We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Family and Pooch”
other travelers have booked this property
Rose Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rose Cottage
Front Door Some of the roses of Rose Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
75 reviews
Rose Cottage
Front Door
Some of the roses of Rose Cottage
View from the front over the village green
Living Room with Bluetooth sound system TV and Blu-ray player
Living Room Log Burner
Living Room
Dining Room
Dining Room
Luxury Kitchen with Siemens Appliances Throughout and under floor heating
Kitchen
Spa and massage bath
Bathroom with under floor heating
Master Bedroom
Master Bedroom
Second Bedroom, can be set for twin or Super King
Sunroom with DAB radio and under floor heating
Garden
Patio and secure gated driveway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Hesket Newmarket, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 75 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
shexxa
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Family and Pooch”
Reviewed February 18, 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed as a family of 4 plus dog and had a wonderful, relaxing week's stay in Rose Cottage during February half term. HM is a lovely quiet village, in a beautiful area on the outskirts of the northern Cumbrian fells. The cottage is very clean and is extremely comfortable, having all the amenities necessary to make a relaxing and enjoyable stay. The owner popped in to say hello and was very helpful with advising good pubs and walks in the area. Having bathrobes and a lovely welcome hamper was a lovely treat. The spa bath was great after a long hike!! The village has a local pub which serves tasty food and a good selection of ales. Would definitely stay in Rose cottage again when we next come to this area - and we don't usually say that!!

Date of stay: February 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mar_and_J...
Airdrie, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
“Perfect retreat”
Reviewed January 21, 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This was our first time staying in Rose Cottage. What a wonderful cottage- it still retains the old charm of an 18th century property yet with some modern twists.The kitchen has all modern appliances and is airy and spacious, but it was lovely and cosy to sit in front of the roaring log fire in the sitting room on a cold January evening! We also loved the Jacuzzi which was a welcome treat after a long walk in the surrounding countryside. The village of Hesket Newmarket itself is peaceful and laid back, and the local pub, The Old Crown, is just a stone's throw away. If you love a small friendly pub with bags of character then this is the place. Overall we had a relaxing, chilled out stay in a 5-star cottage....wish we could have stayed on longer!

Date of stay: January 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike19034
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“MR”
Reviewed October 24, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
2
people found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed at rose cottage for the second time and it didn't disappoint. With its great setting and cosey feel we left feeling relaxed and will definitely be staying there again in the near future. Whether you like walking or just sitting around the log burner rose cottage has it all. We visited a whiskey, gin and vodka distillery as well as a lovely walk around Keswick lake.

We highly recommend visiting this place if you get chance. You will not be disappointed.

Mike and Charlotte

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeska...
1 review
“Perfection! By far the best accommodation I have ever stayed in that also happens to be set in a perfect location.”
Reviewed August 23, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Rose cottage is an absolute gem! The beams show the cottages age straight away but if you look closely you can see how the walls curve and the special detail that's been used to fix modern radiators to these walls. The skylight in the kitchen is glorious, lighting up the cottages modern kitchen. Everything about rose cottage is easy, modern, sophisticated where it needs to be (the bath!!) but then the simplicity of the open fire, the antiques dotted around, the recliner couches :)
Oh we will definitely be back soon. I miss watching the cows walking past the front window for milking ... Yes you really are in a self sufficient little village (with a brewery may I add) perfection! X

Date of stay: August 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
89Jules
Newport -Trefdraeth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful cottage in a truly tranquil setting”
Reviewed June 14, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

I travelled up with my husband to Rose Cottage, both of us looking forward to a week of unwinding and relaxing.
The cottage and its location were perfect! We were very lucky with the weather too. Rose Cottage is so beautiful inside and out and the gardens are gorgeous. We spent a lot of time outdoors or sat in the conservatory.
Our dogs enjoyed the many walks we found from the front door, it was lovely not to have to drive anywhere!
Good local pubs too.

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amy P
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Amazing, absolutely amazing!”
Reviewed May 27, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Had the best weekend in this lovely cottage. With easy access to walks around Heskett Newmarket and a lovely pub just on the door step it is the ideal holiday place. The cottage is kept lovely and has a real homely feeling about it, you find it very easy to get comfortable there. It is one of the places you could quite easily stay forever.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
3FMB
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Cycling and relaxing in october”
Reviewed February 19, 2016 for a stay in October 2015

Brilliant cottage - cosy, comfortable and clean. Super welcome pack was appreciated and felt very at home. Would definitely return.

Great location for getting out and about the area and was a stone's throw from fantastic local pub - The Old Crowne too; well worth a few visits to sample the beers brewed n site.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing