We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worst experience ever!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of DiFebo's Restaurant & Deli

DiFebo's Restaurant & Deli
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: DiFebo's is family owned and operated. We are an authentic Italian family serving our family recipes since 1989. We have been awarded the BEST of DELAWARE award many tears running for Best Italian! We are known for our famous meatballs and authentic Red Sauce, Gravy as well as our veal and seafood dishes. We are neighborhood Italian, Coastal Italian and just plain old Authentic Italian!
Silver Spring, Maryland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Worst experience ever!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

It's hard to know where to even begin. The evening was slow-paced and simply uncomfortable.

I went to DiFebo's with my husband and my parents for dinner on 7/22/13, which was a Monday night. All four of us enjoy going out and having a good time, hey, we're at the beach!

I was dropped off at the front to see if there was a wait while my family found parking. When I entered the restaurant I was not greeted. I stood in front of the host podium while two employees attempted to assist another customer, who then was quickly seated. After five minutes, still no acknowledgement that I was there. At that point, my family came in and asked if there was a wait, to which I replied I did not know because no one had spoken to me. I stepped closer to the podium, said hello and finally was greeted. I asked if there was a wait, there was not. We were seated promptly in the middle of the dining room.

Our server arrived, said hello and that she'd be taking care of us this evening. And then just stood there. Didn't ask if we wanted anything to drink, didn't tell us what the specials were. Just strange, uncomfortable silence. I can't explain it, it was just weird. We spoke up and ordered our drinks and she went about her business. Shortly after we placed our drink orders, a party of four was seated at the table next to us. Our waitress went over and greeted them warmly, rattled off the specials, asked if they wanted drinks, how was everybody, that's so great, etc etc. Complete opposite of the service we received. At this point, I was just confused.

After looking over the menu, we were ready to order. Our waitress returned with our drinks and we told her we were ready to order. She responded, "Oh. Okay. Just let me set this drink tray down and I'll be with you shortly." It felt like it was an inconvenience for her to take our order. She returned and took it. My husband ordered the chicken parmesan with alfredo sauce. My dad ordered the antipasti and my mom ordered the chicken marsala. I ordered the salmon with faro (fancy word for barley) and I asked if I could have a side of bread with it. She responded, "Oh, everyone gets bread." Really? Where is it then? At this point, we'd been sitting there for a good twenty minutes. I had figured we'd receive a bread basket for our table. No such luck.

You want bread at DiFebo's? Good luck chasing down the bread girl. Seriously. They have one person who has a basket of bread and a pair of tongs. You have to ask them for bread. At no point, did someone come up and offer us bread. Once we asked for bread, the bread girl placed one piece of bread onto each of our plates and then quickly vacated the area. It felt like it was a problem that we wanted bread! However, the bread was decent.

We waited for a long time after we placed our orders. My dad flagged down the bread girl and she came over. "Would you like a piece of bread?" she asked, to which my dad replied, "I would like two pieces of bread." That was not a problem, thank goodness.

It took well over forty minutes for our food to arrive. The portions were huge, which is good because the prices are high. Be prepared to spend $25-40 per entree. However, to be honest, the quality of food does not reflect the high prices. I would prefer smaller portions of higher quality food over a massive plate of mid-quality food. Again, the food was good, but not great.

No one was able to finish their meals, so we asked for the food to be boxed up. Our waitress asked if we wanted dessert, which we did. We ordered the cookie sampler platter. And I wish I was joking, but it took TWENTY minutes for it to come out. Now, our waitress did tell us multiple times, "Your cookies are on the way" and "The cookies will be right out." But they weren't. It seriously took twenty minutes for a plate with six cookies on it to arrive. Why? They're cookies. I'm pretty sure they had been sitting in a fridge on the very plate they came out on. The cookies were mediocre at best, most of them were some variation of macaroons. Nothing fancy.

All in all, I had a terrible time at DiFebo's. I felt like it was a hassle for our waitress to do her job. As if we were making her life more difficult by eating at the restaurant she works at. You're paid to be there. It's your job. We are not difficult people to please, yet we do expect a certain level of common courtesy when we go to a "high-end" restaurant. We had to ask for everything we wanted. We were not offered bread or drink refills. We had to greet the staff when we arrived. I felt like we were a burden. Considering the prices of everything on the menu, I would think that the service would reflect that. It absolutely does not. I will not return to DiFebo's, it is highly overrated.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KatieK23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa D, Owner at DiFebo's Restaurant & Deli, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for sharing your opinion with us, we will take your entire review into our service meeting so that we can continue to better ourselves. Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    88
    33
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
VA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good Italian”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

A little fancy for a beach restaurant, but some people like that "getting dressed up" feeling. The food was quite tasty and the service was just right. I would go back here again!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MyDogCiara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa D, Owner at DiFebo's Restaurant & Deli, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you so much , we will continue to do our best! Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Elena Province, Ecuador
1 review
“Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

My wife and I went there on 7/25/13 when the rest ou our group went for seafood. We wer very pleased with the service and food. We had the calamari as an appetizer and the lobster and crab ravioli and seared salmon for dinner. All was fantastic. We make an annual trip to Bethany Beach and this will be in line for a return trip next year!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RickB740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa D, Owner at DiFebo's Restaurant & Deli, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
We absolutely LOVE what we do...thank you for taking time to share your opinion:)
So glad we are on your Bethany "to do" list xxx - Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“First and Last Visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

First I'd like to say that until now, I've never had a restaurant make me feel uncomfortable because I'm allergic to dairy. Usually they let me know what to avoid and are quite accommodating. DiFebo's made me uncomfortable.

But that's only the beginning! It began when we ordered a bottle of wine. The server returned with a different wine, explaining that they were out of the wine we ordered. As she was about to open the bottle (which she said was comparable), my husband asked the price. It was $48, a lot more than the $33 bottle that we originally ordered. We asked if we could have the bottle at the original bottle's price since other restaurants have done this for us. We were refused by the manager. We ordered a different bottle.

Three of us ordered calamari appetizers. The server returned and said that they were out of calamari. It is 7:00 pm at the height of the tourist season on a Sunday evening! We were offered one free Bruschetta appetizer in place of the calamari for three.

The server came over and told me not to eat the bread. They brush butter over it. Couldn't they offer me bread without butter? I didn't even ask.

My husband ordered the wahoo medium well done. It came rare and had to be sent back. He asked if he could substitute spinach for cold greens and was told that there would be a $4.00 charge for substitutions. He asked if the greens could be on the side, but when his meal arrived the wahoo was sitting on the greens.

My friend asked to substitute potatoes for the greens and agreed to a $6.00 substitution charge. The server returned later and changed the substitution charge to $8.00. The very small scoop of mashed potatoes tasted like box flakes.

My shrimp was very good but less than lukewarm. My friend's dish was also cool. We didn't send them back because we were tired of complaining.

The reason we were tired of complaining was that it took a long time to get our entrees. We sat down in this restaurant at 6:30 and our entrees arrived after 8 pm. During our wait we complained to the manager a couple of times. She and the server continually said the food would be out shortly. It wasn't.

The restaurant waived the charge on the bottle of wine and the $6.00 substitution charge, but it wasn't worth the aggravation. My first and last visit to DiFebo's.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Bonnie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa D, Owner at DiFebo's Restaurant & Deli, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
In response to your review and after discussing it with our whole staff in detail, there seem to be multiple discrepancies.

I have such a passion for this business and never want to invalidate a customer, though I feel I have to speak up this time. Instead of pointing out each discrepancy,

I will simply say that one of the couples who dined with you at your own table felt it necessary to call the restaurant.
We’ve spoken on more than one occasion and each time they apologized profusely for your husband’s behavior that evening. They were more than embarrassed and assured us that our team went above and beyond to satisfy your party; as is our policy here at Difebo’s.

It was conveyed to us that a comment was made by your husband stating; and I quote “Maybe I should have complained more to get a bigger discount on the check.” This statement only causes me to question the validity of your review.

We have contacted Trip Advisor about your review, and as stated by your husband that you are an executive for Trip Advisor, I hope that things will be handled in an honest and professional manner.

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Twice in four days!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was a return visit to DiFebo's in Bethany Beach, DE, and we enjoyed our evening so much we went back two days later. Cozy, classy place with good service, excellent food and wine. Surf and Turf was a glorious filet mignon atop a bed of mashed potatoes, surrounded by five large grilled shrimp and some haricots verts just for fun. The Linguine with Crab Sauce was a very unique, delicious entree with a beautiful red sauce thick with tender sweet crab meat.
Definitely a step up from the usual beach fare - can't wait to return!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank filiaecclesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa D, Owner at DiFebo's Restaurant & Deli, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review DiFebo's. We walk the floor every night listening to how people are responding to the evening and we receive AMAZING comments.
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy days to let us know how great everything was.

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DiFebo's Restaurant & Deli also viewed

 
Bethany Beach, DE
 

Been to DiFebo's Restaurant & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing