We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Spacious well equipped house in beautiful area”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
8 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Allithwaite, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 8 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SteveH600...
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Spacious well equipped house in beautiful area”
Reviewed August 26, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We booked this property a few months ago and a less than favourable review appeared between the booking and the holiday, mainly concerned around cleanliness. We contacted the owner prior to travel who asked us to contact him should we have any concerns upon our arrival. Suffice to say we had no such need. The cleanliness was fine. This house is spacious and very well equipped with all devices working properly. On the ground floor are two bedrooms, a twin or double on request and bunks. The rooms are separated by a "Jack and Jill" bathroom with bath and shower over and WC. On the first floor is the kitchen, main lounge diner, utility room with WC and conservatory. The lounge has a Smart HD TV with Freesat and DVD player. Stable WiFi connection available. An electric fire is capable of warming the area on a cold evening. On the second floor is a large double bedroom, shower room and mezzanine with settee. Beds and bedding were clean and comfortable. Washing machine, tumble dryer and dishwasher were all put to good use. Gas Central Heating was not tested but seemed fine. Some parts of the house were a little "tired" such as condensation in the double glazed units and wobbly bits in the kitchen area, but none of these affected the enjoyment of our holiday. A relatively late arrival time of 4 pm is requested with a more normal departure time of 10 am. Parking is available for two cars in designated places. An enclosed garden and decking area is accessible from the conservatory on the first floor (being a sloping site). The garden is basically maintained and has a rotary dryer. The property is on a complex adjacent to a farm in a very rural setting and therefore some insects and spiders have to be expected, but none more than usual. All in all a very good property at what we thought was good value.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashleighj...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great stay but overall cleanliness could be improved”
Reviewed July 8, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
5
people found this review helpful

I stayed at Boarbank Farm for 4 nights at the beginning of July. On arrival at the house I was extremely impressed with the size of the house and the garden. The rooms where a great size and I loved the conservatory. However the overall cleanliness of the house was very poor. The toilets where clean which was good however there was lots of dust and cob webs in all rooms throughout the house and the floors where stained. This was very disappointing as it is a lovely house in a great location. On the first night I found myself cleaning all of the rooms especially the kitchen. The trays within the over where extremely greasy which is probably from previous occupants not cleaning them however I feel that the person in charge of the up keeping and cleaning of the house should be checking this before new occupants arrive. The bathroom on the ground floor was very damp and after the first morning of using the shower we then could not use this for the rest of the week due to the room becoming very damp however the toilet and shower on the top floor was clean and comfortable to use. Overall I enjoyed my stay at Boarbank Farm but wouldn't return as having to mop the floors and clean the house on arrival definitely ruined part of the first night.

Date of stay: July 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smart_mum
Swadlincote England
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
Reviewed October 10, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Very comfortable and unusual barn conversion. Well equipped kitchen but window lock broken which could be an issue if children stay as the window as a window seat below it. Some issues with the dishwasher not emptying fully. Very spacious living acomodation and the conservatory gives access to a good sized garden. Garden is pretty secure if you have dogs. Lovely quiet location. The pheasant inn in allithwaite is worth a visit. Great food and friendly staff. Overall a great place to stay within reach of Windermere and Coniston.

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Max_Power...
Shropshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“cosy, well-equipped, comfortable and clean.”
Reviewed January 16, 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Could not fault our stay at Boarbank farm. We had everything we needed for a fantastic winter break in the Lake District.
The 3 story barn conversion was spacious and comfortable. We especially loved watching the stars through the skylight in the upstairs bedroom.
The kitchen was well equipped, enabling us to enjoy hearty meals at minimum cost, and snuggling infront of the most realitic coal-effect electric fire was simply pleasurable, with the wind blowing outside ( and no mess).
We highly recommend this accommodation.

Date of stay: January 2015
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 9, 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Date of stay: August 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing