We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dry and Flavorless” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mango's

Mango's
Ranked #28 of 75 Restaurants in Bethany Beach
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Beyond
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dry and Flavorless”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

While the service at Mango's is good, I found the Mango Combo (chicken and shrimp) to be quite disappointing. The chicken was dry and flavorless while the shrimp had been over fried to the point of being flavorless. I peeled the heavy, greasy batter off the shrimp and found that even the shrimp themselves had not been spared the cook's abuses. If not for the sauce, the chicken would have been inedible.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mashuganah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    75
    69
    27
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
355 reviews
195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Love the Island Feel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

The atmosphere is the huge selling point - the food and drinks are a bit average. Love the fish tank, dock piers and rope, the local music and paraphernalia, great ocean deck and view, but the food just does not live up to the cost or expectations. Jerk chicken was dry and small portions all around. Dinner came out on top of our apps a few times we have visited, so we were expecting that. Was a much better value and experience when this place opened. Crowd is hit or miss depending on season - a bit of the rowdy empty-nesters-that-think-they-are-30 crowd can sometimes populate the bar weekdays in summertime.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank originalXfactor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great happy hour with a nice view of the beach!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

This is our go to place after spending the morning on the beach! Mid-afternoon happy hour with Mangorita's that really hit the spot! This is the best spot in downtown Bethany!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank wilj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia Suburbs
Level Contributor
114 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Decent food nice view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were seated right by the windows, so we had a nice view of the ocean and boardwalk. The server was very friendly. Drinks, and food were served timely. The 4 of us enjoyed our meals. I had the jerk spiced scallops where were decent. The restaurant is large inside. It was really empty on the night we were there. It could get noisy and I could see that service could suffer if it were full. They do have an interesting bar perched up in the middle of the restaurant which seems more Ocean City style. No one was as it when we were there. They is a large mix of foods from seafood to burgers, some pasta, salads. My family really liked their piña coladas. Thought they were the best they had in the various restaurants that week. So all in all it was a good experience for us. Had it been packed it might be a different story.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MalvernGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant at the beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2012

I wish we'd discovered this place earlier in the week of our vacation. Great seafood, great burgers, fun atmosphere, and genuinely excellent and friendly service. We had a mishap with a ketchup bottle (the afternoon heat built up pressure and it exploded all over 3 of us). The staff handled things "above and beyond" - apologized, and gave free t-shirts to the folks whose shirts had ketchup all over them. The positive way they handled the mishap turned the whole event into a funny story, rather than a vacation/dining disaster.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank OPCpilgrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mango's also viewed

 
Bethany Beach, DE
Bethany Beach, DE
 

Been to Mango's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing