We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to stay for great food & drink with comfy accommodation.”
Review of Highland Drove Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Highland Drove Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Firstly the post code is wrong on Trip Advisor. Should be 9NA. Say. Nav. Sent me up the A6. Went to the Highland Drove for a fishing holiday. The place is well located for Penrith and the M6. The food is of a high standard and good value. The rooms are very clean, but could do with a little updating. For the price, you cannot complain. They have everything you need make your stay comfortable. I will certainly be heading there again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (93)
There are newer reviews for Highland Drove Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 93 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

Called in with friends for a quick supper without booking. First greeting when we asked if we could get food at 7pm "have you booked" and surrounded by empty tables in the upstairs food area! However, we then spoke to the lady behind the bar who organised drinks, pushed and set tables together and was charming. Then we waited, and waited, and waited. Hoping to be back on the river by 8.30 was a forlorn hope. A waitress had gone home sick and our lovely lady seemed to be running everything. The steak, scampi and fish when it arrived at 8.30 was excellent but wished we had been warned about the wait on arrival. Beer, local Eden brewery, was wonderful.
We will go back, just not when we mind about how long it takes, and hope this was a one off through no fault of the staff who remained on duty.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank PoppyCaravan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2013

Were looking for a 2nd (of 3) night stopover whilst cycling the C2C. This was the perfect stop before the big hills. Only slightly off the offical route on our map, and a little further so didn't feel cheated on the mileage! Warm and friendly greeting. Room was very clean and well appointed with a lovely shower to refresh after a long days cycling. Our evening meal was excellent, Paul (son of owners) and staff were very pleasant and helpful. After a good nights sleep, breakfast in the upstairs dining area was delicious. We ordered packed lunches which were well worth it as not many opportunities after Hartside which was quite early in the day. Just a shame it's not much fun eating out when it's cold/v.wet and windy!! Bikes were locked securely overnight. Nothing appeared too much trouble and would definitely recommend/stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueJ_DavidG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Been coming to the pub for many years as the food and service always good. All our neighbours and friends are now going as well - they all rate it highly! Stayed here on a last minute decision to go to the Lakes following heavy Christmas. Accommodation good - room warm, new shower bathroom facilities. Bed was very comfortable. Food as always is good and well presented. If you just want a bar snack the quality is equally good. Usually there is a good choice of beers -the house beer is good. Good wine list and not too overpriced.
I would stress this is a pub with rooms -not a hotel. All the same a good place for an overnight stop or even as base for longer stays. Landlord is always friendly, welcoming and efficient as such the whole place runs smoothly. As my son, who has travelled to over 45 countries and been here many times,says this is a quintiessential English pub something we should cherish and realise we are lucky they still exist and of this quality.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ninebanks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The room was cold with a very poor shower. The service is below par and the owner always seams put out if you ask for anything. Cyclist doing the c2c don't bother asking for breakfast before 8am because the response is dreadful.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Paulerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Superb warm welcome by the fireside after a rainy day on the C2C ride. Excellent food and service. Lovely bedroom and the landlord went out of his way to help us by giving us a lift into town adn going the extra mile to see that we were all right after a mishap.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robhub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Had a meal here after seeing a sign on the main road and deciding to give it a try. Did wonder where we were going driving along country lanes in the dark, could easily have missed the pub as just off the main road running through the village. The landlord was very friendly from the start and showed us through to the restaurant, it was empty as we were quite early, but it was very cosy and inviting and nicely decorated. The food order was taken with some friendly chatter from the landlord and arrived quickly. The food was excellent, couldn't fault it at all and great value. We fully intended to go back the next evening but changed our minds and went to the sister pub The Cross Keys - big mistake. Would highly recommend this pub.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Great Salkeld
0.0 mi away
Roundthorn Country House
0.0 mi away
Travelodge Penrith
Travelodge Penrith
#9 of 11 in Penrith
450 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Miners Arms
The Miners Arms
#4 of 14 in Alston
73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Wayfarers Independent Hostel
0.0 mi away
The Old Croft House
The Old Croft House
#5 of 25 in Kirkby Stephen
158 reviews
0.0 mi away
Acorn Guest House
Acorn Guest House
#16 of 65 in Penrith
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Highland Drove Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Highland Drove Inn

Address: | Penrith, Great Salkeld, Penrith CA11 9NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Eden District > Penrith > Great Salkeld
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Great Salkeld
Price Range: $115 - $122 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Highland Drove Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Drove Hotel Penrith

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing