We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bethany Beach
Reviewed August 26, 2011

nice rooms
free WiFi
no breakfast
quite a bit from the beach but calm, shady and nice

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank n_und_e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 108 of 108 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2011

At the last minute, I decided to join other family members who were going to Bethany Beach. They had already chosen Westward Pines motel since it was so reasonable and recently renovated and a 15-minute walk to the beach/boardwalk. Dexter and Mary, the owners, were extremely accommodating to make our 4-day stay more enjoyable, always greeting us by name and asking if we needed anything. I loved the end room with its own deck and large sliding glass doors on two sides. Family members had two additional rooms which were all nicely decorated and clean but mostly we hung out together on the deck when not on the beach (that is, after lighting a citronella candle and a provided torch to deter mosquitoes. Honestly, it felt like we had the place to ourselves and were treated like special guests. To sum it up: Westward Pines is a quaint, small, private, quiet, clean and comfortable motel with great customer service.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rita c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We decided on a trip to the Bethany Beach area last minute. This quaint motel was the perfect place to stay. It is within walking distance of the beach & boardwalk which saves on parking fees. It is newly renovated & very clean. The owners are wonderful & extremely helpful. They are very friendly & go out of their way to make your stay a pleasant experience. I would highly recommend staying at Westward Pines Motel if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing beach vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank brb2t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Excellent place to relax and control your stay outside the 'worldly' beach area. Nicely renovated old style motel with a helpful owner.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank PedritoBrussel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

I found the Westward Pines motel when searching online for a nice place to stay while in Bethany, and my girlfriend and I decided to give it a try. We were very impressed with the motel upon our arrival. The new renovations look astounding; each room is up-to-date with flat screens, beautiful furniture, etc., and the complex as a whole was so clean and looks brand new. We had to check-in very later (after midnight), but that was not a problem and the staff made special arrangements for us. Additionally, the staff was extremely friendly and made sure we were happy with everything. The motel displayed the best customer service I have experienced in a long while.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Joe84HD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Berwick, PA
139
Reviewed July 1, 2004

Two years ago, my ex and I were to Bethany Beach and had decided on Westward Pines because it was so close to everywhere you needed to go, plus it advertised spa bathtubs in the rooms. When we got there the room was really nice-sized. The tub was only big enough for one person, but it had a shower separate from it also. It was like having your own small cabin! We actually had a deck that was nice...the unit next to us was empty, so we had the place to ourselves. There was plenty of shadey trees, and bushes around..you were out of the sun for a while. There are rooms also for in the colder months with fireplaces in them!

39  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethany Beach
0.8 mi away
Bethany Beach Ocean Suites Residence Inn by Marriott
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach
11.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 13 in Dewey Beach
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Fenwick Inn
Fenwick Inn
#22 of 104 in Ocean City
966 reviews
12.9 mi away
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
The Bellmoor Inn and Spa
#1 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
1,894 reviews
11.3 mi away
Surf Club Oceanfront Hotel & Beach House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast

Address: 33309 Kent Ave, Next to Sea Colony, Bethany Beach, DE 19930-3730 (Formerly Westward Pines)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Bethany Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Bethany Beach
Price Range: $105 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast is located in Bethany Beach, Delaware. Hailed as Bethany Beach’s “Best Kept Secret”, families have made Meris Gardens a yearly tradition. Stop by year-round to see exactly why you’ll want to make Meris Gardens your new home away from home. After a day on the beach and boardwalk, please enjoy a complementary late afternoon break with us on the veranda. We will provide snacks as well as cold drinks, while you are welcome to bring your own adult beverages. We offer discounts for military personnel as well as those seeking an extended stay. Our staff all share the mantra, “Our home is your home.” During your stay, it is our priority to have you feel as “at home” as we can – we truly treat ourselves as a family and would love to have you stay with us. Meris Gardens is Bethany Beach’s only Bed & Breakfast that features both privacy and accessibility. Nestled in the woods, there is a real sense of peace; coupled with it being just a stone’s throw from Bethany’s beach, boardwalk, shops, and restaurants, it is an ideal spot to getaway. Dogs are more than welcome ($20/day) in our special pet friendly rooms. All 14 of our private rooms include: Full ensuite bathroom Complementary breakfast Complementary mocktail & hors d’oeuvre hour Refrigerator Coffee maker Hotel amenities Hairdryer Complementary Wi-Fi Flat screen HDTV Daily housekeeping Complementary guest parking Complementary bicycles for guest use Pet friendly rooms Extended stays are also more than welcome ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Meris Gardens Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westward Pines Hotel Bethany Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing