We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night beach stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bethany Beach
Allentown, Pennsylvania
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“One night beach stay”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Hotel was clean, room was clean, very pleasant. My son loved the chocolate chip cookies they offered in the evening! The free breakfast was decent. Everything was warm, and the selection of food was more than I was expecting. Business center came in handy for me also. Would definitely stay here next time I'm in Bethany beach! One benefit for future is if the trolley would stop there.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlwynder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alina K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
It's wonderful to know we will be your hotel of choice when you return to the area! Our breakfast attendants bake the chocholate chip cookies fresh each day. Very happy to hear your son loved them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    113
    136
    31
    11
    10
See reviews for
143
93
13
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My family and I went to Bethany Beach for the 1st time this year. This hotel was clean and comfortable. It was within walking distance to the beach. The room was spacious and clean. The breakfast was helpful since there aren't too many restaurants close by.
I only have 3 little issues to report. This hotel participated in a water conservation program and request that the guest hang up their towels if the want to participate. Well there aren't enough hooks to hang the towels. There also needs to be a fan in the bathroom because the mirrors get fogged up easily. Finally, I took my daughter to the pool but there were a lot of bugs in the pool. I'm not sure how often the pool is skimmed/cleaned.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JAgirl75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

Decent location but no ocean views. Staff is pleasant and tries to provide full service but remember that it rally is a Holiday Inn Express which means no arrive after hours. Manager, Fred Thompson, is a shining star - understands service, recognizes limitations of the hotel and truly made our visit exceptional. Free breakfast, gets crowded fast but is nothing special.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SK4inDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Decent location but no ocean views. Staff is pleasant. Free continental breakfast which gets crowded fast but is really nothing special. Manager, Fred Thompson, is a shining star - understands service, recognizes limitations of the hotel and truly made our visit exceptional. If staying here, keep in mind that it truly is a Holiday Inn Express. The staff truly try to do all the full service stuff after hours but they are limited. For a Holiday Inn express, they do a fantastic job.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SK4inDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alina K, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for appreciating the efforts our staff to deliver a great experience for our guests. Although we do not have the very extensive list of amenities that other full service properties do, we are very proud of our beautiful outdoor pool, free hot breakfast buffet, free internet service and parking and most of all great staff to assist you with whatever you may need.
We hope you will choose to be our guest again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 3, 2013

5 stars for availability. My husband and I decided to go to the beach VERY last minute for Labor Day and there was a room available (score!). They greeted us with a smile and a bottle of water and potato chip package. The room was clean and nice. We weren't in the room much as we explored all the surrounding beaches. The beach near this hotel was about a 5-10 minute walk away (across a busy street - but easy to cross). It is about a 10-15 minute walk to the downtown Bethany area. The pool was clean and warm. The only thing that I suggest that they do to improve would be to clean the hair out of the hairdryer. They had all the "little" things down - like GREAT hair products and lotion from Bath and Body Works. That was a nice surprise. No balcony. No view. Sheets/towels average (my husband swears the towels smelled like fish, but I didn't notice). Breakfast was good - but very carb heavy. Only fruit available were bananas (they also had apples available in the lobby). Overall, a nice convenient location. Good for families. Close to all of the beaches and beach towns. Friendly staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kasey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnolia DE
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Have stayed here several times in the past. As either a family vacation or couples get away. Each time the Holiday Inn has done its job it doing it right. Location is excellent within walking distance of the beach. Was able to get 2 car passes as I arrived a day later than my wife and that really helped. We had a niece and boyfriend visit (who were staying at OC) and they were able to get a visitor parking pass. Did not know this was available, but very good to know for future reference. They also fulfilled our request for a room without an adjoining room.

Love the free breakfast, another reason we like this hotel. A decent breakfast and the cinnamon rolls are the best. Very popular.

The bed was a bit uncomfortable for me. I rarely sleep well when I travel, but the rest of family slept well.

I wish they would install safes in the closet like other hotels I've been at in the region. Would be a real plus especially since the beach is so close, would like to put valuables somewhere secure while at the beach rather than in a piece of luggage.

One issue I did have this time was with the shower. The shower did not drain well, at all and the shower head needs a good cleaning or to be replaced. She water came out with such a fine stream that it was like needles sticking me. The shower area needs some remodeling but the vanity area was clean as was the rest of the bathroom.

would be staying there again, but will watch the shower area. If you want a clean hotel. This is a good place to stay

Room Tip: Get to the free breakfast area early if possible. It fills up fast especially on busy weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rjswx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We just needed a few days at the beach. The hotel was close to the beach, had a nice pool, and had wonderful breakfasts to start the day off well. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The fish house next door was delicious and very convenient.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank P W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bethany Beach
0.6 mi away
Bethany Beach Ocean Suites Residence Inn by Marriott
11.1 mi away
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
Hyatt Place Dewey Beach
#3 of 13 in Dewey Beach
931 reviews
6.0 mi away
Fenwick Inn
Fenwick Inn
#22 of 103 in Ocean City
904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#1 of 4 in Fenwick Island
116 reviews
14.6 mi away
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
Hampton Inn Rehoboth Beach
#8 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
640 reviews
13.1 mi away
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
Boardwalk Plaza Hotel
#5 of 27 in Rehoboth Beach
846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach

Property: Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach
Address: 39642 Jefferson Bridge Road, Bethany Beach, DE 19930-3723
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Delaware > Bethany Beach
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Bethany Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach 2.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach!The Holiday Inn Express, just 2 blocks from the beach in the heart of Delaware's 'Quiet Resorts', puts you in the heart of it all! Just a few short blocks away from the famous Bethany Beach Boardwalk, you're central to everything Bethany Beach has to offer; including bountiful tax-free downtown shopping, renowned restaurants, Bear Trap Dunes, Salt Pond, and just miles from Fenwick Island, Ocean City, Rehoboth Beach and the Cape May-Lewes Ferry. Whatever your reason for visiting, you'll find our well-appointed, luxurious guest accommodations are fitted with the modern amenities and conveniences sure to meet your every need. Awaken each morning to a free full hot breakfast, featuring a wonderful variety of both hot and cold selections from which you can choose. Our thoughtful amenities such as free wireless internet access, sparkling outdoor swimming pool, fitness center, plush Simply Smart linens and award-winning shower heads help ensure each night is a great night and every day starts out right!No matter your reason for visiting Bethany Beach, the Holiday Inn Express is here to make your visit to a success! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Bethany Beach Hotel Bethany Beach
Holiday Inn Bethany Beach
Bethany Beach Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing