We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good B&B near Windermere”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Meadowcroft Country Guest House
Ranked #1 of 5 Ings B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Very good B&B near Windermere”
Reviewed June 21, 2013 via mobile

We stopped for two nights in a pleasant double room with a nicely decorated bathroom. The only reason we haven't given it full marks is that, as noted on some other reviews, our room faced the main road which is quite busy during the day. In addition the window didn't shut properly, but having said that, the owners are in the midst of getting the windows replaced with full double glazing and our room was scheduled to have the window replaced the day after we left so by now the noise level should be much reduced. The owners were very welcoming and we were impressed by how welcome they make dog owners... even though we haven't got a dog ourselves! One other comment we would make is that the time they serve breakfast is limited to 8.15 to 8.45 am. Finally, the pub at the end of the lane is excellent as it serves a range of their own brews and a very good food menu. All in all we were very pleased with our stay here and wouldn't hesitate to stop again should we visit the area again.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank cathrynsteeley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    245
    32
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
63
167
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
staffordshire
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 30, 2013

My family and I; including our dog, have been to the Meadowcroft Country Guest House three times and have never had cause to think that we will not go back again. The welcome you receive is warm and friendly and nothing is too much trouble; with extra dog towels for rainy days.
The rooms are clean and well appointed. Breakfast is freshly cooked for you each morning and there is plenty of choice.
Yes, it is situated on a main road, however at night when it matters it's generally not busy and quiet, I am a light sleeper and the noise wasn't enough to bother me.
Brilliant!

Room Tip: All rooms are nice and are able to cater for all; be that disabled or a larger family.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dogwalker11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights and was very very happy with the place. Neat and cozy rooms, perfect hosts and wonderful service.
The cottage is just of the main road close to the bus stop and a gas station making it a convenient stop.
Thanks to Rosemary and Linda for making our stay memorable.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ketki05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunmow, Essex United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in April 2013, can't fault this for a guest house. Lovely owners, very dog friendly, very clean comfortable room (4)
The sheets were not the usual B&B quality but lovely comfy and very clean. I know this sounds an odd thing to notice but I have stayed in many 5 star hotels and not noticed the quality of bedding as I did here.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Booked here after reading reviews and theGuest House offered good amenities for disabled guests.Rosemary,Linda and family were very friendly and helpful.They certainly had thought of everything to make the disabled room easy to use,which we booked for my elderly parents.Easy access in and out of house and parking right to the door.We were in a room upstairs which was lovely,but if you are a light sleeper,ask for a room away from the main road.
Breakfast was great and cooked there and then for you.
The village was small,but does have a pub very nearby,serving good food and their own beer.Thanks to all for a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Tremendously friendly guesthouse... chatty but not intrusive. Wonderfully welcoming, particularly for dogs (with towels at the front door for your wet dog!). Ings is a lovely hamlet, but very close to other towns/villages if you prefer more business. The B&B is right by the main road but that wasn't a problem for us, and the road is quiet at night. There's a lovely walk for the dogs up the gated road that starts in Ings. We enjoyed 2 nights out at the Watermill Inn with our dog, but you have to understand your dog will not be the only one there. Folk in the Lakes seem to be quite dog-crazy and more than 1 eaterie manager seemed to have dog treats in their back pocket...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzzinhornet27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Another lovely stay at Meadowcroft,Rosemary is the perfect host! Clean rooms and a wonderful breakfast couldn't ask for more! We'll be back at Christmas, if not before (dog friendly too! ) Breakfast served by good looking man so an added bonus!!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dimark52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ings
0.0 mi away
Applegarth Villa and Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Meadowcroft Guest House
Meadowcroft Guest House
#3 of 7 in Camberley
22 reviews
0.0 mi away
Watermill Inn & Brewing Co
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Britannia Inn
The Britannia Inn
#1 of 2 in Elterwater
345 reviews
0.0 mi away
Meadowcroft Bed and Breakfast
0.0 mi away
The Hill
The Hill
#3 of 5 in Ings
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meadowcroft Country Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meadowcroft Country Guest House

Property: Meadowcroft Country Guest House
Address: Ings LA8 9PY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Ings
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ings
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Meadowcroft Country Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer bed and breakfast accommodation for most group visitors. Our guests will have a large identified parking space at the entrance to the property and ramped entrance door. We have two ground floor double rooms making us one of the best Lake District bed and breakfast providers for disabled people. Meadowcroft overlooks hills and fells in an area of outstanding natural beauty and provides a superb base from which to explore the Lake District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Meadowcroft Country Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing