We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For dog lovers only”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Watermill Inn & Brewing Co
Ranked #2 of 5 Ings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We called in for a meal after a drive through the lakes. We walked in to be met by more dogs than people. One dog had its paws on the bar. We counted over ten dogs in the dining room roaming around, needless to say we quickly left. There was no way we were going to eat with so many dogs roaming around. We noted that it was a dog friendly pub but it certainly spoils it for those of us who don't want to share a table with a dog!
We were disappointed as we had eaten here in the past and had a lovely meal.






Stayed: April 2012
Thank BrendaCumbria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (425)
There are newer reviews for Watermill Inn & Brewing Co
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

364 - 370 of 425 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2012

this was our second visit to the Watermill, first visit at Christmas with friends. We wanted to take our family, 6 adults, 3 children, age range from 2years to 63 years for a family meal to celebrate our wedding anniversary. When I rang to reserve the table, I was initially told they don't reserve tables but the lady who took my initial call said she would get her manager to call me back. When I got home from work the next day there was a message on my answerephone to confirm the table would be reserved for us!

Food was really good,plenty of choice and something to suit everyone. Staff were very attentive and helpful. there was even a box of toys for the smallest member of our party!

Would definitely recommend for a meal!

Room Tip: we did not stay overnight!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Legallass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

stayed in room 7, quite small double room, bathroom looks newly refurbished and has everything you need. This room has a small balcony which is suitable if you wish to smoke or sit outside in the summer months,unfortunately there is a broken pipe and steam engulfed the balcony from time to time. Breakfast very nice, staff friendly, would be better if extended to 10am. All in all quite good value for money.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms at the front of pub have nice views.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janoandpastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2012

As part of a group of friends we stayed at the Watermill Inn, Ings and checked in for two nights. On arrival I was surprised to mind no reception area at all and we had to check in at the bar. The first room we were allocated was room 5 this was a dreadful room at the top of the building low beams, even at 5' 2" I was bumping my head on them and you had to bend down to make a drink - not a good start. The room was hot and stuffy so my husband opened the window to met with a cacophony on traffic noise from the dual carriageway into Windermere. We going to check out but our daughter and her partner offered to swop rooms and we went into room 1 this was also incredibly hot and stuffy but again the traffic noise was terrible when we opened the window. As part of the group we had a meal in the inn and it was pretty unremarkable to say the least as was the breakfast the next day.

My daughter and her partner checked out the next day due to the room not being clean, the shower room was full of black hairs, possibly dog hairs, and the bed sheets were also full of black hairs. My daughter put the bath towels on the bed to sleep on and turned bthe duvet round so that they could sleep. They had to argue with the staff regarding not paying for the 2nd unused night because in the terms and conditions they advise that they will not allow you to check out early without paying for the 2nd night.

My husband and I also checked out that day we will not be going back we wouldn't recommend this inn to anyone unless you are a dog lover and don't mind the smell of wet dog which pervaded the air.

The old adage 'Buyer beware' must be remembered especially when on their website they have words to the effect, 'the pub closes at the usual closing time so if you don't like this then don't book!!!' Really welcoming and inviting.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melodymcgrath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Advised to pop in to luch on one of our frequent trips to the Lakes. We know the area well, and have passed by the hotel on numerous occasions. Went for lunch on a Saturday after seeing it advertising real pub grub.
I expect to pay fairly premium prices in the Lakes, and this matched. Unfortunately the standard needs to improve somewhat. The meal of gammon was just Ok, but consisted of what was obviously frozen chips and veg. Presented very plainly in a rather lacklustre and depressing atmoshpere.

Pub grub can be a lot more exciting than this for the same price if just a little more imagination were forthcoming; and perhaps a little more effort and attention to detail. A shame, becuse the beer at the micro brewery is first class. Perhaps it now needs to put the effort towards decent grub.

Dr Malc

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DrMalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

Although the real ales were excellent, the food expensive for the quality. Limited time for breakfast. Not suitable for people who are not pet lovers. Ensuite was needing a lot of TLC. Hotel double booked our room and put the blame on us, even though payment had been received. Overall would not coose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cab1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lakespub, Manager at Watermill Inn & Brewing Co, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2012

This Review seems to clash totally with previous reviews!
Strange that.....and look it's the first time they have used trip advisor.
I used to look at trip advisor comments before we went anywhere and have to admit we took more notice of the odd bad comment than all the good ones.
Now I just look at the good ones and go off them 99.99% nice customers (wish they would all comment on TA) But its the 0.01% bad ones you always remember!
If you have a problem with a place tell them directly...email them or even better have a quiet word whilst you are there.
Thank you to all the nice people out there.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Very handy for Windermere area. Excellent real ales. Clean and welcoming. Good food. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Callingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ings
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.2 mi away
Cedar Manor Hotel and Restaurant
2.1 mi away
The Wild Boar
The Wild Boar
#9 of 20 in Windermere
1,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
The Ryebeck
The Ryebeck
#3 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
1,016 reviews
4.3 mi away
Storrs Hall
Storrs Hall
#5 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
699 reviews
2.5 mi away
Windermere Manor Hotel
Windermere Manor Hotel
#17 of 20 in Windermere
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermill Inn & Brewing Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermill Inn & Brewing Co

Address: | near Windermere, Ings LA8 9PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ings
Price Range: $114 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Watermill Inn & Brewing Co 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermill is a homely traditional Lakeland pub 2 miles East of Windermere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Watermill Inn & Brewing Co reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermill Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing