We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Pizza”

Grotto Pizza Bethany Beach
Ranked #35 of 82 Restaurants in Bethany Beach
Cuisines: Pizza
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

The pizza is consistently good and we liked the gelato also. Prices are reasonable for the family. Try the extra cheese and mushrooms.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank hawaiigirl68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    51
    43
    26
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alton, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Greasy unimpressive pizza”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

The only thing Groto's has going for them is that they deliver and they have overwhelmed the competition with locations all up and down the MD/DEL beach area. A couple guys didn't too well the day after we had a few pizzas delivered. That pretty well sums it up.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Billaban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great dine-in, delivery, or carry out.”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Long-time favorite at the Delaware shore. Known for their pizzas (deservedly so), they also have great subs and salads. It's nice to have the option of dining there, getting carry out, or delivery.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank DebDaly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
354 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Heinous Decline of Grotto's”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I recall when Grotto was the best pizza in any shore town anywhere. Nowadays, the costs are prohibitive for family if you want a pizza with more than cheese and/or pepperoni. Take out slices are even worse - small slices. We had two slices and a small soda and it was $10pp - I have had that same meal at other 'family' pizzerias for half that, even the deli at work has a better pizza and at better deal. I wish I had taken a picture of the slices we recieved as they really only had a few strands of shredded cheese on them, hardly any sauce, and I think 3 slices of pepperoni per slice - a topping that used to cover every inch of the pizza.

DIRTY LITTLE SECRET - come back in the off-season and see what the pizza is like. It actually has more than a dusting of cheese, the crust is a bit thicker, and the toppings are more generous. I am not sure what the deal with summertime management or 'rules' is at Grotto, but this is terribly unacceptable. Summertime crowds, despite local or tourist, get treated horribly in terms of food quality and value. Have been a big Grotto proponent for over 30 years, but will not be going back or making referrals to visiting friends. See Surf's Up is you need a pizza in Bethany, about 50 paces west of this location down Garfield Pkwy.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank originalXfactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Virginia, United States
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome!”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I have never eaten at a Grotto pizza before. After the first bite I was hooked. We went here three times in 5 days. This was the best pizza I have eaten!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Valerie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grotto Pizza Bethany Beach also viewed

 

Been to Grotto Pizza Bethany Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing