We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach(Bethany Beach)(Great Value!)
$259
$236
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$636
$607
Residence Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sands Motel(Fenwick Island)
$119
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fenwick Islander Motel(Fenwick Island)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
$179
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fenwick Inn(Ocean City)
Free cancellation until 07/26
Book now, pay at stay
$170
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Ocean City(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
$279
$192
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cayman Suites(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sea Hawk Motel(Ocean City)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
$180
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Summer Place(Bethany Beach)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveler rating
62
30
9
3
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
62
30
9
3
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoff the beaten paththe main houselight breakfastthe inn keeperquiet motellook forward to going backwould stay here againfresh fruiteach morningminute walkother guestssuebikebethanybeachberriescottage
Filter
Updating list...
69 - 74 of 114 reviews
Reviewed August 6, 2014

The place was excellent, beautiful inside and out. I loved the trees and places to sit outside. The continental breakfast was delicious. Sue was very gracious and helpful. It was so easy to get to the beach and shopping. I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank kat2pups
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Owner at Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you for the compliments. We are humbled by the many great reviews and promise to keep working hard to make all of our guests happy guests!! Hope the rest of the summer is a good one for you and yours.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2014

We haven't been on a vacation like this in quite some time. Meris Gardens is relaxing, convenient, clean and welcoming. The property is very pretty - like you are away on a retreat. I can't say enough about Sue. Sue was so accommodating and made us feel at “our home away from home.” In the week that we stayed, my husband, our kids and I connected with her like we were part of her family. She is one of the nicest people you will ever meet. Our kids didn't even want to go out for breakfast because they preferred to eat breakfast at Meris Gardens where they were treated so special. After breakfast, every morning we would play games, cards or have a catch on the grounds. I loved all of the different seating (gazebo, picnic table, etc.) and area situated throughout the property. Afterwards, we would hit the beach for the day (most of the time, we took the trolley located close by). Everything about our stay was relaxing and not rushed. We plan to go back again real soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti-Peek, Guest Relations Manager at Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2014

We are delighted that you had such a wonderful stay with us. Sue works so hard to make sure every detail is special and we so appreciate you recognizing that. Please come again and again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2014

We just returned home after a long weekend get-away to BB and loved our stay at Meris Gardens. The hospitality can't be beat! Breakfast every morning always includes a fresh baked item from Ms. Sue. Family friendly and quick walk/bike/drive up to the beach. Will return!

Rooms are small, for sure, but perfect for a quick trip.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patti-Peek, Manager at Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2014

We are so delighted you had a lovely stay with us in Bethany Beach. We strive to make each experience better and better. Sue is becoming quite a baker. I sampled her banana bread and I agree, very delicious. Please come back soon and thank you for the kind words!
Patti

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Two night stay was great! This is very nice Bethany Beach getaway.
Enjoyed being able to take a bike and ride whenever and for as long as I liked without asking anyone and with full trust that I would care for (lock provided) and return as expected.

Rooms are clean, simple and filled with the necessities - mini frig, flat screen TV, microwave, blowdryer and coffee maker. Beds were most comfortable with a cute beachy decor.

Plenty of parking with easy access in and out and close to the trolly stops too so you do not even need to get in your car once you get there. Within walking distance to restaurants and stores, as well as just a a few blocks from the boardwalk.

A nice breakfast is available in the main house and there are many options for everyone. Sue even gave a child the option to choose any box of cereal they wanted.

Sue goes out of her way to help in any way. She was very accommodating and helped make the stay comfortable and enjoyable. She was just wonderful! Thank you

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank trip1new
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Manager at Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

We continue to feel so fortunate that we are able to provide a positive experience for visitors that are getting away from the "real" world, and enjoying time in Bethany, and the surrounding areas. Meris Gardens is here for you and, hopefully, for anyone looking for a comfortable home base here at the shore. Thanks for choosing us for your lodging needs while visiting Bethany Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Our three day stay at this quiet Bethany Beach getaway in mid-July was a pleasure. From the start, Sue was incredibly helpful and kind, which made our stay all the more enjoyable.

The newly renovated structure was previously a motel, so each room has a private entrance. Rooms are clean and pleasantly simple, furnished with the necessities as well as a fair sized flat screen television, mini refrigerators, microwaves, a coffee maker and a blowdryer in the bathroom.

While central air conditioning is not present, the adjustable wall unit that is installed in the bathroom keeps the entire room very comfortable and a ceiling fan above the bed is very effective at keeping the cool air circulating.

Close to the trolley stop, those with children could easily hop on for a quick ride to the beach or shopping area. We chose to walk to our destinations and found that the estimations on the website were very accurate, with a walk to the beach or to Bethany’s main drag on Garfield Parkway totalling no more than 15 minutes. For those looking for some nightlife beyond the 10 p.m. close time of many Bethany bars and restaurants, Cottage Cafe is a quick 7-10 minute walk from Meris Gardens. Additionally, Meris Gardens has several bikes available to be borrowed during your stay that you could use to quickly get to your destination.

Since Meris Gardens brands itself as a B&B, there is a simple breakfast available from 7-9:30 in the main house. On the morning that we visited, there was hot tea, coffee, berries, store bought miniature danishes, and plain bagels with 3 varieties of cream cheese available. The coffee was some of the best we had while in Bethany!

As noted by Trip Advisor reviewers, Sue often leaves a thoughtful present in guests’ rooms, and our visit was no exception. Knowing that we were celebrating a birthday, Sue left a kind note expressing birthday wishes along with a vase full of fragrant mint from the garden!

There is an afternoon BYOB happy hour at which snacks are available, but we did not have the chance to attend. However, their outside patio off of the main house or the gazebo and chairs around the lush property are undoubtedly a pleasant place to unwind with a glass of wine after a day at the beach.

Our only recommendation for change would be in regards to the bathroom doors. While they are super cute shutter style doors, we would have preferred a more private barrier between the bathroom and the remainder of the room.

Overall, our visit at Meris Gardens was relaxing and pleasant. Thanks to Sue for her hospitality and thoughtfulness throughout our stay!

Room Tip: Room 2 is a great way to ensure a quiet stay with only one side having another room adjacent to it, and the other side being a storage space.
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank JLWTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike D, Owner at Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2014

Thanks for the detailed review. We are excited that, because of another great review, we are now the #1 ranked motel, in Bethany, on Trip Advisor!! We are so proud of that designation and it is because folks ike you take the time to honestly write about your experience with us. Fortunately, most are very good experiences!!! I hope you had a safe trip back and enjoy the rest of your summer. Please come back and visit soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews