We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic pet friendly pub”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Watermill Inn & Brewing Co
Ranked #1 of 5 Ings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Staffordshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“fantastic pet friendly pub”
Reviewed June 5, 2011

We already knew of the Watermill through CAMRA as it has its own brewery on site ( boasts 16 real ales on draft at all times) and have been trying to book in for ages and were lucky enough to find a pet friendly room available for half term . The staff were brilliant , the dog was allowed into the bar and breakfast room and was spoilt rotten at every appearance, including extra sausages at breakfast! The rooms were large and clean , no evidence of other dogs staying in the room at all and the power shower was a welcome addition after long walks. Speaking of walks the pub is brilliantly placed for walking over to Stavely, Kentmere and Windermere . You wouldnt need to move the car at all if you enjoy walking and there is plenty of parking available . The menu for evening meals and lunches were inviting and the meals are well cooked, especially the ale pie and fish which uses their own beer batter . Breakfasts were delicious and saw us through until the evening meal on most days . The locals are also very welcoming , my partner being invited on a bike ride with a few guys from a local village , which he thoroughly enjoyed. All in all a great time was had by us and we will be making a return visit soon.
NB if you have children they are welcome in the bar or lounge area and the accommodation is well suited for families, dogs are not allowed in the lounge area in the evening for those who wish to be left un-hounded !

Room Tip: great for lovers of walking and real ale!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StaffordshireRufus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    211
    133
    43
    15
    5
See reviews for
85
228
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2011

This Inn is great!! It has delicious food and there is loads on the menu to choose from. It has some good wines on the menu and the home brewed Ales really good. The room was clean and really nicely decorated. The pub was buzzing and the beer garden is beautiful in the afternoon sun. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gengi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester
Level Contributor
122 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2011

We arrived at the Watermill Inn on 9th March 2011 after a leisurely drive from Cheshire and stayed there for 2 nights. On arriving at the Inn,there is a car park which can easily accommodate 6-8 cars which is convenient. Watermill Inn is situated off the A591 Wintermere main road in country lane in Ings village where a stream runs alongside the building in the rear. It is conveniently situated where Windermere, Ambleside, Grassmere and Keswick are within easy driving distance.

We checked in by the Bar and we were shown to our room No. 4 by a friendly bar staff. The room is furnished with a double bed and has an ensuite shower room, clean and equipped with all the basic essentials for a hotel room including tea/coffee making facilities.

The Inn is definitely living up to our expectations as far as real ale and good pub food is concerned. Rob loves his real ale and there are plenty types of ale to be sampled and enjoyed including those brewed on site by the Inn's own microbrewery. Colly Wobbles is a pale ale and very popular amongst the locals as well as visitors.

There are two bar areas, one for the diners on the right and a public bar on the left where dog owners bring their best friends for a few pints and social interaction. Breakfast is served in the dining area where you help yourself to fresh OJ, cereal or grapefruit; tea or coffee is served along with a full English breakfast cooked to your liking and toasts and marmalade. Breakfast is hearty and welcoming first thing in the morning. There is a variety of choices on the food menu for starters and the main course and you would be rewarded with good portions of enjoyable food.

The staff are friendly to both guests and their 4-legged friends. Bowls of water and dog treats are dished out by the staff. It is a friendly and welcoming village pub for both locals and visitors alike.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Watermill Inn and if you like a good place to sleep, eat and drink, this is the place to come. We will have no hesitation in recommending this place to our friends and happy to share our experience with our fellow TripAdvisor travellers.

Well done to the owners of Watermill Inn for keeping the place simple and traditional, people and dog friendly, a place for the locals and visitors to unwind and enjoy a few pints with good food, and a place where you can happily rest and have a decent night sleep.

Anne and Rob

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Wise-Ones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorks, England
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2010

Stayed one night in December 2010, extremely chilly outside but very warm and welcoming inside. Had room 8 with balcony which is lovely with great view and at rear so away from the busy main road. Couldn't use the balcony much as it was about -8c outside ! Very nice room, clean, comfy bed, power show, tea/coffee making stuff - only thing was is was sooo hot had to turn the heating off. Ate dinner in pub which was very nice but the bar was very busy, and breakfast next morning was huge - I couldn't finish it. It's nice that your dog can go to the bar with you and in the dining room for brekky. Website did say the dog would get a drink and a biscuit - he's a bit miffed that neither appeared ! Handy location for south lakes, we would return.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gladstone, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2010

Good spot and friendly place to stay. Good room and en-suite and easy access and pub meals are OK and all the beers are worth a taste.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Happytravellers03557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penzance, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2010

The Watermill had a good bar with a lovely roaring wood-burner and good hearty food. The bedrooms were very small (we were on the second floor) basic and the beds extremely uncomfortable however we had a nice stay and would return.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pippenney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2010

Stayed here walking the dales way and it was fantastic, rooms clean and comfortable, massive choice of food and beer and dog friendly. Will definitely be back for a longer stay

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank munchkin11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ings
2.1 mi away
The Wild Boar
The Wild Boar
#8 of 20 in Windermere
968 reviews
2.1 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
2.0 mi away
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
Gilpin Hotel & Lake House
#3 of 20 in Windermere
1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier Collection
The Burnside Hotel, BW Premier C...
#8 of 13 in Bowness-on-Windermere
335 reviews
2.3 mi away
Hillthwaite Hotel
Hillthwaite Hotel
#11 of 20 in Windermere
1,412 reviews
0.0 mi away
Meadowcroft Country Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Watermill Inn & Brewing Co? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Watermill Inn & Brewing Co

Property: Watermill Inn & Brewing Co
Address: | near Windermere, Ings LA8 9PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ings
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Watermill Inn & Brewing Co 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Watermill is a homely traditional Lakeland pub 2 miles East of Windermere ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Watermill Inn & Brewing Co reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Watermill Hotel Lake District

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing