pubs promote good food and drink.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superbocklad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

When we arrived at the watermill even though they were very busy Gareth the bar man took us to our room straight away , my husband was in 7th heaven and attempted to taste most of theire own brewed beer which is amazing , we orderd our meals at the bar and even though they were extreamley busy we didn't have to wait long , I had the rib eye steak for the main meal which was melt in the mouth and hy husband had the steak and ale pie , we enjoyed them so much we had the same both nights we stayed there .
All the staff were all extreamley friendly , there was a lovely log fire in the bar which is very welcoming , our room 5 was on the top floor ,nice and clean but no good if your a tall person as a beam runs along the cealing and is quite low , bathroom had a shower it was a bit small but ok , the only problem we had with the room was the bed ,it was so soft it was like sleeping on a trampoline , if you have a dog then it's a brilliant place to go but if your not a dog lover then this might not be the place for you , we dont have a dog but didn't find it a problem as every where is really clean , we can't wait to go back

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dennave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews