We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Cracking cottage fulfilling all our needs”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
37 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Ings, Lake District, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 37 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Benj17
Rome
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cracking cottage fulfilling all our needs”
Reviewed July 10, 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Stayed at Little Ghyll cottage for a week with my wife and dog for walking and relaxing in the Lakes. Great location being within 3 miles of Windermere and the cottage everything we wanted. Very spacious for 2 and plenty of room of the max of 5 had stayed there. Very clean, and plenty of information provided especially books and leaflets on walks around the area, which were far better than the guides we bought. The garden is wonderful with great views and despite being shared with the owner who lives next door it did feel like home from home although wished our garden looked like this! Great to have the Watermill Inn pub within a mile's walk and spent 3 nights there enjoying the food and real ale produced in the microbrewery there. Stocked up in the takeaway ales they had! Carlo our dog also enjoyed roaming the secure garden, keeping a watchful eye out for the Alpacas next door, and familiarising with the 3 little digs next door. This is a highly recommended cottage for couples and families with kids with the array of games and toys available in the cottage. If we return again to the Lakes then will be looking no further than this cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cottage garden
Liked least: Returning to work!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 11, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to inform Lakes Cottage Holidays of your feedback after your stay at Little Ghyll Cottage.

Thank you for recommending Little Ghyll Cottage to others!

We are delighted that you found the cottage to be spacious, clean and made use of the garden area available at this property.

Lakes Cottage Holidays look forward to welcoming you back to Little Ghyll Cottage soon!

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holiday
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evan E
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage - beautifully landscaped grounds”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Firstly, the garden. If you like sitting outdoors, enjoying beauty and fragrance and the restful sound of a babbling stream, look no further. Even during the early spring, it is bedecked in snowdrops and looks fantastic, viewed from the cosy conservatory. Whatever the time of year, the cottage itself is homely, cosy and well-equipped. Lounge very comfy with enough videos, toys and games to keep the family fully occupied for the whole stay ! There's even a wardrobe of dressing-up clothes to delight any child. The beds are very comfortable and the views from bedroom windows are exceptional. The owner is very friendly and helpful, always ready with a friendly word, never intrusive. Superb location, sitting between Kendal and Windermere with Staveley just a mile away - the Mill Yard is a thriving newly-developed site with cafe, brewery, artisan bakery, cycle shop and an intriguing variety of small businesses, well worth a visit. All this and the cottage is dog-friendly, to boot !!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The garden
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 26, 2014
Thank you for your feedback after your stay at Little Ghyll Cottage.

We are delighted to learn you took advantage of the property's location and outside space during your stay and found the cottage to be well-equipped.

Lakes Cottage Holidays hopes to welcome you back to to Little Ghyll Cottage soon!

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine H
Woodhall Spa, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Perfect break”
Reviewed May 15, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

What a lovely cottage, set in the most gorgeous garden. Beautiful views all around. So peaceful. The cottage had everything we needed, comfortable beds, bath with shower, comfy lounge for cosy evenings (open fire if wanted). Kitchen with all you need and a little conservatory where we sat reading the papers, enjoying the garden. Took our two Labradors who also loved their hoiday

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, access to garden
Liked least: Think that wifi should be included not offered at an extra cost (£10 to get password)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 18, 2014
Thank you for your kind review.

It is great to hear that you had a lovely time at the cottage.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dickidido...
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a lovely week!”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We arrived on Saturday afternoon to a warm reception from Christine (the owner who lives next door). The cottage was clean and tidy and well equipped for our stay (Wife and daughter resting and relaxing most of the time while I enjoyed walking in The Langdale's and other locations). It has a beautiful garden with plenty of wildlife and then there are the Sheep and Alpaca's in the field which you can access from a gate in the garden. Keep an eye out around dusk for the bats flying in the field.

Christine was friendly and accommodating. She did not even mind me leaving at 3am to go and photograph the sunrise from Helvellyn.

We will definitely be returning because it is the best cottage we have had for a holiday for a number of years.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 26, 2014
Thank you for informing Lakes Cottage Holidays of your feedback after your stay at Little Ghyll Cottage.

We are delighted to hear Little Ghyll Cottage was the best cottage you have had for a holiday for a number of years!

We are pleased you found the property clean, well equipped and enjoyed the garden.

Lakes Cottage Holidays looks forward to welcoming you back to Little Ghyll Cottage in the future.

Kind Regards,

Lakes Cottage Holidays
017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fiona G
Seaford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“An excellent base for travel and local walks with warm feeling of hospitality”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We loved every minute of our stay in this warm, comfortable and scenic environment. We were made very welcome and we're reluctant to leave. Christine made us feel very welcome and was helpful with all our queries

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warmth and cosines of the house and the beautiful garden
Liked least: There was nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2014
Thank you for your review of Little Ghyll Cottage

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the property to be warm and comfortable.

We hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
Tel 017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
debzebra
Cheshire
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fabulous cottage”
Reviewed March 4, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed here with our dog for a long weekend - could not fault the cottage in any way, it's so easy to reach, but feels like you're away from everything with a great view. The garden is stunning, and we'd love to go back in the summer, so we can sit outside! Inside the cottage is also excellent, and it probably has the biggest supply of toys we've ever seen in a holiday cottage, it must be a dream for families. The owner lives next door but is very unobtrusive. Fabulous walks from the door, so no need to use the car. We are definitely planning to return. Would highly recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Escaping everyday life!
Liked least: Leaving.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 3, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review of Little Ghyll Cottage

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the property and its location to your liking. We shall look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind Regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
Tel 017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
songbird3...
U.K.
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb cottage!”
Reviewed February 10, 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Had a wonderful week in Little Ghyll cottage!
The cottage is located close to the main attractions of the Lakes,but you feel like you are in the middle of nowhere,with stunning fell views from all windows.Warm and very cosy,it was the perfect getaway for us.
Christine the owner is next door,and a wonderful host if you need her for anything during your stay,we were were welcomed home one day with chocolate brownies!!
Enjoyed the pet sheep too..they would chase you for a gingernut!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 9, 2014
Thank you for your review on Little Ghyll Cottage

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the wonderful views from this property. We hope that we can welcome you back again in the future.

Kind Regards
Lakes Cottage Holidays
Tel 017687 74060
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing