We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful house, ideal for holidaying with young...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Bankfield House

The house from the paddock
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house from the paddock
The Green Bedroom The Red Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
89 reviews
The house from the paddock
The Green Bedroom
The Red Bedroom
The view from the front of the house
Sand bedroom
The Dining Conservatory
Wild flowers on our driveway
The house from the driveway
Another picture of the Green Bedroom
The patio
The patio ,ideal for BBQ's and pre dinner drinks
The Lounge
The Snug
Morecambe Bay from the paddock
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Allithwaite, Cumbria, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 89 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Walsma1
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Beautiful house, ideal for holidaying with young children.”
Reviewed July 1, 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Helen & Eric are great hosts. They responded to my emails prior to arrival, and were there to greet us when we arrived. They showed us around, explained everything and told us about local amenities (pub!) then left us to it. Although they live next door we barely saw them until we left. The house is beautiful, with great sea views from 3 of the bedrooms and a lovely garden with veranda which is where we spent most of our time as the weather was beautiful. This house is perfect if you have young children. Plenty of space, travel cot, highchair, buggy and lots of indoor/outdoor toys available to keep them entertained. My 2 year old loved the massive garden and was out playing constantly. It is totally enclosed too so no need to worry about them getting onto roads or into mischief. I would highly recommend this house to families with children as it has everything. Just wish we'd have booked for longer!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen, veranda, conservatory, bedrooms, views and children's toys available.
Liked least: Going home!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaraFletc...
1 review
“Perfect”
Reviewed May 24, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Had an incredible holiday in such a delightful home.
From the warm welcome to the abundance of thought and care that has gone in to making this not a holiday let but a home.
The toys that had been left out for our 4 year old and 15 month old was age appropriate and a delight to them.
The house encourages a proper family holiday and we had lovely family times eating in kitchen with warmth of aga or enjoying the views with our meals in conservatory.
The views are spectacular.
Our family consists of two adults, two small children and two dogs and we all loved it.
Location to getting places is great.
Thank you for such a lovely holiday and we hope to return next year.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dreamer80...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect house for groups with kids!”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

The house was just what we had hoped, tons of space-which was needed with 3 couples with 5 kids. Lovely kitchen, lots of things for making home cooked meals! Comfy beds and massive conservatory!
Location was good for us, very peaceful but close by amenities and things to do.
Would definitely recommend this house to anyone who wants space and tranquility!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
incheroo
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fabulous house for large family gathering”
Reviewed May 19, 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We stayed at Bankfield House with our extended family ranging in age from 1 - 71! It is a large, comfortable, warm, well equipped house in a beautiful garden with stunning views. There was enough room that we could convene together for dinner in the conservatory but have a bit of quiet time in smaller groups in the three other public rooms. The house is beautifully decorated, we felt very at home and relaxed after our week long stay.
There is so much to see and do in Grange and the surrounding area. We were lucky enough to have fabulous weather while we were there but if it had been raining there were many activities to keep small humans entertained.
We look forward to returning and wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views over Morecambe Bay
Liked least: The oven (slow)
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire...
yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fab house”
Reviewed May 17, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

Warm welcome on arrival, great house plenty of space for young to old ( 2 to 87 ) very well equipped, all bedrooms lovely, even made the reading room into a bedroom for disabled great grandma downstairs Grounds were brill for the kids and dog. We had a fantastic break and hope to return again Thank you Helen and Eric

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lisac17
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect house for a large group”
Reviewed May 5, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

After spending weeks on the internet we finally found this treasure!
12 of our family stayed at Bankfield House to celebrate our mums 70th birthday -3 couples, one 27 yr old, 3 teenagers, a 6 yr old,a 3 week old baby plus one dog!
As previous reviewers have said before the house is very spacious and really well equipped but the photos don't do justice to how lovely the house really is-the space and the views are amazing-our dog was worn out just running around the house and gardens!
A really warm and sociable house yet as a large group we were never on top of each other and as there were 4 toilets and 3 showers there was never a queue for the bathroom!
The bedrooms were fab and we slept in all the available beds plus fold up beds and the only bed that got a complaint was the sofa bed as it dipped a bit in the middle.
Helen and Eric had left a handy welcome pack but had also left a 70th birthday card and flowers for my mum which was a lovely touch and shows they go that one step further to make your stay special.
We all agreed the house was perfect and have already booked to return next year :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views and the space
Liked least: coming home :(
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heather11...
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
“Fantastic spacious house in a great location!”
Reviewed April 17, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We stayed at Bank Field in march, eight adults, one of who was in a wheelchair, and a 3 month old baby. The house complete our stay and made it into a truly fantastic holiday. The house is spacious, wonderfully decorated, has beautiful views across the bay and is great for entertaining and socialising. We had a warm welcome from Helen and Erik who were so helpful throughout our stay. I would recommend the house to anyone and hope to stay there again soon!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house layout inside and out made it great for socialising.
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing