We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“14”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Bankfield House

The house from the paddock
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house from the paddock
The Green Bedroom The Red Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
86 reviews
The house from the paddock
The Green Bedroom
The Red Bedroom
The view from the front of the house
Sand bedroom
The Dining Conservatory
Wild flowers on our driveway
The house from the driveway
Another picture of the Green Bedroom
The patio
The patio ,ideal for BBQ's and pre dinner drinks
The Lounge
The Snug
Morecambe Bay from the paddock
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Allithwaite, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 86 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
EGJ711
Durham
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“14”
Reviewed July 31, 2015 for a stay in July 2015


Week spent in Bankfield house with a party of 9 adults, 5 kids and 2 dogs.
House was lovely and clean, towels provided and bedrooms spacious and comfy and enough room to make most into family rooms.
Plenty of space for our party not to feel on top of each other, although the kitchen did feel slightly cluttered with a lot of bits on the work surface, along with the extra kitchen table and chairs.
House itself is maintained for a house of its age.
The kids spent a lot of time in the garden which is secure. Plenty of car parking space.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
harding12...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic stay.”
Reviewed July 12, 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Bankfield house is a beautiful house in lovely surroundings. Everything a large family group with 2 dogs could possibly need, very clean, spacious,and well equipped . The garden is perfect for all and Helen and Eric have thought of all the touches to make your stay easy and relaxing. planning our next stay already!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything and the space.
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 13, 2015
So glad you enjoyed your stay at Bankfield House .We always like to get feedback from our guests.
Looking forward to welcoming you back.

All the very best,

Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
andy S
1 review
“Great house for a family get together”
Reviewed June 17, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

We were a party of twelve adults and one large dog. We stayed for three nights and had a great time. Bankfield house is a very spacious comfortable and well presented property. The kitchen is equipped with everything needed for cooking large family meals. The rooms are all lovely. We took advantage of the good weather and had a BBQ in the garden on the first night. The large conservatory was great for meals in. All in all, a fantastic stay. Many thanks to Eric and Helen for a warm welcome and for a very nice welcome pack.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 18, 2015
Hi Andrew,
Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to post the review.
Looking forward to seeing you all again

Best regards,
Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GlenDavid...
1 review
“1st class”
Reviewed June 7, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Stayed at Bankfield House for a weekend to celebrate a family birthday.House is fantastic, full of character and is very well stocked with all those things you forget to take away with you. Garden is great for the kids and has wonderful views. Planning returning for another stay next year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2015
Glad you all enjoyed yourselves and we do hope we see you back here in the not too distant future......haste ye back !!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
zulieka20...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed May 20, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling from Aberdeen, Edinburgh and Portsmouth my family and I have just returned from a week spent at Bankfield House. We loved every minute of our stay-it truly is a fabulous house with everything you need supplied-homely and comfortable. The house has spacious rooms and a lovely ambiance.
We enjoyed breakfast in the kitchen with the AGA giving that country kitchen feel-a great place to start the day. Out and about around the beautiful Lake District through the day knowing we would return to chilled and relaxed family dinners in the spacious conservatory was perfect...followed by games of scrabble and Pictionary (supplied) in one of the lounges. My 1 year old grandson loved the space to crawl around and he slept like a log every night in the travel cot supplied by Eric and Helen..proving he felt at home here. We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay...cannot fault this as a place to stay, comfortable spacious rooms, plenty of space for being together or having time for yourself, great safe garden for the dogs. Our hosts Eric and Helen were just lovely. We plan to return as all in all--"Just Perfect.."

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 21, 2015
Hi Heather,
Thank you for taking the time to post such a lovely review...it is very rewarding to us both to get such feedback from our guests.We can only say we look forward to seeing you all again and in the meantime stay happy and healthy,
All the very best,

Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rebecca26...
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“The Lakers '15”
Reviewed April 13, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Our family consisted of 12 adults and 3 children and we all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! The house is nice and spacious so we all had enough room to mill about without feeling like we were ontop of eachother. We especially loved the large dining area in the conservatory and ate as a family every evening. Considering it is a large house, the heating had no problem getting the house nice and toasty, we had great weather so only needed to take the chill off later in the day. We all loved the bathrooms as there was enough for everyone we and found the bathroom particularly relaxing. All our bedrooms were lovely and spacious but we did give this a 4/5 star rating because we could have done with a little more storage space and a few of the beds weren't particularly comfortable unfortunately. We remedied this with extra duvets ontop of the mattresses to pad them out. We would suggest families who get an online shop delivered to the house not to go too over the top on frozen items as we found that there wasn't enough room and had to refrigerate most things instead. This was only because there were so many of us and so we had quite a big shop.
I must say when booking the holiday Helen and Eric were very helpful and friendly and couldn't do more for us.
The area is lovely and there are plenty of places to visit by car, with a lovely walk to grange village which takes about an hour on foot and 5 minutes by car. Bowness is a lovely day out and Ducky Farm near Bankfield House is amazing for the kids. The only downside was having grandparents walking up and down jack hill to the local pub etc as it was pretty steep!
I would definitely recommend this accommodation to other families and friends alike.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 15, 2015
Thank you for your kind comments and we will take at look at increasing the food freezing capacity,although this is the first time anyone has mentioned it.We are glad you enjoyed yourselves and if you can let us know which paricular beds yoi did not like we will check out the mattresses.
Best regards,

Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lesta73
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An amazing, spacious, warm and friendly house”
Reviewed March 18, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

OMG, what a fab time we all had at Bankfield House! It was a family occasion and there were 8 adults, 1 teenager and 3 boys 3 yrs and under - 12 in total and 2 Labradors. It was in a great location for Grange, Cartmel and Windermere was only 15 mins away in the car. The paddock was brilliant for the dogs to wander around safely, it would have been used by the boys if the weather had been warmer, but there was far too much to do to stay in. We had great family fun playing games in the conservatory, which was huge with a very welcoming log fire. Think I have covered everything - Helen and Eric were on hand if we needed anything, and thank you for my lovely plant and card for my birthday too, what a lovely thing to do. I can recommend this house - it lacked for nothing !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 19, 2015
Hi Jan,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review.We love it when we get such positive feedback from our guests.
So glad you all enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to welcoming you all back in not too distant future.

Best regards,

Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing