We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent”
other travelers have booked this property
Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lounge
Cottage outside view
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
47 reviews
Lounge
Cottage outside view
Balcony with gas BBQ and seating with table.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 3
Embsay, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 47 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Daistrose...
Nottinghamshire
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed March 6, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

The cottage is in a perfect location, just a nice walk from Skipton.
Facilities within the cottage are very well thought out to make your stay a very comfortable one. On arrival we found the cottage to be very clean.
Information packs were very useful and informative.
The cottage had a touch of luxury in comparison to some we've stayed in which made it all the more enjoyable.
Landlady was very useful when we needed information.
To sum up our stay, it was excellent and would return definitely.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 11, 2018
Thank you so much for such a kind and considerate review. It is truely appreciated. Please come back and stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommo1961
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful, cosy cottage. Highly recommended.”
Reviewed January 24, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Lovejoy Cottage is a real gem. We've stayed in many a cottage over the years and this one is up there with the best.

We found the cottage spotlessly clean almost to the point of disbelief and there are all the home comforts you would expect and then some: the lounge wall has a handy hanger for your guitar/banjo/uke/mandolin.

The property successfully blends the modern with the old-fashioned. For example, pretty much everything electrical is controlled by a remote, but someone still has a Dymo label maker!

Finally, here's a tip: if you want to fill the bathtub, run it slowly as the water is heated on demand. If you run it too fast, the water passes the heat exchanger too quickly to heat up properly - in winter at least. We thought there was a problem (there wasn't) until I realized the situation, luckily before I called the owner.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 28, 2018
Thanks for the great review and helpful comments. I’ll add the ensuite bath fill advice to the owners manual. Yes correct it’s not a fault but just the on demand boiler. Glad you had a great stay : you are very welcome back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
linda0513
Stamford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely cottage”
Reviewed August 16, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

My husband decided to treat me for my birthday but couldn't decide where to take me so I had a little look myself.
We like Yorkshire but didn't want a hotel or b&b, then wow we found this beautiful cottage on here and the reviews swayed us.. I'm glad it did.
From the moment we arrived we knew we found the right place, the living room had a warm snug feel about it, the kitchen with the Aga, the free standing bath in the master bedroom. The bed was so comfy we both slept like babies.
This really is a lovely lovely cottage.
And we will be returning. Thank u again

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 20, 2017
Thank you for writing. We are very happy you had a lovely stay and were happy to share your experiences here. You are. very welcome back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PedroDuba...
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“What a Great Place to Stay”
Reviewed January 27, 2017 for a stay in November 2016

Lovejoy Cottage must be regarded as one of the best cottages we have ever had the pleasure stay in. We wanted for nothing. The place is well furnished and equipped with all the comforts of your own home.

It was a warm and cosy welcoming cottage in exceptional clean condition, tastefully furnished and in an excellent location for exploring the Yorkshire Dales. It is situated in the pleasant village of Embsay which has its own steam railway. The town of Skipton is but 5 minutes drive away and Harrogate, Ilkley and Leeds are within in easy reach.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 31, 2017
Thank you so very much for your review. We are very humbled with your writings. Thank you very much. Please do visit again. Your super review is truely appreciated and we are very pleased you took the trouble to share. Kind regards David
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiler951
1 review
“What a wonderful find”
Reviewed November 18, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We spent 5 nights in the beautiful Lovejoy Cottage in October 2016. We felt privileged to be able to stay at Lovejoy, which is the owners own residence for part of the year. The love and thought they have put into the cottage is there to see and feel.
An ideal base for walking in the Dales or into Skipton to walk the canal. It couldn't be a better location.
Then as evening fell a few strides across the road to the Elm Tree Inn to sample their menu and hospitality. Wonderful
We Will Be Back!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sitting at the kitchen table each morning to read and enjoy a cup of tea warmed by the cooking range
Liked least: Our stay coming to an end!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 19, 2016
Thank you for taking the time out to write a lovely review about Lovejoy Cottage. It is much appreciated. You are very welcome back !
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The overall comfort of the property and its location.
Liked least: There is nothing to dislike in my opinion.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Nov 16, 2016
Thank you for writing - your choice of our cottage home is really appreciated. Have a lovely time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Margaret...
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous cottage in a great location”
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We thought we were onto a good thing just based on the communication with David before we even arrived in the UK. We were not disappointed. The cottage was sparkling clean and had everything we could wish for to make our stay comfortable. The "handbook" was really helpful for us Canadians - washers are really different in the UK than here! Rob the caretaker was super to deal with and made sure we knew where everything was. Couldn't ask for a better location. Easy drives to Skipton, Howarth, Bolton Abbey and a very welcoming pub on the doorstep. We'd go back in a heartbeat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The personal touches - beautiful and homey
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2016
Thank you very much for taking the trouble to write a lovely review. You are very welcome back. Thank you for choosing Lovejoy Cottage.. it is a pleasure to know you are happy.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing