We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hidden gem in Ings”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meadowcroft Country Guest House
Ranked #1 of 5 Ings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Love the Lakes and Ings is perfect as its just 2 Miles from Windermere - would recommend this charming guest house - we stayed in a family room with our family including our dog and had a lovely 3 night stay - the owners are exeptional hosts and obviously take pride in what they do - rooms spacious and well furnished comfy- with tea coffee making facilities and tv- the breakfast is fantastic tasty and worth getting up for. This is a friendly homely place with a good feel factor - a major plus is 100yards away is the best pub in the world the Watermill Inn with its great food and own micro Brewery Collie Wobbles- all on all just perfect and we are not Munchkins !!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freddie101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (297)
There are newer reviews for Meadowcroft Country Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

139 - 145 of 298 reviews

Reviewed September 9, 2013

I think this would have been a nice place to stay but my family was in one room in the former attic, and we could only stand upright in the middle of the room. Every one of the 4 of us banged our heads on the sloping ceiling, and I smashed my forehead in the cubicle bathroom.

No double glazing and no air system meant a warm and not entirely pleasant stay.

Can't recommed it for the accommodation. But the breakfast was nice. I'm sure other rooms were better so I'm giving this an average, not a poor, rating.

Room Tip: Don't stay on the top floor!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MargaritaMumLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngsMeadowcroft, Manager at Meadowcroft Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, Everybody at Meadowcroft was glad to see you found breakfast enjoyable.
We were sorry to hear you did not like your experience at Meadowcroft in our family room and wish you would have informed us when you were here; we might have been able to find you an alternative.
The family room is at the top of the house and we always advise people of all the low ceilings at the side of the room. After your comments we have decided to maybe limit age of children in the room, but most families love the room and we have a lot of return guests asking for our family room.
We did have a lovely warm summer and unfortunately no matter how many fans we put in the room it was still warm, so we are again sorry to hear your distress with the summer heat.
We hope you continue to visit the Lake District and find the accommodation you are looking for as it really is so beautiful here.
Kind regards
Meadowcroft Guest House

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have just stayed 3 nights here and had a great time. The location is very convenient just 2 miles outside Windermere and the rooms/food are excellent. At this time of year it was warm and we needed the windows open, which was a bit noisy, being on a roadside location, but everything else was excellent.
We particularly appreciated the flexibility and openness in letting our dog stay in one of the rooms too.

Room Tip: ask for one not on the road side
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaidenheadLawrences
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngsMeadowcroft, Manager at Meadowcroft Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review, we appreciate the comment about your windows having to be left open due to warm weather, but after having all our windows double glazed we know this is a complaint we don’t expect to hear in the colder months. Yes we are very dog friendly here at Meadowcroft and we do hope you will visit us again if you are ever in the Lake District
Kind regards
Meadowcroft Guesthouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

We were welcomed like old friends and were made to feel welcome. The room was spacious and well decorated. Doubled glazing cut out any noise. The surrounding area is picturesque and beautiful as it is 2 miles from Windermere the perfect location for a nice quiet relaxing stay. Would definitely come again and recommend it especially dog lovers as they have dogs would bring my three.

Room Tip: If you like taking your dogs with you this is the place for you although you wouldn't know there...
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IngsMeadowcroft, Manager at Meadowcroft Country Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review. We always strive to ensure our guests are happy and comfortable and leave relaxed. The Double Glazing in the rooms has been a huge success for cutting down the road noise. Cleanliness is very high on our priority along with everything else, so nobody knows dogs were in rooms and they always are kept looking new.
If you do return to the Lake District for a holiday we would love to have you return here and the dogs are always about for a bit of fuss too.
Kind regards
Meadowcroft Guesthouse

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Charming guest house and exceptionally friendly.
We visited the guest house for 4 nights - Family with three little girls. The room was a bit small but neat and clean and breakfast was fresh and rich.
Landlady and her family are lovely people and helped us in every subject. They did it with warmth and empathy. It is apparent that they love the guest house and their guests.
WE even went with their lovely dogs for a walk in the green fields around.
Summary: a lovely place, nice, friendly. Good price, excellent service and great value for the money.
If there is a place - Make Booking ASAP :) .

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gideon981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Rosemary welcomed us like old friends even though we had never stayed here before. It is always a nervous moment when you are shown 'a wheelchair accessible' room as sadly many are not but we were blown away with the accessible room which had been very carefully thought out & had all the amenities we have at home. The location was lovely and we enjoyed meals at the local pub which had a friendly atmosphere too. Both Rosemary & Linda were very friendly, welcoming & were a great team at breakfast. We would definitely recommend this guest house to both our non disabled & disabled friends. It is a great base to explore the surrounding area. Without a doubt we will definitely stay here again when/if we are visiting the area again. Thank you for making our stay so comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mand n Max R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

This was our first time in the Lake District and Meadowcroft was one of the reasons our stay there was perfect. The room was very comfortable, spotless, and well equipped. The breakfast was superior. Everything about it was to our liking. We highly recommend Meadowcroft to any traveller who wants to enjoy the Lake District.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Markus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ings
0.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
The Derwentwater Hotel
The Derwentwater Hotel
#1 of 1 in Portinscale
735 reviews
0.0 mi away
Watermill Inn & Brewing Co
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Meadowcroft Guest House
Meadowcroft Guest House
#3 of 7 in Camberley
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Hill
The Hill
#3 of 5 in Ings
75 reviews
0.0 mi away
Parsonage House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowcroft Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowcroft Country Guest House

Address: Ings LA8 9PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ings
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ings
Price Range: $109 - $143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Meadowcroft Country Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer bed and breakfast accommodation for most group visitors. Our guests will have a large identified parking space at the entrance to the property and ramped entrance door. We have two ground floor double rooms making us one of the best Lake District bed and breakfast providers for disabled people. Meadowcroft overlooks hills and fells in an area of outstanding natural beauty and provides a superb base from which to explore the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Meadowcroft Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing