We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Bank field House”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Bankfield House

The house from the paddock
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house from the paddock
The Green Bedroom The Red Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
87 reviews
The house from the paddock
The Green Bedroom
The Red Bedroom
The view from the front of the house
Sand bedroom
The Dining Conservatory
Wild flowers on our driveway
The house from the driveway
Another picture of the Green Bedroom
The patio
The patio ,ideal for BBQ's and pre dinner drinks
The Lounge
The Snug
Morecambe Bay from the paddock
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Allithwaite, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 87 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Natalie W
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Bank field House”
Reviewed December 8, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

I stayed here for my annual Birthday get together and everyone loved the house. The owners are lovely, friendly and very good at answering any questions or concerns. the directions were brilliant especially for un confident drivers.

The house is only 15 minutes drive from Cartmel and even less to Grange over Sands and so easy to find; thanks to The owners. The property had loads of space and idea base for holidays and days out.

Brilliant time, loved the house and I will definitely be revisiting.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 11, 2017
hi Natalie,
Thank you for such a lovely review and taking the time to post it.
We love getting feedback from our guests ...... it gives us the feelgood factor!!!!!
Hope to see you all again soon,
All the very best,
Helen and Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NatalieS4...
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect trip in a beautiful house yet again!!”
Reviewed November 13, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Myself and a group of friends visited Bankfield House when the owners were just starting to rent it out and we swore we would come back one day as we loved the house so much. Five years later and we were back. There was 13 of us and a dog and what a wonderful time we had. The property has lots of charm still and beautiful surroundings. The pub down the hill is lovely (although the hill back up when you are full, not so much, ha!) We loved the conservatory and had a big Sunday lunch in there using the hot plates. In the evening, the two lounges were great to have drinks and play games! The weather was beautiful and the stars are night were breathtaking.
The kitchen is extremely well stocked (although we couldn't find a potato peeler for our mash but literally had everything else you could think of) One thing we would say is that a few of the mattresses were quite squeaky and perhaps need updating soon but it didn't affect our time there, LOVED it.
We will be back...it might be another 5 years...but we will be back. It was quite interesting looking back to what had changed in 5 years for us all so we would like to do it again.
Thank you so much xx

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 28, 2017
Hi Natalie,
Thank you for such a lovely review and it was so nice to see you all again....don't leave it so long until you return !!!!
Sine your visit we have already replaced a couple of mattresses ...so you must be a mind reader ! We did have a couple of potato peelers in the top kitchen drawer but they have disappeared !!!! Thanks for letting us know ...bought three today in Grange so we now have reserve !
Best regards to you all,
Helen and Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wirral, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 28, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review.
We love getting feedback from our guests...its like a pat on the back for doing things well !!!
Hope to see you all again,
Best regards,
Helen and Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Samuel H
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place, what more to say?”
Reviewed October 6, 2017 for a stay in January 2015

Fantastic place and area, we stayed here a few years ago and are returning soon.
Glad the reviews have shown it's as great as it was when we went.

The library was fantastic, favorite room easily.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan T
Khao Lak, Thailand
1 review
“A great place for a family reunion”
Reviewed August 16, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Ten adults, one toddler and one dog all fitted comfortably in to this large house. The kitchen had all the facilities you could think of for catering for so many, including an electric wine cooler for the fizz.
The conservatory was perfect for meal times, we only had to be inventive to keep the sun out of our eyes during some evening meals. A pleasant patio outside the conservatory, with barbecue for use when weather permits, a nice area to read a book or knit or just to be out of doors.
The more than adequate supply of bathrooms and showers and endless hot water, made those practicalities easy.
Close by to Grange on the sands for, some shopping for provisions and gifts, the promenade on Morecambe Bay and Cartmel for culture and horse racing. Also within easy access to large parts of the lake district. Also plenty of space to park several cars.
It all worked very well for our reunion and celebrations and would certainly consider going there again if the occasion and need should arise.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2017
Hi Sue,
Thank you for taking the time to post such an informative review. We are very happy to have provided the venue for your very special occasion.
Hope your journey home went well.
We have already sorted the couple of points you kindly brought to our attention...this feedback from our guests is so important .

Best regards,
Helen and Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2017
Thank you Rose for such a lovely review...glad you all had a great time and we hope that we see you all again sometime .It is nice for us to receive reviews , but more importantly for other possible guests to read.
Very best wishes,
Helen and Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Janet P
1 review
“Fabulous weekend”
Reviewed June 7, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We are a family of 14 spreading across 3 generations (and Alfie the dog!) who stayed here for a weekend in May for a holiday. We had a wonderful time and didn't feel overcrowded at all. The enclosed garden was perfect for the dog with fabulous views and lots of space for garden games. We had a lovely evening sat out for a BBQ on the Saturday, and when it got too cold we moved into the brilliant conservatory with the long table that fit the whole family. The location was perfect to drive out to see the Lakes and we had a lovely walk into Grange-over-Sands on Sunday morning. Some of the family left on Sunday so the rest of us went to the lovely local pub, The Pheasant, for a meal. The food, drink and atmosphere was fantastic and we left all wishing it was our local! We would like to thank both Helen and Eric for making us so welcome and for the much appreciated welcome pack! We had a truly fantastic weekend and will definitely be back next year!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2017
Hi Jan,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review.It is so rewarding when we get feed back from our guests !
Looking forward to your next visit and hope you are as lucky with the weather...until then stay happy and healthy,
Best wishes,
Helen and Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing