We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An amazing, spacious, warm and friendly house”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Bankfield House

The house from the paddock
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house from the paddock
The Green Bedroom The Red Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
87 reviews
The house from the paddock
The Green Bedroom
The Red Bedroom
The view from the front of the house
Sand bedroom
The Dining Conservatory
Wild flowers on our driveway
The house from the driveway
Another picture of the Green Bedroom
The patio
The patio ,ideal for BBQ's and pre dinner drinks
The Lounge
The Snug
Morecambe Bay from the paddock
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Allithwaite, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 87 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
lesta73
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An amazing, spacious, warm and friendly house”
Reviewed March 18, 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

OMG, what a fab time we all had at Bankfield House! It was a family occasion and there were 8 adults, 1 teenager and 3 boys 3 yrs and under - 12 in total and 2 Labradors. It was in a great location for Grange, Cartmel and Windermere was only 15 mins away in the car. The paddock was brilliant for the dogs to wander around safely, it would have been used by the boys if the weather had been warmer, but there was far too much to do to stay in. We had great family fun playing games in the conservatory, which was huge with a very welcoming log fire. Think I have covered everything - Helen and Eric were on hand if we needed anything, and thank you for my lovely plant and card for my birthday too, what a lovely thing to do. I can recommend this house - it lacked for nothing !

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 19, 2015
Hi Jan,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review.We love it when we get such positive feedback from our guests.
So glad you all enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to welcoming you all back in not too distant future.

Best regards,

Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
damoclapp...
Leyland, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Fantastic Way to Bring in the New Year!!”
Reviewed January 12, 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at Bankfield House for a week including New Years Eve 2014. We had 5 families including 9 adults and 6 children ranging from under 2 years to 10 years old and the house was simply perfect for us!!

Such a great time was had by everyone and the way the house is laid out for large visiting parties simply cannot be faulted, everyone felt they had their own space when needed and also when all together we never felt cramped in the large main room and large conservatory.

The house was very clean, tidy and warm as well has having pretty much everything you could need short of food and drink, including toys for the little ones! though we did manage to rig up a projector and play station etc for the older kids to use!

Gange Over Sands has all the shops you need and even though it was New Year we managed to get any food or drink we needed as well as a nice afternoon lunch in one of the many fantastic cafes.

Cartmell is also close by with many pubs and the 2 x Michelin Star L'enclume was frequented and loved by one of the couples as to celebrate.

We had such a great time i cannot imagine we will not be back at some point!!

Fantastic house, fantastic owners and a great time had by all!! i only hope the local recycling lorry can cope with the amount we created!!

The Claphams, The Hammonds, The Frasers, The Bowers and Mr Rydeheard!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: such a fantastic house, the architect did a superb job!!
Liked least: nothing, it was perfect for what we wanted
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 12, 2015
thank you so much for your glowing review...we certainly hope to see you all again sometime.
The recycling you left was probably a record !!!!!!!!......but was no problem at all.
Best regards from Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McWilliam...
Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
1 review
“Festive Family Fun!”
Reviewed January 10, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

We had an early Christmas family get together in early December with my partner, three grown children and partners and our two young grandchildren. The house was everything we expected and more and we were touched by the welcome basket left by the owners. We wanted to have a festive family experience together as it is difficult to all get together at Christmas and were pleased that we were allowed to put up a Christmas tree and decorations. Due to the size of our family we wanted somewhere that had plenty of space and the house did not disappoint. Each bedroom was beautifully presented, plenty of bathroom space, a kitchen with everything you need to cook for large parties and fantastic dining space to all sit together in the conservatory. Would highly recommend to large groups and families. A short drive to Grange over Sands and lots of other places of interest.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: spacious property full of character
Liked least: having to leave
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 12, 2015
Hi Ian and family,
Thank you for taking the time to post such a great review.
We are also so happy when our guests tell us how much they enjoyed there stay at Bankfield House.
Stay happy and healthy and we hope to see you all again sometime.
Our very best wishes from Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ian2302_1...
Doha, Qatar
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Stunning House - we (a group of 12) could not have wished for more!!”
Reviewed January 4, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Truly stunning house. Lovely rooms, lovely views - very spacious!! Perfect location.
We were a group of 12 - 4 couples with two of the couples with children / young adults (and one dog)!!.
The house was plenty big enough, with more than enough bathrooms // showers!!
Xmas Day was made for Bankfield House - 12 of us in the conservatory, sat at a big table....lovely!!
We cant recommend the house enough!!
Great thanks to Helen and Eric for welcoming us, and providing the guided tour!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and location
Liked least: The walk up the hill back from the pub.....in the dark (FUN)!!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 12, 2015
Thank you so much for posting such a lovely review.We are always pleased to get fedeback from our guests....hope you have some wonderful memories of your time at Bankfield House and please come back soon.
very best wishes to you all from Eric and helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey H
Blackpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely house to enjoy the lakes”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed at the house in the October half term. A total of 13 stayed from 3 families. The house was a great base for the lakes and all the activities that the lakes has to offer. We took advantage of the great location. The house was lovely and welcoming and had enough space for us all. My son had his 8th birthday whilst there and we enjoyed a lovely tea out at the Pheasant Inn for a treat. We would certainly return and recommend this house. Thank you for a lovely stay.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JayJay11...
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Simply wonderful!”
Reviewed October 20, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed at Bankfield House for a week on 10th October. We are a large family who needed a big house we could use as a base. Our daughter was getting married in Windermere and we wanted to combine this with some good walks and good food. First up - the house was brilliant. No complaints about the beds, everyone slept well. Bedrooms all well presented and inviting. Loved the large kitchen and Aga and the huge conservatory. Plenty of toilets and showers. Secure garden for children and dogs. The house has everything you need and more, from games to dvd's through to washing machine and dryer. Excellent. We had the most amazing chilled out time following a very hectic wedding. We left the dog food at the venue and straight away Eric provided enough food for 3 hungry pugs. The children made good use of the house and garden - they had a great time.

We ate at the local pub The Pheasant and the meal was excellent. We walked into Grange over Sands and up the big hill close to the house. The big hill really was a bit big and quite deceiving but we enjoyed every minute. Windermere is approx 30 minutes away so you can venture a bit further afield if you want to try different walks or lakes. Alas we simply ran out of time. We intended to visit Cartmel's sticky toffee pudding shop but luckily Higginsons (butchers) in Grange over Sands stocked these. So a word of warning on this very bad shop - everything is super delicious. This combined with the Pheasant and a wedding means we have all gone home a little rounder. Superb. Thank you Eric and Helen we loved your holiday home and will return next year.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 20, 2014
Julie and Kevin,
Thank you so very much for such kind words,we are just glad we made your stay enjoyable and that you have such fond memories of your time here at our lovely house.You will have to come back as there is so much more to see and we will welcome with open arms.Stay healthy and happy until we meet again
all the very best from Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoanneTel...
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect for families and friends”
Reviewed October 20, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Perfect stay for a wedding thank you gift for my female family members and bridesmaids.
Very warm, cosey and friendly welcome with stunning views.
Perfect for all ages close to everything you need and Helen and Eric can not do enough for you -They even helped us organise beauticians to come so all 12 of us could have treatments.
We will be back as group of friends and with our extended family

Thank you so much

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: homely feel in excellent location
Liked least: there isn't anything
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 23, 2014
Hi Jo,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review.We are so glad all you ladies had a good time and look forward to meeting you all again,

Eric and Helen
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing