We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bethany Beach
Reviewed May 18, 2012 via mobile

We had a wonderful stay. The rooms were nicely decorated and smelled so fresh and clean. The owners are great and so nice. A quiet and comfortable stay. We will stay again next year.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jennigirl00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 108 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2012

It was Friday, and our family decided to get away for a weekend before chemo treatments started again for our son, and we desperately needed a place to stay. I am a "type A" person, and never (NEVER!) do last minute planning. With everything booked up, we were directed by the staff of the Holiday Inn, to try this little gem of a place. We are so glad we did! With a lovely deck outside our room, picnic table and grill, and a wonderful staff, we were one very happy family. The owner is one amazing person, and we so hope that others visit the Pines to not only enjoy the beautiful Bethany Beach, but also to support such a lovely warm-hearted person.

Room Tip: There are three "new rooms" connected to the house that have a deck. The deck wraps around...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
18  Thank drmommyVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2011

This is a newly-renovated, older motel property with a charming layout and friendly management. The only reason we give it 4 rather than 5 is the location (a 15-20 minute walk from beach--hard to do with kids or beach gear) and lack of amenities we've all gotten used to in most hotels--coffee or breakfast area, newspaper, etc.
Management was so friendly and accommodating--allowed us to check out late after returning from a last-day, late-morning trek to the beach (though peak season was over already).
One minor caveat is that the property is located about half a mile south of the intersection of Garfield and Kent--not near the intersection as it shows on many online maps. This made it hard to find at 12:30 am when we rolled into town.
We would consider going here again, just because of the attitude of the management.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank ChinaCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2011

At the height of tourist season, we found a "gem" tucked away from the maddness with all the access you wanted or needed to the "maddness"! Best place by far . Seattle, WA

Room Tip: Clean, comfortable, quiet and easy to get everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank LaVerne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2011

nice rooms
free WiFi
no breakfast
quite a bit from the beach but calm, shady and nice

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank n_und_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

At the last minute, I decided to join other family members who were going to Bethany Beach. They had already chosen Westward Pines motel since it was so reasonable and recently renovated and a 15-minute walk to the beach/boardwalk. Dexter and Mary, the owners, were extremely accommodating to make our 4-day stay more enjoyable, always greeting us by name and asking if we needed anything. I loved the end room with its own deck and large sliding glass doors on two sides. Family members had two additional rooms which were all nicely decorated and clean but mostly we hung out together on the deck when not on the beach (that is, after lighting a citronella candle and a provided torch to deter mosquitoes. Honestly, it felt like we had the place to ourselves and were treated like special guests. To sum it up: Westward Pines is a quaint, small, private, quiet, clean and comfortable motel with great customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rita c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We decided on a trip to the Bethany Beach area last minute. This quaint motel was the perfect place to stay. It is within walking distance of the beach & boardwalk which saves on parking fees. It is newly renovated & very clean. The owners are wonderful & extremely helpful. They are very friendly & go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant experience. I would highly recommend staying at Westward Pines Motel if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing beach vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank brb2t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethany Beach
0.8 mi away
Bethany Beach Ocean Suites Residence Inn by Marriott
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach
11.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 13 in Dewey Beach
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Fenwick Inn
Fenwick Inn
#23 of 104 in Ocean City
977 reviews
11.3 mi away
Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
8.4 mi away
Princess Royale Resort
Princess Royale Resort
#4 of 104 in Ocean City
2,885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast

Address: 33309 Kent Ave, Next to Sea Colony, Bethany Beach, DE 19930-3730 (Formerly Westward Pines)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Bethany Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bethany Beach
Price Range: $308 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast is located in Bethany Beach, Delaware. Hailed as Bethany Beach’s “Best Kept Secret”, families have made Meris Gardens a yearly tradition. Stop by year-round to see exactly why you’ll want to make Meris Gardens your new home away from home. After a day on the beach and boardwalk, please enjoy a complementary late afternoon break with us on the veranda. We will provide snacks as well as cold drinks, while you are welcome to bring your own adult beverages. We offer discounts for military personnel as well as those seeking an extended stay. Our staff all share the mantra, “Our home is your home.” During your stay, it is our priority to have you feel as “at home” as we can – we truly treat ourselves as a family and would love to have you stay with us. Meris Gardens is Bethany Beach’s only Bed & Breakfast that features both privacy and accessibility. Nestled in the woods, there is a real sense of peace; coupled with it being just a stone’s throw from Bethany’s beach, boardwalk, shops, and restaurants, it is an ideal spot to getaway. Dogs are more than welcome ($20/day) in our special pet friendly rooms. All 14 of our private rooms include: Full ensuite bathroom Complementary breakfast Complementary mocktail & hors d’oeuvre hour Refrigerator Coffee maker Hotel amenities Hairdryer Complementary Wi-Fi Flat screen HDTV Daily housekeeping Complementary guest parking Complementary bicycles for guest use Pet friendly rooms Extended stays are also more than welcome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westward Pines Hotel Bethany Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing