We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A truly lovely cottage”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Ings, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christoph...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A truly lovely cottage”
Reviewed December 23, 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My family and I spent a fantastic week in Little Ghyll cottage. Both my kids (aged 3 and 5) loved it, especially all the toys and games and they've insisted I now buy Twister for our house as well!
We were made very welcome by the owner and her 3 dogs, 2 alpacas, 3 sheep and many chickens. The garden is especially fab and I can recommend it for hide and seek.
The location is very good, close to Windermere and also near a brilliant bakery and craft brewery.
All in all a wonderful place to spend some time, especially if you have a young family.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 29, 2015
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Little Ghyll Cottage, Ings, Nr Windermere. We are delighted that you had a fantastic week and found this wonderful place perfect for your family.
We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann-marie...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely warm cottage with fabulous views”
Reviewed October 26, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

I was a little worried that my teenagers might be disappointed with the wifi as I had read reviews that said it was poor. It was just fine no problem at all, we all used it on our iPads and iPhones and it was very reliable. The cottage is well equipped with everything you need. Lots of films and games for rainy days or dark evenings. Everything you need in the kitchen, although I couldn't find any scissors and I meant to mention this to Christine the owner before I left. It's in a good location for the lakes and we found it easy to get around. Definitely recommend this cottage for a warm and comfortable stay in Cumbria.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: The gates to the parking area
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 28, 2015
Good afternoon
Thank you for your review following your stay at Little Ghyll Cottage. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at this lovely cottage with its perfect location. It is great to hear that you would definitely recommend this cottage and we hope to welcome you again in the future.
Kind regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeteC69
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage and garden, helpful friendly owner”
Reviewed June 15, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My wife, dog and I stayed for a week recently.

The cottage is easy to find from the main A591 and it is easy to get out to locations throughout the Lakes. Basics are available at a garage in easy walking distance, while local stores are a short drive or long walk away.

First impressions are excellent, with the fabulous garden and views across rolling hills. This continues to the cottage itself, which is clean, attractive, comfortable and homely. Christine, the owner, was friendly and helpful, on arrival and throughout our stay, without ever being obtrusive.

We prepared and ate all our breakfasts and evening meals in the cottage kitchen and found the cooking facilities to be very good, with a decent electric cooker and a Rayburn, plus sufficient cookware of a good standard. Proper cooking is possible here, which is not always the case in other cottages, though it would have been wise to bring a sharp knife!

There are a lot of helpful books in the cottage, for those planning small or large walks. There are also many games and videos (VHS!), which fabulous weather - not always assured in Cumbria - meant we didn't need, but could be life-savers for a family with children on a wet day.

The bathroom is very modern and pleasant. The hot water is plenty for two, but a bath depletes it almost entirely, so larger parties would be restricted to showers, the flow of which is a bit weak unfortunately.

The garden is a big selling point of the cottage, compared to others. It really is as lovely as it looks on the Web site. We enjoyed walking around the garden and loved eating our evening meals at the outdoor tables. The owner has a couple of fields beyond the garden, the closest of which houses her hens and alpacas, which are super.

Our dog was made very welcome, liked the cottage and loved the area. However, from the doggie point of view, the description of the garden as "enclosed" is only true for very unadventurous dogs. Shortly after arrival, our medium-sized dog easily jumped into the lower field, full of sheep, and only rapid gung-ho action by my wife avoided a horrible incident. The front parking area of the cottage is genuinely secure, once gates are shut, so dogs can be off-lead there, but many dogs would need to be on a leash in the main garden.

The other niggle is the WiFi. It is £10 to get the password, which seemed fair. However, the WiFi signal is from the next-door cottage, through thick walls; it is weak everywhere and absent in some rooms. For this holiday, good internet wasn't essential, but having paid specifically for it, I would expect a good signal. The poor WiFi signal could easily be fixed by a sub-£50 booster, which would be a cheap way to substantially improve the cottage for the modern guest.

I've mentioned a couple of negative points because I think readers want to know those sorts of things, and because it might give the owner the opportunity to improve the cottage. However, we really liked the cottage and would like to come back one day.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Beautiful gardens, great location
Liked least: Weak wi-fi, garden insufficiently enclosed for dog
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suzeg2008...
Ovingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Charming, cosy and child friendly”
Reviewed February 23, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We've just spent a delightful few days in this lovely cottage. Little Ghyll is well positioned with pleasant views and an absolutely delightful garden, amazing Treehouse and dogs, alpacas, sheep and chickens.

Our children were very well provided for, there was so much to entertain them outdoors and indoors, with many many books, dressing up outfits, toys and games. We adults were warm, relaxed and slept very well!

The owner, Christine, is friendly and helpful, and you can really feel the love that had gone into this charming, well-equipped and homely place. I hope we get the opportunity to return.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 24, 2015
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Little Ghyll Cottage. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found the cottage to be charming, well equipped and homely. We hope to welcome you again in the future.


Kind regards

Sharon Taylor
Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patsy P
Street, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A truly lovely week”
Reviewed September 6, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely homely cottage with beautiful gardens. The dog felt at home immediately and the children (and parents) enjoyed playing the board games provided in front of the open fire. Christine was very friendly with some very helpful advice and ideas on places to visit. Will definitely be back! Children and dogs will love this cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The calming influence of the property and surroundings
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 15, 2014
Thank you for your feedback following your stay at Little Ghyll Cottage.

We are delighted to hear you wish to return to Little Ghyll Cottage, you found the cottage homely and enjoyed the garden.

Lakes Cottage Holidays look forward to welcoming you back to Little Ghyll Cottage soon.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherlock2...
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very welcoming and lovely location”
Reviewed July 20, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Spent a week at this lovely cottage overlooking rolling hills with sheep and alpacas. The gardens are stunning with a beautiful stream running through. We were made very welcome from the minute we arrived to the minute we left. The cottage itself had everything you need,a true home from home. Our dogs thought they were in "Doggie Heaven" and there was a brilliant pub down the road that encouraged dogs to bring their owners. Try the Steak & Ale pie, you won't be disappointed. All in all, a thoroughly enjoyable week and next time we come this way we'll look up "Little Ghyll Cottage"

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to inform Lakes Cottage Holidays of your feedback after your stay at Little Ghyll Cottage.

We are delighted to learn you would return to Little Ghyll Cottage.

We are glad you enjoyed the location of the property, the garden and found the property well equipped for your stay.

Lakes Cottage Holidays looks forward to welcoming you back to Little Ghyll Cottage soon!

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benj17
Rome
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cracking cottage fulfilling all our needs”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Stayed at Little Ghyll cottage for a week with my wife and dog for walking and relaxing in the Lakes. Great location being within 3 miles of Windermere and the cottage everything we wanted. Very spacious for 2 and plenty of room of the max of 5 had stayed there. Very clean, and plenty of information provided especially books and leaflets on walks around the area, which were far better than the guides we bought. The garden is wonderful with great views and despite being shared with the owner who lives next door it did feel like home from home although wished our garden looked like this! Great to have the Watermill Inn pub within a mile's walk and spent 3 nights there enjoying the food and real ale produced in the microbrewery there. Stocked up in the takeaway ales they had! Carlo our dog also enjoyed roaming the secure garden, keeping a watchful eye out for the Alpacas next door, and familiarising with the 3 little digs next door. This is a highly recommended cottage for couples and families with kids with the array of games and toys available in the cottage. If we return again to the Lakes then will be looking no further than this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage garden
Liked least: Returning to work!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to inform Lakes Cottage Holidays of your feedback after your stay at Little Ghyll Cottage.

Thank you for recommending Little Ghyll Cottage to others!

We are delighted that you found the cottage to be spacious, clean and made use of the garden area available at this property.

Lakes Cottage Holidays look forward to welcoming you back to Little Ghyll Cottage soon!

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holiday
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing