We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fresh oysters”

Bethany Oyster House
Ranked #40 of 79 Restaurants in Bethany Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, Pub, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Purcellville, VA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great fresh oysters”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

We really enjoyed the selection of fresh raw oysters. I also ordered the fried version but I feel they needed more breading. I'm also not a fan of the local habit of hush puppies being cylindrical (rather than round). One thing for the restaurant to consider, though - when we asked the server what she liked, she admitted that she doesn't like oysters. I don't know if that is the best quality for an oyster house employee!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank novachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    16
    7
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leesburg, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Awesome”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was my first time there and it was great. The food was really fresh and worth the price. When I was there they Offered Seven different types of oysters which is great. Most places only offer one or two types and the shuck them out front and thats a show in its self! I can't wait to go back

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevor L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Looking forward to our new hangout in Bethany Beach”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Looked for an interesting place to watch the Kentucky Derby, and happy we decided to try the new bar in town. There's an impressive 60+ ft granite bar, friendly bartenders, good beer selection, and fresh oysters.

Service was good, our server was being supervised by an experienced and personable bar tender. It was our server's first day on the job, she's newly arrived from Moldova, and it was obvious she was nervous. We make an effort to be gracious to guests in our country, and a little kindness goes a long way.

We tried the oyster shooters, one with tequila, and the other a pepper vodka, the oysters in the shooters were Chincoteague, then we sampled the Blue Point oysters. All fresh and tasty. Our neighbors at the bar were eating awesome looking baked oysters. If we had not had dinner plans elsewhere, that would have been it for us for the night. Will be returning.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BmoreStyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Our New Favorite Bar”
Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We have a place in Bethany Beach and over the summer we visited the Oyster House several times and always had a good experience. The food is very good and the wine list decent. We recently went back (to check on our house after Sandy) and had a great dinner. The oysters and crab dip were delicious. My husband got the Beach Salad with crab and it had over a cup of lump meat crab, while I had the Ceasar Salad with fried chicken. Both were excellent. The owner, Tim, took the time to get to know us. Very nice staff that were attentive.

Helpful?
2 Thank mag774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massapequa Park, New York
Level Contributor
140 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“OK but don't go out of your way.”
Reviewed July 30, 2012

Food is OK. Oysters are reasonably priced during happy hour ( buck a piece) but the $5.50 happy hour bottled beer did not add to happiness. The lobster bisque was a bit watery and not all that flavorful. Oyster Bar is a medium priced establishment and i would hope the owners try to present the menu a bit more interesting manner. Staff is friendly and the place is immaculate.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MisterMet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bethany Oyster House also viewed

 

Been to Bethany Oyster House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing