We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Filthy restaurant with so-so food”
Review of Big Peaches Bar & Grill - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Big Peaches Bar & Grill
Restaurant details
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Filthy restaurant with so-so food”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I guess I should have just left after looking at the filthy floor and the flies all over my booth, but we were really hungry. I can't believe this place ranks 36 out of 40-something in Bethany. I'd hate to have sat down in any of the others. Was the fook OK? My fires were fine, the pulled pork was a slimy mass of goo.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce57718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

7 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    0
    1
    5
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Germantown Maryland
Level Contributor
395 reviews
369 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Definitely a dive bar”
Reviewed August 5, 2012

My wife and I went into Big Peaches on a Lark for a drink. Definitely a locals bar, lots of character to the place. We had five mixed drinks (They were weak and we were not driving) for $25, definitely inexpensive for the Beach.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank D4379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Etters, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Good wings!”
Reviewed September 23, 2011

I think that Peaches is the only bar in Bethany, (at least what I could find). That being said remember its just that, a bar with bar food, so I wouldnt call it a restaurant or rate it as one.

The first thing I noticed when I walked in was the smell of over whelming grease that smacks you in the face. This is not a large place and I could imagine that in the summer it could get quite crowded considering the location, (in the middle of the mini city of Sea Colony). There were home made wooden tables and a medium size bar. There was also a small room with a pool table. There were about 5-6 flat screen tv's scattered around with sports but they do not get the Phillies games, (just sayin'). They only had one bathroom which did not blow my hair back to say the least, and it was not the cleanest either. That would be my biggest gripe!

Hubby and I ordered wings, he had the hot and I had the Peaches BBQ which was outstanding! Celery and bleu cheese dressing accompanied the meal. Our check was only $17 for a large pitcher of Bud Lite and our meals...so hey a fun night out in a laid back joint with a friendly owner/bartender, its all good!

Micki

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mickifor2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middletown, Delaware
Level Contributor
37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Un pretentious Bar/Grill.... good value for money”
Reviewed September 17, 2011

It was toward the end of the season so only the bar side was open. It is exactly what it says it is...a Bar with food. Several booths were occupied but service was swift and friendly. We had a starter of Wings which were in a good BBQ sauce and my daughters picky friend even gave them the thumbs up (rare!) My daughters friend wanted food off the kids menu and they were happy to oblige rather than force the individual adult pricing ...also rare!
Food is mainly hot and cold sandwhiches and typical bar food. Good value for money and very friendly helpful waitress. If you want simple food i would give it the thumbs up.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andyp412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“So-so Experience”
Reviewed August 29, 2011

My wife and I were out looking for a restaurant on a Sunday night and came across Big Peaches. It wasn't crowded, only four booths in use and a half dozen or so at the bar, so we gave it a try.
A so-so experience. The waitress was very quick to bring us menus and drinks, but it took over 45 minutes to get our food - a crab dip starter and pork bbq and reuben sandwiches.
The food, however, when it came was very good and the prices were reasonable, especially for the Delaware shore in season.
The atmosphere was mixed - typical shore bar with what appeared to be locals at the bar and vacationers (with youngsters at three of the booths) filling the booths.
A place we would probably revisit at home, but not good or unique enough to draw a return visit in a locale that has so many other places to try.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LighthouseChaser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Big Peaches Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Bethany Beach, DE
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing