We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic place, what more to say?”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Bankfield House

The house from the paddock
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house from the paddock
The Green Bedroom The Red Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
87 reviews
The house from the paddock
The Green Bedroom
The Red Bedroom
The view from the front of the house
Sand bedroom
The Dining Conservatory
Wild flowers on our driveway
The house from the driveway
Another picture of the Green Bedroom
The patio
The patio ,ideal for BBQ's and pre dinner drinks
The Lounge
The Snug
Morecambe Bay from the paddock
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Allithwaite, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 87 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Samuel H
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic place, what more to say?”
Reviewed October 6, 2017 for a stay in January 2015

Fantastic place and area, we stayed here a few years ago and are returning soon.
Glad the reviews have shown it's as great as it was when we went.

The library was fantastic, favorite room easily.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susan T
Khao Lak, Thailand
1 review
“A great place for a family reunion”
Reviewed August 16, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Ten adults, one toddler and one dog all fitted comfortably in to this large house. The kitchen had all the facilities you could think of for catering for so many, including an electric wine cooler for the fizz.
The conservatory was perfect for meal times, we only had to be inventive to keep the sun out of our eyes during some evening meals. A pleasant patio outside the conservatory, with barbecue for use when weather permits, a nice area to read a book or knit or just to be out of doors.
The more than adequate supply of bathrooms and showers and endless hot water, made those practicalities easy.
Close by to Grange on the sands for, some shopping for provisions and gifts, the promenade on Morecambe Bay and Cartmel for culture and horse racing. Also within easy access to large parts of the lake district. Also plenty of space to park several cars.
It all worked very well for our reunion and celebrations and would certainly consider going there again if the occasion and need should arise.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2017
Hi Sue,
Thank you for taking the time to post such an informative review. We are very happy to have provided the venue for your very special occasion.
Hope your journey home went well.
We have already sorted the couple of points you kindly brought to our attention...this feedback from our guests is so important .

Best regards,
Helen and Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 29, 2017
Thank you Rose for such a lovely review...glad you all had a great time and we hope that we see you all again sometime .It is nice for us to receive reviews , but more importantly for other possible guests to read.
Very best wishes,
Helen and Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Janet P
1 review
“Fabulous weekend”
Reviewed June 7, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We are a family of 14 spreading across 3 generations (and Alfie the dog!) who stayed here for a weekend in May for a holiday. We had a wonderful time and didn't feel overcrowded at all. The enclosed garden was perfect for the dog with fabulous views and lots of space for garden games. We had a lovely evening sat out for a BBQ on the Saturday, and when it got too cold we moved into the brilliant conservatory with the long table that fit the whole family. The location was perfect to drive out to see the Lakes and we had a lovely walk into Grange-over-Sands on Sunday morning. Some of the family left on Sunday so the rest of us went to the lovely local pub, The Pheasant, for a meal. The food, drink and atmosphere was fantastic and we left all wishing it was our local! We would like to thank both Helen and Eric for making us so welcome and for the much appreciated welcome pack! We had a truly fantastic weekend and will definitely be back next year!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2017
Hi Jan,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a wonderful review.It is so rewarding when we get feed back from our guests !
Looking forward to your next visit and hope you are as lucky with the weather...until then stay happy and healthy,
Best wishes,
Helen and Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 2, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 6, 2017
Thank you for posting such a lovely review , it was a pleasure for us to help you all celebrate your special occasions and we hope we see you back sometime.
Our very best wishes,
Helen and Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
PaintYour...
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A lovely place for a family gathering”
Reviewed April 15, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Bankfield House. It easily accommodated 12 of us (plus a Westie) and we had a lovely family gathering of three generations, great location for travellling from Sunderland, Manchester and Glasgow.
The local areas (Grange over Sands, Cartmel) are all walkable and very pleasant, we loved the bay and promenade area, and there are some excellent places to eat - cafes, pubs and 'Michelin Star' restaurant. The southern and western lakes are easily accessible and a lovely picturesque drive.
The house is comfortable and homely, the conservatory and the long table was well used for family meals and evening relaxation and discussions.
The views from the house and the patio area are stunning, our dog loved the garden and we enjoyed watching the adjacent owner's lovely dog playing on their paddock and the occasional visit from the neighbour's cats as they ventured through the garden.
We would consider staying here again if we are planning to revisit the area

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 27, 2017
Hi John,
Thank you for taking the time to post such a detailed and informative review.
This is great for anyone thinking of visiting Bankfield House and of course for us getting such great feedback.
Our dog , Briagha , always likes to say hello to all our guests ?
Hope to see you back if you decide to re-visit the area.
Best regards,
Helen and Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffwj
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Stay”
Reviewed April 10, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

13 of us stayed at Bankfied House and it was perfect for our rabble of adults, children and dogs. Plenty of room for everyone and the bonus of a cosy Aga in the kitchen. We didn't want for anything and the owners were delightful. Plus we had a great pub on the doorstep and plenty of walks to keep us occupied.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2017
Hi Saffron,
Thank you for your kind words ,it is great when we get such positive feedback from our guests.You are all welcome back anytime !
Best regards,
Helen and Eric
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing