We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of DiFebo's Restaurant & Deli

DiFebo's Restaurant & Deli
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Families with children, Business meetings, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: DiFebo's is family owned and operated. We are an authentic Italian family serving our family recipes since 1989. We have been awarded the BEST of DELAWARE award many tears running for Best Italian! We are known for our famous meatballs and authentic Red Sauce, Gravy as well as our veal and seafood dishes. We are neighborhood Italian, Coastal Italian and just plain old Authentic Italian!
Santa Elena Province, Ecuador
1 review
“Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

My wife and I went there on 7/25/13 when the rest ou our group went for seafood. We wer very pleased with the service and food. We had the calamari as an appetizer and the lobster and crab ravioli and seared salmon for dinner. All was fantastic. We make an annual trip to Bethany Beach and this will be in line for a return trip next year!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RickB740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa D, Owner at DiFebo's Restaurant & Deli, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
We absolutely LOVE what we do...thank you for taking time to share your opinion:)
So glad we are on your Bethany "to do" list xxx - Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    143
    88
    33
    17
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“First and Last Visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

First I'd like to say that until now, I've never had a restaurant make me feel uncomfortable because I'm allergic to dairy. Usually they let me know what to avoid and are quite accommodating. DiFebo's made me uncomfortable.

But that's only the beginning! It began when we ordered a bottle of wine. The server returned with a different wine, explaining that they were out of the wine we ordered. As she was about to open the bottle (which she said was comparable), my husband asked the price. It was $48, a lot more than the $33 bottle that we originally ordered. We asked if we could have the bottle at the original bottle's price since other restaurants have done this for us. We were refused by the manager. We ordered a different bottle.

Three of us ordered calamari appetizers. The server returned and said that they were out of calamari. It is 7:00 pm at the height of the tourist season on a Sunday evening! We were offered one free Bruschetta appetizer in place of the calamari for three.

The server came over and told me not to eat the bread. They brush butter over it. Couldn't they offer me bread without butter? I didn't even ask.

My husband ordered the wahoo medium well done. It came rare and had to be sent back. He asked if he could substitute spinach for cold greens and was told that there would be a $4.00 charge for substitutions. He asked if the greens could be on the side, but when his meal arrived the wahoo was sitting on the greens.

My friend asked to substitute potatoes for the greens and agreed to a $6.00 substitution charge. The server returned later and changed the substitution charge to $8.00. The very small scoop of mashed potatoes tasted like box flakes.

My shrimp was very good but less than lukewarm. My friend's dish was also cool. We didn't send them back because we were tired of complaining.

The reason we were tired of complaining was that it took a long time to get our entrees. We sat down in this restaurant at 6:30 and our entrees arrived after 8 pm. During our wait we complained to the manager a couple of times. She and the server continually said the food would be out shortly. It wasn't.

The restaurant waived the charge on the bottle of wine and the $6.00 substitution charge, but it wasn't worth the aggravation. My first and last visit to DiFebo's.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Bonnie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa D, Owner at DiFebo's Restaurant & Deli, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
In response to your review and after discussing it with our whole staff in detail, there seem to be multiple discrepancies.

I have such a passion for this business and never want to invalidate a customer, though I feel I have to speak up this time. Instead of pointing out each discrepancy,

I will simply say that one of the couples who dined with you at your own table felt it necessary to call the restaurant.
We’ve spoken on more than one occasion and each time they apologized profusely for your husband’s behavior that evening. They were more than embarrassed and assured us that our team went above and beyond to satisfy your party; as is our policy here at Difebo’s.

It was conveyed to us that a comment was made by your husband stating; and I quote “Maybe I should have complained more to get a bigger discount on the check.” This statement only causes me to question the validity of your review.

We have contacted Trip Advisor about your review, and as stated by your husband that you are an executive for Trip Advisor, I hope that things will be handled in an honest and professional manner.

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Twice in four days!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2013

This was a return visit to DiFebo's in Bethany Beach, DE, and we enjoyed our evening so much we went back two days later. Cozy, classy place with good service, excellent food and wine. Surf and Turf was a glorious filet mignon atop a bed of mashed potatoes, surrounded by five large grilled shrimp and some haricots verts just for fun. The Linguine with Crab Sauce was a very unique, delicious entree with a beautiful red sauce thick with tender sweet crab meat.
Definitely a step up from the usual beach fare - can't wait to return!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank filiaecclesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa D, Owner at DiFebo's Restaurant & Deli, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review DiFebo's. We walk the floor every night listening to how people are responding to the evening and we receive AMAZING comments.
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy days to let us know how great everything was.

Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Won't be back”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013 via mobile

I know it's the height of the season but for an A game place it's their time to shine. This place is going to limp thru the season. We started by ordering a wine that they were out of. Next we watched a couple who were seated after us get their appetizers. 45 minutes into dinner our server ( who was quite nice) told us that my husband needed to pick a new entree, they had run out of his selection. While reviewing the menu again we heard another server offering another table an option not on the menu and not told to us as a special. We asked our server and she confirmed he could order that. Very strange!! Once we finally got our entrees the pasta with crab sauce I selected was awful. The pasta tasted like it had been sitting in the frig for days. A manager stopped at our table to apologize and took the pasta off our check . She did send over some dessert but by then the damage was done. Poor communication between the servers and the bar and kitchen. Don't bother coming here during high season. Save it for when they have time to do it right.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank RLHBaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa D, Owner at DiFebo's Restaurant & Deli, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
I want to thank you for sharing your own personal feelings about your evening. Our manager was familiar with your dining experience and we used your experience at our service meeting. We shared with EVERYONE how important it is to be sure....they are clear on specials and that the kitchen communicates when we are out of a dish and that - ALL the servers are informed.

As far as the pasta - my manager that evening also remembers discussing the pasta with you. Again we make home made macaroni and it is a completely different mouth feel as regular dry pasta.

Again thank you for your comments and please enjoy the rest of your summer.
Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Slow service & average food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

We are locals so we stop by to eat on a regular basis.

Our last meal here prior to this visit was uninspiring - osso bucco was not as tender and flavorful as it should have been.

We decided to give it another try for lunch instead of dinner. Had the appetizer with tomatoes & motzerella for $11. I had expected the classic dish with fresh basil and oil, but got a salad dish instead. Not only was it not what I expected (my problem) but it was, in a word, boring. When we discussed it with the server he said "this is how we aways serve it". Nothing else. In addition to the food issue we waited over 1/2 hr to get the food (main dish was gnocchi)

As a restaurant owner myself I have my staff trained to do whatever it takes to make the customer happy (unless the customer is an idiot & all bets are off!). I left the restaurant with a unhappy feeling & no desire to return.

Management check out our training!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 1gelato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisa D, Owner at DiFebo's Restaurant & Deli, responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time out of... I'm sure your busy day to review us today. I will take all of your comments and bring them to my team. This gives us great tools to make everyone's dining experience the best it should be. As one local to another.....Have a wonderful day.
~ Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed DiFebo's Restaurant & Deli also viewed

 
Bethany Beach, DE
 

Been to DiFebo's Restaurant & Deli? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing